Better Dun bribe in Malaysia Anymore...

MarrickG

S'porean jailed, fined for bribing M'sian cop

JOHOR BARU: A Singaporean businessman was fined RM15,000 (S$6,441) and sentenced to a day in jail by the Sessions Court here after he pleaded guilty to offering a bribe to a traffic policeman.

Ong Peoy Kuan, 61, offered a RM100 (S$42.94) bribe to Kons Muhammad Hafiz Aziz near the Lima Kedai toll plaza at about 5pm on May 30 to not take action against him for exceeding the speed limit.

Ong offered the bribe as Kons Muhammad Hafiz was about to issue a summons.

The offence under Section 17 of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009 is punishable with up to 20 years' imprisonment or a fine of not less than five times the bribe amount or RM10,000 (S$4,294), whichever is higher. In mitigation, Ong's lawyer G.K. Sritharan said the accused was a first-time offender and was suffering from kidney disease as well as diabetes.

"He has deeply regretted his actions and has fully repented," he said.

"He has saved the court's time and expenses by admitting to the charge."

DPP Abdul Ghafar Abdul Latiff argued for the maximum sentence to be imposed, saying that offering a bribe to a civil servant was a very serious offence.

Ong paid the fine.

He is just unlucky.

In Malaysia, you can expect to have a Policeman accept a bribe

In Singapore, you can expect to have a Policeman refuse a bribe

Play by these rules, should be ok

Aiya....stoopid la!

Just act 'blur' and ask if you can pay the 'fine' on the spot can oredi la!

He should go buy toto. MY 99.999% of the TP are there just to get bribe, he lagi unlucky hit the 0.001%. He also a bit stupid. Normally this kind of case should wait for the TP to ask for bribe not offer one first

I think the important thing to do is not to offer the money first, but keep asking them to give you a chance and ask how they can assist ? Let them be the one who ask whether you want to settle on the spot. Problem is most singaporean , think of all M'sian are corrupted so always stuffs money and think that problem solved.:D:D:D Anyway, another wayang show from bolehland.

He should go buy toto. MY 99.999% of the TP are there just to get bribe, he lagi unlucky hit the 0.001%. He also a bit stupid. Normally this kind of case should wait for the TP to ask for bribe not offer one first

No leh. You can offer the bribe first. But like i mentioned, you act blur and ask him if you can pay the 'fine' now.

When they ask for your passport, slip RM100 in the passport...TP act blur, when ask...joget, joget lah!..joget, also dunno!, really bodoh!:rolleyes:

tat sinki must be very lansi ccb..
u must be humble and talk nicely with the corrupter. they hv get so much kopi money liao. wat is 100.. the corrupter also want face and respect hor...

That Singaporean is dumb.

Obviously, you wait for him to ask. Not all MY cops are happy about taking bribes, some do take the job seriously.

Mudland police cleaning up their image... Anti-corruption campaign seems like working.

I believe the TP must have asked for RM200, which must have been the prevailing rate. He must have been pissed by the driver for offering so little, so decided to play honest for once.

tis fella bribe oso dunno how 2 bribe ... muz do it unobviously la ... like gif dat burger 2 xtra eggs in his charred kway teow la ... :rolleyes:

Day’s jail and RM15,000 fine for Singaporean

Thursday August 19, 2010

Day’s jail and RM15,000 fine for Singaporean

JOHOR BARU: A Singaporean businessman was fined RM15,000 and sentenced to a day in jail by the Sessions Court here after he pleaded guilty to offering a bribe to a traffic policeman. Ong Peoy Kuan, 61, offered a RM100 bribe to Kons Muhammad Hafiz Aziz near the Lima Kedai toll plaza at about 5pm on May 30 to not take action against him for exceeding the speed limit.

Ong offered the bribe as Kons Muhammad Hafiz was about to issue a summons. The offence under Section 17 of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009 is punishable with up to 20 years’ imprisonment or a fine of not less than five times the bribe amount or RM10,000, whichever is higher. In mitigation, Ong’s lawyer G.K. Sritharan said the accused was a first-time offender and was suffering from kidney disease as well as diabetes.

“He has deeply regretted his actions and has fully repented,” he said. “He has saved the court’s time and expenses by admitting to the charge.” DPP Abdul Ghafar Abdul Latiff argued for the maximum sentence to be imposed, saying that offering a bribe to a civil servant was a very serious offence. Ong paid the fine.

Re: Day’s jail and RM15,000 fine for Singaporean

problem is they usually stop u to collect bribes and with hari raya approaching u can expect more of these.

Mudland police cleaning up their image... Anti-corruption campaign seems like working.

Lets hope so.

I just got away with a RM50 kopi money to a pathetic looking Mudland Malay policeman not too long ago.
Cant imagine the power I had over him with just RM50.
may Allah purge his sins over RM50.

Stupid sinkie. Don't konw the rule and read the police mind. Those really wan to saman will not talk much with the offender. The police will ask for driving licience and ID card/passport that all. No bla bla bal..............by policemen phase eg.
1. You speeding. How can you wan to settle
2. How you can help me if I help you
3. Ask you pull to side talk grandmother story(unrelated) just to buy time

Don't 101 dont ever ever offer bride without any signal by police.

Stupid sinkie. Don't konw the rule and read the police mind. Those really wan to saman will not talk much with the offender. The police will ask for driving licience and ID card/passport that all. No bla bla bal..............by policemen phase eg.
1. You speeding. How can you wan to settle
2. How you can help me if I help you
3. Ask you pull to side talk grandmother story(unrelated) just to buy time

Don't 101 dont ever ever offer bride without any signal by police.

Tat is the correct way as a regular on the NS highway since 1994 and knowing where they camouflage along tat highway...very important you must act blur..the longer you act blur the better..he will pretend to write your particulars on a blank paper and his pen is inkless...the breakthrough for neg will come soon dun worry..from there stanby your kopi duit..if you are smart sometime you can neg and get discount saying some sob stories...for me standard i usually had a stck of rm10 notes stanby in the ashbox..i would roll up rm30(dun worry he got no time to count cause they scare sometimes the notes may fall from their grip and malu for them when other motorist saw so they have to be very slick) and as he hand back my DL..i told him heres rm50(i save rm20),once in kuantan i am able to neg right up to rm20.;)
and in appreciation of the kopi duit he will tell me to be careful there is another roadblock up ahead which is bullshit.;)

In mudland miracles do happen....in 2004 there was a was a crackdown on sporeans motorist who have got oustanding summon to settle at the imigration/custom before entering spore at tuas...i was stop and of course i knew i have summon..how many i dun know..and as i went to the traffic office..give my car no:the computer take quite a while to print out and bingo..i've got 23 summons from penang to johore...the police smile and ask me how am i going to settle..i told him dun worry give me the stack of summon and i will go to KL headquaters and settle it there..in KL i call a friend of mine and told him about my 23 summon and he says no worries,he'll call me back in a sec..call me back and told me they want rm1k to delete my 23 summon from the computer..yes a discount of rm5900.:p;)

my guess is the guy must've been arrogant or kwai lan...

maybe pull long face,mutter something and throw dollar to the cop's face