A Bonus for Camera Enthusiast

rusty

A radical new camera that lets you adjust the focus after you take a picture began shipping this week.

The Lytro is the creation of Ren Ng, who started work on the digital camera while studying for a doctorate in computer science at Stanford University in California.

The telescope-shaped camera uses what is known as "light field technology" to allow the focal point of a digital image to be changed after the picture is taken, a feature that Lytro calls "shoot now, focus later."

Clicking on a Lytro picture displayed on a computer screen allows a viewer to shift the focus from a subject in the foreground, for example, to a subject in the background.

The Lytro can do this because it uses powerful sensors to capture significantly more light than a conventional camera.

Lytro chief executive Ng, who was born in Malaysia and raised in Australia, describes the images as "living pictures" because of the ability to manipulate them.

"This is a very exciting time for our growing Lytro team," he said in a blog post to mark the shipments of the first models. "We finally get to see how you use the Lytro camera to create and share your own living pictures."

When Lytro pictures are shared online, the "light field engine" travels with each image so anyone can interact with them on desktop and tablet computers or on smartphones.

The 16-gigabyte model of the camera, which is about the same size as a stick of butter and can fit easily in a pocket, costs $499 and can hold 750 pictures. An 8GB version costs $399 and can capture 350 images.

The first reviews of the Lytro came out on Thursday and were full of praise for the technological leap the camera represents.

"The consumer point-and-shoot camera has just been reinvented -- not tweaked, or remodeled, but actually re-thought from top to bottom," said Walt Mossberg in The Wall Street Journal.

"I consider it a revolution in consumer photography," Mossberg said.

At the same time, the Journal's influential technology reviewer did point out some of the Lytro's limitations.

Mossberg noted that for now at least Lytro pictures can only be imported to a Macintosh computer with its accompanying software and the process is slow because of the relatively large files.

The Mountain View, California-based Lytro has promised that a version for computers powered by Microsoft's Windows operating systems will be available later.

Sam Grobart of The New York Times described the refocusing capabilities of the Lytro as "astonishing" and "fairly mind-blowing."

"Refocusing a Lytro image, I felt like one of those CIA agents in the movies who is looking at satellite images and asks some technician to 'enhance' the picture until Carlos the Jackal comes into focus," Grobart wrote.

He also highlighted drawbacks with the current model.

"While refocusing is its own interesting tool, that's the only tool you have at this point -- adding a filter or importing the image into Photoshop remains impossible," Grobart said.

"Should Lytro's engineers refine light-field photography into something more versatile and cheaper (imagine this on a smartphone), it may turn out to be a game changer," he said.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/radical-focus-later-camera-begins-shipping-215907219.html

i feel that its just an effect processing, actual shooting is fully sharp, then when processing, you can point where is sharp, where is blur....

cameras_stacked.jpg

Lytro-Camera.jpg

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JDyRSYGcFVM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is the camera.

Here no camera hobbyist ahh? sad :(

OK just my 2 cents, it a new technology with lots of potential..what I see in future is, this will be paired up with Mobile phone, DSLR and mirrorless systems.,,,but this will put sony out of business as they are the ones making the cmos sensor,,however if the whole thing is integrated..than taking photos will be much easier....i cant think of how many important photos came out out of focus etc,....I just hope the big boys like Sony dont crush it,,,like the way Oil companies killed the electric car

upskirt, toliet cubicle enthusiats.. ha ha ha

resolution too low.
Resolution too low? how many megapixel is that? I couldnt find in the specs....
If it says 8gb can have 350 pictures, that means 1 picture around 20 megs. My E-P2 jpg picture only 2.2 megs leh...

resolution too low.

It is another of those fad thing, which might not make it to mass consumer appeal, remind me of the Kodak 110 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/110_film a camera I once owned, paid quite a lot for at that time, & difficult to process the 110 catridge & expensive processing fees, but the size was small...just like this camera...just another fad.:rolleyes:

Wait, what is the resolution for this camera?

I dont think the camera itself will make the cut,,but the technology integrated to point and shoot, dslrs etc...will make the difference...just my rants,

Wait, what is the resolution for this camera?

1.2 M pixels lor.

in a few months time, my nikon D800E 36 Mps will eat this camera for breakfast and split it out. In fact will eat all camera. My first nikon, coming from canon. I piss at canon 21MP to 22 Mp in 3 years. Nikon 12 to 36 MP. From zero to hero.

Alamaking said:
If its 1 meg +, then thats crap, knn....

For people who cannot focus properly, 1 meg resolution is quite sufficient. There is also a camera for the blind, in case you are not aware.

[video=youtube_share;nJ9W5TGbanI]http://youtu.be/nJ9W5TGbanI[/video]