Any brothers here affected by the DBS' disappearing money in accounts?

CannonFairy

My coffin money is all with UOB. I should be safe. It might be interesting to know what kind of DBS account is affected - Savings or Current? or worse still, Creditline/Overdraft accounts.

So long as monies are not in your pocket, there is still a risk.

so far so good. I dont have much so its easy to monitor :(

Living in Spore is getting so stressful. Never know if you'll be hit by flash pondings, if the train you are in will breakdown, your hard earned money in the bank is still there,...... :confused:

When the foundation is rotten you can expect things to go wrong. For too long Spore has been on auto for too long.

I've closed my POSB and DBS account ever since they merged.

pocket also can have hole one what............................:o
True, then like that how, put where sial?
Basically everything oso got risk, end of the day, ish risk management.

Don't put all your eggs in one pocket and have some understanding of the pockets u are putting your eggs in. :o

My $$ is in HSBC. I like their conservative approach, as opposed to banks like Barclays and Citibank. But don't take my word for it lah. I've only a superficial knowledge of finance ;)

Even if money is in your pocket, there's the risk of hyperinflation like Weimar Republic wiping out the purchasing power.

If it were to happen, Sinkies have only themselves to blame for putting all their eggs into the cash basket.

My $$ is in HSBC. I like their conservative approach, as opposed to banks like Barclays and Citibank. But don't take my word for it lah. I've only a superficial knowledge of finance ;)

I have credit cards from a few bank and HSBC gave me the highest credit limit :D

I have heard of banks calling their customers to tell them their cards have been "compromised" and HSBC is one of them.
That's even before or without any unauthorised withdrawals.
This shows that some banks have a system in place to detect suspected cases of skimming.

This latest incident is like closing the stable doors after the horses have bolted. Didn't they have any preventive or detective measures in place, without waiting for the customers to report the loss?

Btw, not only is HSBC conservative and proactive, they also allows their premier customers in one country to open premier accounts in other countries, even if they don't meet the balance requirement in the other countries.

Yes I was affected. This morning I went to a DBS branch to deposit, yes deposit, some cold hard cash into my gf's a/c. The sheep's queue ish bloody long. :rolleyes:

The best part? The counter lady refused to update the passbook for security reasons! I can only update by joining another snaking queue at the machines. And she said I don't need my gf's ATM card to do that. :rolleyes:

I facepalmed.