Anyone old enough to remember that SOF legend nicknamed Lungless?

Is that the Army SM CWO Ng Siak Ping?

When I was in army, I went for a pretty long course with him. He was the one of the best, if not the best soldier that Singapore ever had.

After the course, I came to understand why many army regulars were jealous about Commandos never salute to officers of higher ranks than them. The regular commandos are true patriots of Singapore. They do their best in many things because of their commitment to our land and more importantly, to set a good example for their juniors to inherit and look upon. It is like a legacy.

Unlike many regular officers in the course, CWO Ng don't wayang and eagar to learn, even the instructors respect him. For our special ops, even the ranger course is nothing to these elite soldiers. These are the most committed men in SAF. Within other formations, many regulars are just womanizers or slackos compared to even many NSFs.

That's how good CWO Ng is. In many countries, he will go on to be the Chief of Army or Chief of Defence Forces. Even today, I think he should return to helm the Army or SAF.

https://mothership.sg/2019/04/ng-siak-ping-legendary-encik/

collagedcvjhbedknce.jpg

Don’t know much of this Ng chappy ...mine was an era of Encik Shamsuddin and Tiger Hong ...Shamsuddin later commissioned an officer ..,mine was an era of commisonning and not appointing an officer , traditionally British

I opion these enchiks are just ass holes and nothing much more ...they became a legend simply because they terrorised you in the parade square not because how they will perform in the battle field

I am also quite familiar with the Scottish regimes,like the Fusiliors and R Guards of the British army based here ... these regiments are centuries old having fought real wars in many fronts..I still remember ,at a moment notice they would scuttle to Kalimantan or Aden...incidentally , the Gurkha regiment would never accept as their officers other than Scottish ...mutual respect

now as for the best runner during my time , there was a PTI who was a turban less Singh , quite forgot his name but a legend in SAFTI .. in stamina and distance runned

These enciks talk a good game and are probably one of the fittest.... better than the officers. But the truth remains that they are not tested on actual battlefields. Pls don’t count those overseas humanitarian aids and exercises which are a joke.

The Enciks of the yesteryears, the ones who retired in the early 1990s. They were the ones who experienced a proper battle when as young soldiers in the 60s, they were sent to the Malaysian jungles as part of 1 Sir and 2 Sir during the Konfrontasi. Present day Enciks are just jiak liao bees.

Not really lah , I mean many in our armed forces never fought in Konfrontasi per ce ...I was in Mike company in SAFTI ,the story went around it was that toilet where the bodies of our soldiers , cut to pieces in Pontian were brought and washed .,,hence many trainees actually avoided going to that toilet during the night but peed into the water bottles to empty next morning

but it was all hearsay , that’s all, but many trainees did commit suicide at those days...that’s real stuff

the soldiers who really fought the Indonesians in Kalimantan and the Malay peninsula were the British ,particularly the Scottish ,,I know that as a fact

their method of warfare is striking terror and that the British used the local tribes such as the Iban and Dayaks as their trackers ..they best know the terrain , not our SAF or 1 st SIR for that matter , incidentally our 1 SIR were mostly gangsters who sought army as a refuge from the police

now with regards to the Scottish regime striking terror, they slip into Longhouses at night and silently slit some throats without any noice ...when the villagers wake up in the morning , the whole lot would be terrified

our soldiers were not made of such material ...neither they fought any real battle ....as a matter of fact , the Malaysian jungle training camp in Johore , is world renown ..if at all any soldiers having fought real battle , it was the Malaysians not Sinkies lah

the Malaysians actually fought Chin Pengs communist in the jungle ..normally in small groups of less than 12 people tracking the commies for days and weeks on foot ..with no logistics support except for food and equipment dropped by helicopters once in a while ..otherwise it’s simply survival on whatever they can catch

one of the Sargeants in my unit was selected for SOF. The next time I saw him, was in orchard road, he was in civvies, tanned, botak and walking around with a briefcase handcuffed to his wrist.

Ng Siak Ping (we always knew him as Ng Siak Peng) was a newly promoted Sergeant just before June 1985 when we were enlisted into 5th COY in the CDO battalion under CPT Ang Boon Peng as OC & Encik Leow Chai Hin as CSM. Ng Siak Peng was our section commander together with Mohan & Toh Kai Kok etc amongst the Section Commanders in Platoon 14 under LTA William Wicks as Platoon Commander & SGT Leong Chan Ming as Platoon Sergeant. And obviously together with all the other Section Commander Sergeants, Ng Siak Peng was as strict and as even more zhi-siao in terms of (real) terkan'ing all of us as wih literally more than anything we could possibly imagine. Ng Siak Peng if you're reading this, you'll know exactly what's written here. The stuff we'd learnt in that episode of our lives are invaluable, and even fun only if/when viewed strictly & purely on hindsight and not when we were in the midst of it. That said, it's great to know that Ng Siak Peng has got an illustrious career in the SAF topping rigorous courses domestically & overseas with such accolades. That's just basically the Ng Siak Peng we know from the start in the 1980s.

• IMG-20220329-WA0003.jpg
    IMG-20220329-WA0003.jpg
    188.3 KB · Views: 172
  • IMG-20220329-WA0004.jpg
    IMG-20220329-WA0004.jpg
    314.2 KB · Views: 324
  • IMG-20220329-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20220329-WA0001.jpg
    222.9 KB · Views: 177
  • IMG-20220329-WA0002.jpg
    IMG-20220329-WA0002.jpg