• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another sinkie jailed for embezzling company funds for casino addiction

COO of mobile phone company misappropriated S$2.5 million worth of company assets, gets jail​

The chief operating officer of MDR Limited took the devices to fund his gambling addiction and asked the CEO for a loan when he ran out of assets to draw on.

Lydia Lam
06 Jan 2026 01:27PM

SINGAPORE: The chief operating officer of a listed company who misappropriated its assets was sentenced on Tuesday (Jan 6) to five-and-a-half years' jail.

Richard Siua Cheng Foo pleaded guilty to one count of criminal breach of trust as a key executive of the company, which dealt with mobile phones and accessories. Another four charges were taken into consideration.

He had ordered employees to draw down from marketing funds and deliver mobile devices to him, which he sold for his own profit.

In total, across all charges, the 54-year-old Singaporean misappropriated company assets amounting to more than S$2.5 million (US$1.95 million) over about a year.

THE CASE​

The court heard that Siua was the COO of MDR Limited, a company listed on the mainboard of the Singapore Exchange.

He was concurrently the chief executive officer and registered director of several of MDR's subsidiaries. The group of companies distributed and sold mobile handsets and accessories.

From November 2020, Siua began misappropriating phones and selling them for money as he had become addicted to gambling.

He also realised that his employees did not monitor his use of the phones or question his instructions as they trusted him.

Between 2020 and 2021, he pocketed a total of 4,057 units of company assets valued at about S$2.5 million.

He would direct employees to withdraw mobile devices by drawing down from marketing funds that were meant to support marketing campaigns.

As CEO of the subsidiaries, Siua had full authority on how such funds would be used to further business.

He also directed employees to withdraw mobile devices or accessories that were stocked in the company warehouse and that were meant for promotional activities.

When the staff members complied, Siua would sell the items for personal profit with the help of a friend who was a director of another mobile phone business.

His friend took a cut of the sale proceeds as his own profit, which he used to offset loans that Siua owed him.

DISCOVERY​

In December 2021, after Siua had used up almost all of the company funds at his disposal, he approached the CEO of MDR for a company loan.

ADVERTISEMENT

Suspecting that Siua was having financial troubles, the CEO asked the finance department to check on Siua's use of the group finances under his control.

The finance department discovered a sharp spike in the group's marketing expenditure for 2021 compared with previous years.

They also found that Siua had requested a large quantity of mobile devices to be released.

The CEO confronted Siua at a board meeting and he admitted to his crimes.

The CEO made a police report, and Siua surrendered to the police. None of the misappropriated devices were recovered, and Siua did not make any restitution.

The prosecution sought five-and-a-half to six years' jail for Siua, noting the value of goods taken, the persistence of his offending conduct and the trust he exploited.

Siua's lawyer said his client had served the company for 20 years and "it's very unfortunate that after 20 years, he fell into the gambling addiction that led ultimately to him committing the offences".

He said Siua admitted to them immediately and cooperated "wholeheartedly" with the authorities. He is now an undischarged bankrupt.

For criminal breach of trust as a key executive of the company, Siua could have been jailed for up to 20 years and fined. As the charge was amalgamated and involved multiple instances, he could have been given up to double the punishment.

Source: CNA/ll(ss)

When the staff members complied, Siua would sell the items for personal profit with the help of a friend who was a director of another mobile phone business.

His friend took a cut of the sale proceeds as his own profit, which he used to offset loans that Siua owed him.
Was the director friend also arrested?

Told you all already.
Doesn't mean CEO coo cfo of a big company are all smart people.
And I have beaten a handful of them to puppies in my line of work being at the lowest hierarchy.

Told you all already.
And I have beaten a handful of them to puppies in my line of work being at the lowest hierarchy.
U are correct.And if u are smarter than them ,they are very worried.:roflmao:

Told you all already.
You’re lucky you never became a tram driver at the Night Safari. I can picture you trying to beat tigers and lions into puppies—right up to the moment they decide to conduct a hands-on anatomy lesson and play pickleball with your two ding-dongs. :biggrin:

I did drove it for a night while on training.
Only after the first night of work then I failed to nego a flexi work day with the tram supervisor, then he asked me to fuck off.
Although it was only $7/hr, I enjoyed this kind of work much more than in an office.
Cb I had never thought to beat animals to puppies before KNN.

I did drove it for a night while on training.
Only after the first night of work then I failed to nego a flexi work day with the tram supervisor, then he asked me to fuck off.
Although it was only $7/hr, I enjoyed this kind of work much more than in an office.
Cb I had never thought to beat animals to puppies before KNN.
If I were a Malaysian, I would love to work as a train operator. If in Europe, lagi shiok !

The court heard that Siua was the COO of MDR Limited, a company listed on the mainboard of the Singapore Exchange.

He was concurrently the chief executive officer and registered director of several of MDR's subsidiaries. The group of companies distributed and sold mobile handsets and accessories.
WTF, this kind of company also can list on the mainboard?

U are correct.And if u are smarter than them ,they are very worried.:roflmao:
1 of my ex boss boss also landed with bankruptcy due to gambling.
He didn't embezzled money but went around borrowing money, even from lowest rung staff like me.
We can't possibly win money from gambling without any secret code or unnatural occurrence of magical numbers, and just purely leelying on luck.
Unless we just gamble for a few times and run road after that big win.

1 of my ex boss boss also landed with bankruptcy due to gambling.
He didn't embezzled money but went around borrowing money, even from lowest rung staff like me.
We can't possibly win money from gambling without any secret code or unnatural occurrence of magical numbers, and just purely leelying on luck.
Unless we just gamble for a few times and run road after that big win.
Met once my colleague GM driver,he told me the retrenched GM (Co taken by new Co) had
borrowed money from all project managers including him .I said u are lucky ! 555

Met once my colleague GM driver,he told me the retrenched GM (Co taken by new Co) had
borrowed money from all project managers including him .I said u are lucky ! 555
All these people earned so much money still not enough and want more and more.