All schools are good schools?

micromachine

Lieutenant General
I was from a "branded" girls' school (A), then transferred to a co-ed neighbourhood school (T) in primary 5.

It was a huge culture shock to be honest. I realized there were glaring differences in the way students in A behave compared to T. I personally felt that girls from A conducted themselves in a somewhat "high SES" manner, like there was some form of "polish" applied to the manner in which they acted and carried themselves. However in T, people there were just... rowdy as f***. Many adopted the "aiya aiya DON'T CARE LA" attitude towards most things. I remembered the very first day I stepped into T, I was literally taken aback by the badly vandalized tables, dirty floors, rusty windows etc.... it was akin to a blasphemy as this would absolutely have NEVER occurred in A. My classmates shouting "EH BANGLA" from the 4th floor which echoed down to the HDB carpark, carving their names on desks..... I was speechless.

In A, I was just an average student with very average grades. However, when I transferred to T, I kept topping classes without much effort and eventually topped the entire level in certain subjects as well. Classmates in T were like, "Eh did you pass? did you pass?" and for me I was like, what do you mean "pass"? Just a "pass" aka 50/100 was never acceptable given where I came from previously. Like in A, we never ever discussed who passed, it was more like, did you score an A? Even when I got a 65/100 in A I'd be very upset, much less anything lower than that. But yeah, when it came to grades, I sensed that expectations were not as high in T as compared to A.

This brings me to the point whereby our ministers claim that "ALL SCHOOLS ARE GOOD SCHOOOOLS" no. No. NO. Don't believe that shit. For someone who has experienced both extremes, the environment you study in and the people you hang out with shapes you. Now I'm not trying to say that neighbourhood schools are bad. There are always stuff about them which are certainly better, such as the kampong spirit and strength of bonding among students. NOT FORGETTING THE DEDICATED TEACHERS. I also felt that the teachers in T were more passionate about teaching and genuinely concerned about the well-being of their students as compared to A. When I was in A, all I remembered was that the teacher flung my workbook across the floor for some reason I can't recall HAHA.

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2018/07/all-schools-are-good-schools-dont.html

"All Schools are Good Schools.."

It all depends on what is your perception of the word "Good".

If "Good" means good grades, then "A" is good school.

When I hire someone, I generally take note of academic qualifications, skills and experience. But the two most important aspects I look for is (1) whether the person will enjoy the work he or she is going to do and (2) the ability to bounce back after taking lots of shit.

The simple reason is because the person who enjoys what he or she does is usually the most successful. And the person who can take lots of shit will be the most tenacious.

Academic qualifications to me -whether you are first class or second class honours or what shit double degree or MBA rubbish doesn't matter. As long as you meet the basic educational qualification.

When I hire someone, I generally take note of academic qualifications, skills and experience. But the two most important aspects I look for is (1) whether the person will enjoy the work he or she is going to do and (2) the ability to bounce back after taking lots of shit.

We SBF bros pah si buay toh!

Why she complain.she studied inT and still manage to get aces. That means standard of teaching is the same. Its just students that attend are of lower standards.

The simple reason is because the person who enjoys what he or she does is usually the most successful. And the person who can take lots of shit will be the most tenacious.

Academic qualifications to me -whether you are first class or second class honours or what shit double degree or MBA rubbish doesn't matter. As long as you meet the basic educational qualification.

eh Ah meng I thought you just hire the orang utan that can steal bananas the fastest from others? need degree one meh?

I am a trainer who have been around and across Singapore to train students and teachers. All school are good schools? Definitely no. Government schools will rarely surpass these well known schools.

Student population (secondary schools)

Better (well known) schools still maintain a higher PSLE score requirement before admission. Literally, a good school will have smarter kids. When I mean smart, I am talking about how well they cope with studies. They have stronger self discipline and motivation regarding learning as a whole. Which leads to my next point. Government/neighbourhood kids can be really rowdy. Some coughing vulgarities faster than you can understand them. Very often their intellect is misdirected and they spend it being an annoyance to the rest of the group. This therefore results in very disrupted learning.

Quality of teaching staff

Your students are smart, they learn things fast; besides teachers are also specially selected. They are quite often, the best of the bunch or former students (alumni). With prior knowledge of the school culture, these teachers are just adult versions of their students assuming a supervisory role. Government school teachers on the other hand are often swamped with multiple (at times possibly inexplicable) responsibilities and consequently feel less attached to their jobs.

Alumni

A well known school typically has a huge and largely successful alumni that can be tapped on for resources and networking purposes. Members of these alumni still actively engage the school and organize events on a regular basis. This link-up is a good way for the students to establish an even stronger alliance of contacts for the future. A government school would not have access to such a luxury. Some even merge with other institutions or even shut down altogether, thus resulting in an alumni that is small in size and much more apathetic.

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2018/07/i-will-never-send-my-kid-to.html

So the privileged are those who attend these special schools? But its fhe same in U where many PM attended Eton college. But not the couple of new leaders they got after margaret thatcher.

Kids will be kids.
Minister now play with words like "All. Schools are good school"

And now they have their versions of all schools are Good schools. Singkie parents are screwed badly.