Average Pay of NTUC Fairprice Aunties = $1000. After 40 Years Under FAP!

[h=1]We pay fairly, competitively: NTUC[/h]
Published on May 12, 2012

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 59px; HEIGHT: 62px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-vertical" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1336551279.html#_=1336815695140&count=vertical&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FStory%2FSTIStory_797955.html&size=m&text=We%20pay%20fairly%2C%20competitively%3A%20NTUC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FStory%2FSTIStory_797955.html" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

<g:plusone></g:plusone>

inShare​

<!--start of webspecial icon, if any-->
Purchase this article for republication

Buy SPH photos

<!--close .storyLeft-->WE THANK Mr Leong Sze Hian for his concerns on the wages of staff in the NTUC Social Enterprises ('NTUC should set the example by paying its staff more'; Tuesday).
As part of the labour movement, NTUC Social Enterprises pay fair and competitive wages to staff.
With bonuses and allowances, the average monthly gross wage of a full-time retail assistant/cashier in FairPrice exceeds $1,000 to reach as high as $1,750. At Unity, it also exceeds $1,000 to reach as high as $1,700 for full-time pharmacy assistants.
We also provide staff and welfare benefits. These include staff discounts on purchases at our stores, as well as comprehensive medical and dental benefits.
Unity extends some of these benefits to the spouses and children of staff; FairPrice offers study grants to the children of staff.
During tough times like the period of global inflation in 2008, FairPrice distributed $1.5 million worth of FairPrice vouchers to help staff cope with the rapid rise in cost of living.
NTUC Social Enterprises value every worker and strongly believe in training and enhancing our productivity. This is the best way for us to secure better wages for our staff while helping our customers stretch their dollar.
Rebecca Teo (Ms)
Director, Human Resources
NTUC FairPrice Co-operative

Chan Yiam Moi (Mrs)
General Manager
NTUC Unity Healthcare Co-operative

$1,750 per month is fucking little.
What can you afford with that? Basically just a hand to mouth existence.

it $6 an hour for part timer, and there an additional allowance if work as cashier and graveyard shift.

not sure part timer had medical and health benefit as per full timer.

towkay, not everyone is as talent as you to earn high salary.

if both are working, that a household income of $3000+, very good oready compare to most single income families. but once children tertiary level, will have a hard time funding the university fee.

towkay, not everyone is as talent as you to earn high salary.

if both are working, that a household income of $3000+, very good oready compare to most single income families. but once children tertiary level, will have a hard time funding the university fee.

I am not a towkay and I have been 'jobless' for almost 2 years.
Currently living on my savings which has made me more aware of everyday prices.
How do you derive that 3k household income is considered 'good'?
Good because Pappies brain washed you so? How so many sinkies got hardship even getting by? Where is Swiss standard of living promised by the millionaire ministars for these sinkies?

Donch be fooled - it's 'up to' to $1750. The kind of silly marketing gimmick you see in al cheapo ads.

How do you derive that 3k household income is considered 'good'?
Good because Pappies brain washed you so? How so many sinkies got hardship even getting by? Where is Swiss standard of living promised by the millionaire ministars for these sinkies?

3k good enough to survive. because i seen worst, malays raising a brood with only $1k.

as for how much is enough, that will have to depend on individual. There are ppl contend with $1k a month while there are those who feel millions per annual barely worth their value. (cough... they like to wear white)

dont just see not happy then put a pap label on my head lah.

by the way, no point give more salary when price of neccessities are so high. the price of living is way too high as govt and companies are charging high price just because they percieve we can afford.

a tonne of rice cost US$650? but it $20+ for ten kg. the sum dont add up.

Hmmm... how much do you seriously think these aunties should be paid??

With bonuses and allowances, the average monthly gross wage of a full-time retail assistant/cashier in airPrice exceeds $1,000 to reach as high as $1,750.

one NTUC guy whose job is to unload goods and put them on shelves every nite till next morning, told me he earns $800 per month.. he left recently after a few years working there... anther NTUC guy always kpkb about his job and pay... i think it is equally miserable.. they are both family man about 30 years of age..

i am thinking that the average gross of most people is close to the lower $1000 (including bonuses and allowances).. and must pay cpf first..

Last edited by a moderator:
2k Folks Better To Be A Single

If this is the case, then being single is not a choice because you can't really afford anything else. You can forget about the house and family then. You still have your phone bill, internet bill, utility bill, future medical fees, etc.

What Pinky told us that we should have a family. Wow ! A thief talking about honesty.

Now petrol kiosk and 7/11 flooded with Pinoy and Bangla. Really hate them slower than local aunty. Should kick them out.
Should just pump petrol drive away. Waiting 3~5 min to pay on average in petrol station.
In JB less than 2min mostly less than 1 min.