Been to Malaysia recently with your DBS ATM card? Better check your bank book

.....DBS and POSB said they were investigating unauthorised withdrawals after the banks’ customers reported seeing fraudulent deductions from their bank accounts.

One affected customer, 26-year-old Amanda Goh, wrote on her Facebook on Thursday that a total of $2,000 in withdrawals, spread across four fraudulent transactions, were made from her POSB bank account via an overseas ATM machine on 4 and 5 January this year.

She claimed that her POSB ATM card was not stolen, and that she is not subscribed to any third-party financial services like internet banking or Paypal that require banking credentials.

Another affected customer, John Seah, said on Twitter that $2,000 of fraudulent withdrawals were made from his POSB bank account. He noted that the source of the transactions was from Malaysia. He also added that his friend, too, had money deducted from his bank account without permission.

It is unsure how many customers were affected, and to which specific target group. However, it appears that none of the affected customers had travelled abroad days before or during the incident occurred.

DBS confirmed that some customers on Wednesday informed the bank of unauthorised withdrawals made in Malaysia through their DBS/POSB ATM/Debit cards.

In a statement, Jeremy Soo, managing director and head of consumer banking for DBS Bank in Singapore said that affected customers who had reported to the bank, had their compromised cards immediately de-activated, and the bank is now working on compensating these customers in full.

“Investigations are currently underway and we are presently validating all ATM/Debit card transactions made in Malaysia over the past few days. We will also be alerting customers should we detect any unusual activity on their accounts,” he said.

He urged any customer who thinks that their ATM or debit card may have been compromised to contact the bank immediately at 1800-220 1111 or visit any DBS/POSB branch.

“We are treating the matter with utmost priority and would like to assure customers that they will be fully compensated, for any unauthorised withdrawals, within 24 hours. We will also issue replacement ATM/Debit cards on-the–spot at any DBS/POSB branch,” he added.

Been to Malaysia recently with your DBS ATM card? Better check your bank book ...
dun anyhow confuse, hor! ...

affected customers said dey din go 2 msia 1, hor! ...

Even if you check your account today & everything is ok, there's no guarantee you won't suffer a mysterious loss tomorrow.

DBS investigates unauthorised withdrawals from DBS/POSB accounts

Published on Jan 5, 2012

DBS.samuelhe.jpg

DBS Bank is investigating what could be its largest ATM fraud to date, after a series of unauthorised withdrawals were made from Malaysia. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE

By Robin Chan

If you would like to share your story with us, e-mail[email protected].

About $200,000 of unauthorised withdrawals have been made from DBS and POSB accounts, as DBS investigates what could be its largest case of fraud to date.

The bank said at 8pm that 200 customers have reported unauthorised withdrawals made from their ATM or debit cards, with the average amount withdrawn at about $1000 per account.

The bank is combing through all transactions made in Malaysia to validate them, and said that all customers would be fully compensated within 24 hours for any false transactions.

BACKGROUND STORY

Bank account holders may wish to check their bank account and if they believe unauthorised withdrawals have been made, are advised to lodge a police report via the electronic police centre at
http://www/spf/gov/epc/ or at any neighbourhood police centre.

The report should include the date, amount, location and transaction description for each unauthorised withdrawal. Bank account holders should also report the matter to the bank.

'Some customers informed the bank of unauthorised withdrawals made in Malaysia through their DBS/POSB ATM/debit cards. Their compromised cards were immediately deactivated and we are now taking steps to compensate these customers in full,' said Mr Jeremy Soo, managing director and head of consumer banking group Singapore at DBS Bank, in a statement issued by the bank.

Aiya. ATM fraud, Atm fraud lor. In the words of Harvard and Cambridge alumnus, Lim Hng Kiang, "MAS does not, and cannot, micro-manage financial institutions in their operations." PAPpies are only good at bully kecil. They take pride in interfering and micro-managing the lives of Sinkie sheep and yet their balls shrink when dealing with financial institutions :rolleyes:

actually internet banking is the weakest link here , in terms of security. might want to format your computer HD, and stop using your HP for internet banking too.

or if you're extremely cynical... then maybe the FTs working in DBS dounche like your face so steal from u loh.

Most ATMs in JB are in malls. Not many out in the open. Its such a joke for peesai to get rob in broad daylight. I know for sure that m&ds are not smart enuff to pull this one off.