• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Authorites simulated terrorist attacks on USS Universal Studios Singapore

Watchman

Simulated terror attack at Resorts World
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 26 January 2011 0037 hrs
Universal Studios Singapore

phpT8CKgE.jpg

Universal Studios Singapore

SINGAPORE : Singapore authorities simulated a terror attack on Tuesday evening to test the emergency preparedness of the Home Team and the security teams from Resorts World Sentosa, one of the Singapore's newest tourist attractions.

It was the first time that one of the two Integrated Resorts was participating in such a large-scale exercise.

It started with a suspicious package in an auditorium that no one noticed. Soon smoke filled the room and guests were evacuated.

Not long after, a second parcel exploded outside the theater and three gunmen stormed into the Universal Studios theme park, opening fire, and leaving scores injured and dead.

Security agencies were alerted and deployed to the scene.

The simulated exercise involved some 400 Resorts World staff and officers from the various Home Team agencies, including the Special Operations command team which later subdued the gunmen.

Witnessing the event was Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, Lim Swee Say, who said the exercise serves as a reminder of Singapore's ongoing battle against terrorism, which can happen to anyone, anytime, anywhere.

He said: "You saw a terrorist attack, you knew that it was not real, I knew that it was not real, and that's why all of us were still smiling. But imagine - what if what we saw just now was not a simulation but a real event? In Singapore, we are fighting a war, fighting a battle against global terrorism."

Since the integrated resort is new, authorities also took the opportunity to familiarise themselves with it.

Melvin Yong, Deputy Assistant Commissioner of Police and Commander of Clementi Police Division, said: "Many of the facade here may look like a concrete pillar but when our officers hid behind a pillar to avoid a gunshot, we realised it's not concrete.

"It's made of some other material that will not provide a safety shield. So the theme park does provide a very different terrain for us, a very new challenge for the police."

He added: "During a crisis, the first responder at the scene is very important because lives can be saved if the first responder knows how to react promptly, calmly and confidently.

"And I think it's in our interest to make sure the IR staff are well trained, and well prepared to make sure that in any contingency, they are in the best position to take care of the patrons and customers within the resort."

Resorts World Sentosa, which is home to Universal Studios Singapore, attracts thousands of visitors on a daily basis.

Vice-president of Park Operations at Universal Studios Singapore, John Hallenbeck, said: "We try to strive for safety at all levels, and doing exercises like this helps us to refine our SOPs, helps us to understand - if something did happen, how can we react quicker."

The last time such a large-scale emergency response simulation took place was in July 2009 during Exercsie NorthStar. The exercise - conducted at 10 different locations including a shopping centre, an MRT station and the resort island of Sentosa - re-created simultaneous terror attacks similar to the Mumbai incident of November 2008.

- CNA/al

... Witnessing the event was Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, Lim Swee Say, ... said: "You saw a terrorist attack, you knew that it was not real, I knew that it was not real, and that's why all of us were still smiling ..." ...
damn it! ...

tis burger was smiling there ... wasnt even serious about ze whole ting! ... :mad: :rolleyes:

... Singapore authorities simulated a terror attack on Tuesday evening to test the emergency preparedness of the Home Team and the security teams from Resorts World Sentosa, one of the Singapore's newest tourist attractions ...

Resorts World Sentosa, which is home to Universal Studios Singapore, attracts thousands of visitors on a daily basis ...
pity dose paying tourists who have 2 pay moni 2 b put thru such unnecessary alarm n anxiety :o ... can dey claim a refund? ... :confused:

Maybe wear the 'Shrek' costume and run away... steady... nobody will notice except Princess Fiona!!!

When the real thing strikes, we will be caught with our pants down. We have a very complacent Home Team that will surely make everything go wrong when a major crisis occurs.

Simulated drills like this is for the underlings to show off to their bosses and make their bosses look good. End of year, everyone gets a promotion and a fat bonus, courtesy of taxpayers. A solid WAYANG.

When the real thing comes, very few will be prepared. Then the difference between simulation & reality will be very obvious.

Instead of conducting mock terror attack drills, they should prepare more for operational cock ups like the singapore flyer breakdown and orchard road flooding.

Everyone knows those threats are real.

3.jpg

1. what resorts? where is the crowd?
2. to test our preparedness or readiness, try it in the mrt interchange during perk hours.
3. now that is real-time challenge, home team!
4. get real man!

lim sia suay aka the zorro man : of cause this not real lah. if real you think i can still smile.

When the real thing comes, very few will be prepared. Then the difference between simulation & reality will be very obvious.

That is very true. By the time key decision makers are mobilised, many lives would have been lost. When time to decide course of action, that is when the art of tai chi will explode. And when finally a decsion is made, the crisis is over. I know. I have been there before. And, it was only a small crisis unlike terrorist attack.

If an alleged limping terrorist can escape when physically guarded and with barriers to prevent escape, and remain undetected for so long, do we stand any chance when the real terrorists decide to strike?

When the ball was in our court, we let the ball out. When the ball is with the other party, we stand absolutely no chance.

That is very true. By the time key decision makers are mobilised, many lives would have been lost. When time to decide course of action, that is when the art of tai chi will explode. And when finally a decsion is made, the crisis is over. I know. I have been there before. And, it was only a small crisis unlike terrorist attack.

Our govt authorities are untested in real life crisis situations. Plus they are all scholar type - "tak chek" people who know nothing beyond their textbooks. How to respond in an emergency if one does not have the guts of steel and the mental flexibility to adapt to changing situations?

SG's Civil serpents only know how to follow the book and kiss arses of their superiors.

if i am them, i will not target universal studio sentosa, there would be no body there.
i think they are not so stupid.