Almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky

Google billionaire Eric Schmidt: ‘Almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky’

Grit. Hard work. Intelligence. These are some of the ingredients of success.

But there’s another that can’t be left off the list, according to Google billionaire Eric Schmidt: luck.

“I would say I’m defined by luck, and I think almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky,” said Schmidt said on the Conversations with Tyler podcast. “Lucky of birth, lucky of having intellectual and intelligent family home life, upbringing, global upbringing, etc.”

Schmidt’s own life is an example: To start with, his father was an economist who moved the family to Italy when Schmidt was young. “And this is at a time when people didn’t travel the way they do today, and so it was quite exotic to grow up Italian, and I think that really changed me,” he said.

It opened up his view of the world. “As an American, I’ve always thought Americans were very, very locally focused, and even today in the world you all live in, we’re still too locally focused and not globally focused,” Schmidt said.

Then, there was his schooling.

Schmidt, now 63, studied architecture at Princeton University, though that major didn’t last.

“I was a terrible architect,” Schmidt told Cowen. “But I turned out to be a pretty good engineer, and this was at a time when computer science didn’t exist. At Princeton, I walked in and I said, ‘Look, I think I’d rather do computers.’”

Schmidt went on to graduate with an electrical engineering degree and then got his masters and Ph.D in computer science at the University of California, Berkeley.

It was perfect timing — the fact that computer industry was just getting started was absolutely key to his success.

“I had the benefit of being early in the computer industry, so that’s like super luck,” said Schmidt.

Indeed, his ability to pursue his interest in computers drove the rest of his career. Schmidt, who is worth about $12.7 billion according to Forbes, went on to be the CEO of Google from 2001 to 2011 and the executive chairman of Google’s parent company Alphabet until he stepped down in January 2018 to be a technical adviser.

Schmidt also says he was lucky “because I had good taste in friends, and they helped me out.”

Schmidt did not specify which friends, but earlier in the podcast, Schmidt said he learned about charismatic leadership working with Scott McNealy, a co-founder and former CEO of the computer technology company Sun Microsystems. Also, during his time at Google, Schmidt worked with the co-founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin.

“The best things in your life will come from the people that you hang out with,” Schmidt said. “That has worked incredibly well for me.”

With his good luck, Schmidt was savvy, he says, and that created his good fortune. “But my real opportunity is, I look at each of these stages, I was picked early, I worked with smart people, people took a risk on me, and I learned.”

Schmidt is not the only ultra successful person to acknowledge how the luck of their upbringing has played a significant role in their success.

My wealth has come from a combination of living in America, some lucky genes, and compound interest. [Both] my children and I won what I call ‘the ovarian lottery,’” Warren Buffett, who is now worth more than $79.1 billion according to Forbes, told Christiane Amanpour in 2010.

“I was born in the right country at the right time,” said Buffett, now 88.

Bill Gates has always told me if I had been born many thousands of years ago, I’d have been some animal’s lunch because I can’t run very fast, I can’t climb trees, and some animal would be chasing me and I say, ‘Well, I allocate capital.’ The animal would say, ‘Those are the kind that taste the best,’ ” Buffett said.

Billionaire Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg has also said he owes his success to the serendipity of his upbringing. Zuckerberg’s father was a dentist who provided a comfortable life, so Zuckerberg was afforded the freedom to pursue his interests.

Currently worth more than $46.9 billion according to Forbes, Zuckerberg famously dropped out of Harvard to focus on Facebook.

“Let’s face it. There is something wrong with our system when I can leave [Harvard] and make billions of dollars in 10 years while millions of students can’t afford to pay off their loans, let alone start a business,” Zuckerberg said in his 2017 commencement address at the university.

We all know we don’t succeed just by having a good idea or working hard. We succeed by being lucky too,” Zuckerberg said. “If I had to support my family growing up instead of having time to code, if I didn’t know I’d be fine if Facebook didn’t work out, I wouldn’t be standing here today. If we’re honest, we all know how much luck we’ve had.”

Google billionaire Eric Schmidt: ‘Almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky’

But there’s another that can’t be left off the list, according to Google billionaire Eric Schmidt: luck.

“I would say I’m defined by luck, and I think almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky,” said Schmidt said on the Conversations with Tyler podcast. “Lucky of birth, lucky of having intellectual and intelligent family home life, upbringing, global upbringing, etc.”

Schmidt’s own life is an example: To start with, his father was an economist who moved the family to Italy when Schmidt was young. “And this is at a time when people didn’t travel the way they do today, and so it was quite exotic to grow up Italian, and I think that really changed me,” he said.

It opened up his view of the world. “As an American, I’ve always thought Americans were very, very locally focused, and even today in the world you all live in, we’re still too locally focused and not globally focused,” Schmidt said.

Then, there was his schooling.

Schmidt, now 63, studied architecture at Princeton University, though that major didn’t last.

“I was a terrible architect,” Schmidt told Cowen. “But I turned out to be a pretty good engineer, and this was at a time when computer science didn’t exist. At Princeton, I walked in and I said, ‘Look, I think I’d rather do computers.’”

Schmidt went on to graduate with an electrical engineering degree and then got his masters and Ph.D in computer science at the University of California, Berkeley.

It was perfect timing — the fact that computer industry was just getting started was absolutely key to his success.

“I had the benefit of being early in the computer industry, so that’s like super luck,” said Schmidt.

Indeed, his ability to pursue his interest in computers drove the rest of his career. Schmidt, who is worth about $12.7 billion according to Forbes, went on to be the CEO of Google from 2001 to 2011 and the executive chairman of Google’s parent company Alphabet until he stepped down in January 2018 to be a technical adviser.

Schmidt also says he was lucky “because I had good taste in friends, and they helped me out.”

Schmidt did not specify which friends, but earlier in the podcast, Schmidt said he learned about charismatic leadership working with Scott McNealy, a co-founder and former CEO of the computer technology company Sun Microsystems. Also, during his time at Google, Schmidt worked with the co-founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin.

“The best things in your life will come from the people that you hang out with,” Schmidt said. “That has worked incredibly well for me.”

With his good luck, Schmidt was savvy, he says, and that created his good fortune. “But my real opportunity is, I look at each of these stages, I was picked early, I worked with smart people, people took a risk on me, and I learned.”

Schmidt is not the only ultra successful person to acknowledge how the luck of their upbringing has played a significant role in their success.

My wealth has come from a combination of living in America, some lucky genes, and compound interest. [Both] my children and I won what I call ‘the ovarian lottery,’” Warren Buffett, who is now worth more than $79.1 billion according to Forbes, told Christiane Amanpour in 2010.

“I was born in the right country at the right time,” said Buffett, now 88.

Bill Gates has always told me if I had been born many thousands of years ago, I’d have been some animal’s lunch because I can’t run very fast, I can’t climb trees, and some animal would be chasing me and I say, ‘Well, I allocate capital.’ The animal would say, ‘Those are the kind that taste the best,’ ” Buffett said.

Billionaire Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg has also said he owes his success to the serendipity of his upbringing. Zuckerberg’s father was a dentist who provided a comfortable life, so Zuckerberg was afforded the freedom to pursue his interests.

Currently worth more than $46.9 billion according to Forbes, Zuckerberg famously dropped out of Harvard to focus on Facebook.

“Let’s face it. There is something wrong with our system when I can leave [Harvard] and make billions of dollars in 10 years while millions of students can’t afford to pay off their loans, let alone start a business,” Zuckerberg said in his 2017 commencement address at the university.

We all know we don’t succeed just by having a good idea or working hard. We succeed by being lucky too,” Zuckerberg said. “If I had to support my family growing up instead of having time to code, if I didn’t know I’d be fine if Facebook didn’t work out, I wouldn’t be standing here today. If we’re honest, we all know how much luck we’ve had.”

Sinkies like you should feel lucky to be born in Singapore. Without the PAP, you would be commuting to JB daily for work instead of complaining online every day. :cool:

Likewise, i wish to remind our scholars generals and ministers, you are successful not just because you are good, it is also because you are luckier.

Many people in Singapore are more diligent and honest than you, but they have more commitment in life; they need to take care of more people around them or they do not get to run on a track that is as smooth as you.

sinkies should be lucky they are born in sg. everything is provided for, including old farts and maids who clean up after sinkies' shit.
1545673542322.png

1545673625151.png
1545673565684.png

1545673602503.png

Yes I feel so happy and lucky, especially when I read my CPF statements. :rolleyes:

Yes I am sooo lucky that my CPF statement has sooo many zerooess..& I am a big ZERO!.. ha ha ha
I am sooo successful I have to thank thank the PAP

Maligayang Pasko..

A Merry Christmas to one & all...

Please thank the PAP & be Blessed that we have the PAP...( sic!), you are having, one too many!... ha ha ha ha

As mourinho explains it. When everything seems to go for a team, you know, its that extra luck that gets you the league or the cup.

There a lot of truth in that.

Chinks belief in

一命二运三风水,四积阴德五读书,六名七相八敬神,九交贵人十养生

Likewise even Warren Buffett talks about ‘the ovarian lottery ’

Anthony hopkins too said he was lucky coming out from school not knowing what to do. Saw a advertisement for acting scholarship in wales, took it and the rest is history.

Sinkies like you should feel lucky to be born in Singapore. Without the PAP, you would be commuting to JB daily for work instead of complaining online every day. :cool:

Actually i dont mind being a msian. Hey, earning 3 times my peer, i can own 2 landed freehold properties and 3 cars. Med benefit only M$5 the most. Got back my EPf and lots and lots of subsidies fm caring Msian garment. Dont believe ask my jiuhukia neighbour$

I pray to Lee Con You everyday ...offering him steak, chicken, kobe beef everyday. I am so blessed to be a sinkee. The PAP is god's gift to sinkapore. The PAP MPs have sacrificed so much for sinkapore. Our ministars could have made billions like Buffet, Gates and Zuckerberg but they chose to be in sinkapore, thus earning only millions.

I support the PAP all the way to Timbaktu. Majullah SINKapore!

I feel lucky my money is used to pay our million dollar ministers for their million dollar brains. But million dollars for peas do sound a lot. Long live PAP, huat ahhhhhhh

Lai! Lai! Lai!

Don't be shy!

Altogether now!!! HUAT AH!!!

ahahahahahaa

According to the PAP theory, you guys are here to talk cock because of their good work and good charm.

You are so blessed because of their great work. So you guys deserve to pay a lot of tax and keep them well fed.

According to the PAP theory, you guys are here to talk cock because of their good work and good charm.

You are so blessed because of their great work. So you guys deserve to pay a lot of tax and keep them well fed.

In sinkapore, we pay low taxes. We just pay lots more for essentials like healthcare, housing, electricity and lots of god knows what fees.

“I would say I’m defined by luck, and I think almost anyone who’s successful has to start by saying they were lucky,” said Schmidt
said on the Conversations with Tyler podcast. “Lucky of birth, lucky of having intellectual and intelligent family home life,
upbringing, global upbringing, etc.”

tis schmidtie guy obviously not a sammyboy member.
if he is , he wont be saying saying such nonsense.
here those who made it adamantly claimed that success is onli due to ones hard work and work smart woh.
those failures are people not working hard enough or smart enough.

I think w
tis schmidtie guy obviously not a sammyboy member.
if he is , he wont be saying saying such nonsense.
here those who made it adamantly claimed that success is onli due to ones hard work and work smart woh.
those failures are people not working hard enough or smart enough.
Schumid guy is a hardworking realtistc guy. Couple with abit of brain and tons and tons of luck and break.

As mourinho explains it. When everything seems to go for a team, you know, its that extra luck that gets you the league or the cup.

This has nothing to do with Team, League or Cup...these are commercial transaction...we are talking about yOUR hard earned BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS money, ENTRUSTED to a government whose hold on it makes the LIMPET pale in comparison. Worse that entrusting a small portion of your monthly income with your mum & saving it to a bigger sum...to buy that..whatever you have desired for or get a GREAT BANG for that money with a damn endearing broad. You will get your money back....but with the PAP Government ...you dream of MAYBE 70...the next hurdle jump championship...or 99.9 years...save for you to get a lavish funeral.

What Team, League or Cup....you hold Mourinho money...hell with break loose...Stinkees are already in hell with CPF Money...