• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

44-year-old artist Chen Yi Quan dies less than a year after wife's death, leaves behind 3-year-old son

metanoia

Stupidman

Local artist Chen Yi Quan dies less than a year after wife's death, leaves behind 3-year-old son​

Kelvin Tan at The Tao of Lee Kuan Yew art exhibition in 2017, which he organised and featured in.

1/3
Kelvin Tan at The Tao of Lee Kuan Yew art exhibition in 2017, which he organised and featured in. PHOTO: THE NEW PAPER

Gwenneth Teo
PublishedJan 22, 2026, 04:25pm
UpdatedJan 22, 2026, 04:38pm

Local painter Kelvin Tan, better known by his artist name Chen Yi Quan, has died less than a year after his wife's sudden passing, leaving behind a three-year-old son.

According to his obituary, the 44-year-old artist died on Jan 18, and his wake was held from Jan 19 to Jan 21 at Tse Tho Aum Temple.

The cause of death is unknown.

The news broke as prominent creatives such as Sonny Liew, creator of the award-winning graphic novel The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, began paying tribute to Tan.

Woon Tai Ho, writer and founder of Channel News Asia, called Tan "an artist with a restless spirit and a heart full of dreams".

"You were a gentle soul who sought art in the purest sense," poet and writer Gwee Li Sui wrote.

According to a Facebook post on Jan 21 by the Worker's Party's Yee Jenn Jong, Tan's wife died suddenly from a heart attack in May 2025, leaving Tan "inconsolable".

"Last Saturday, he called to say that he needed to get work urgently. He had an unfortunate brush with the law and was trying to get his life back," wrote Mr Yee, a former Non-Constituency Member of Parliament. "Then, I found ... out today that the very next day, he was no more."

Mr Yee also praised his art style, which blended philosophy and abstract surrealism.

Tan was a self-taught painter who studied at Maris Stella High School before graduating from the National University of Singapore with a degree in psychology. He became a full-time artist in 2015 and studied under Cultural Medallion winner Lim Tze Peng.

Tan is best known for colourful paintings that focus on the relationship between art and spirituality. According to ArtSafe, a local art storage and gallery, his works blended the long and spontaneous strokes of Chinese calligraphy with a modern approach of bright colours and textured surfaces.

hope they have enough insurance payout, CPF and bank savings to pass to the 3yo son .... and his guardian dont makan away these money .... :frown:

So many sheeple younger than 70 years ago already gone but the rest of them just take these died suddenly phenomenon like a norm tells us these sheeple were really not humans.

They don’t even ask a thing about it

IMG_7610.jpeg

tragedy caused by those PCB garbage zhams I see..... 44 years old still so young uplorry liao haiz.....

Local artist Chen Yi Quan dies less than a year after wife's death, leaves behind 3-year-old son​

Kelvin Tan at The Tao of Lee Kuan Yew art exhibition in 2017, which he organised and featured in.

1/3
Kelvin Tan at The Tao of Lee Kuan Yew art exhibition in 2017, which he organised and featured in. PHOTO: THE NEW PAPER

Gwenneth Teo
PublishedJan 22, 2026, 04:25pm
UpdatedJan 22, 2026, 04:38pm

Local painter Kelvin Tan, better known by his artist name Chen Yi Quan, has died less than a year after his wife's sudden passing, leaving behind a three-year-old son.

According to his obituary, the 44-year-old artist died on Jan 18, and his wake was held from Jan 19 to Jan 21 at Tse Tho Aum Temple.

The cause of death is unknown.

The news broke as prominent creatives such as Sonny Liew, creator of the award-winning graphic novel The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, began paying tribute to Tan.

Woon Tai Ho, writer and founder of Channel News Asia, called Tan "an artist with a restless spirit and a heart full of dreams".

"You were a gentle soul who sought art in the purest sense," poet and writer Gwee Li Sui wrote.

According to a Facebook post on Jan 21 by the Worker's Party's Yee Jenn Jong, Tan's wife died suddenly from a heart attack in May 2025, leaving Tan "inconsolable".

"Last Saturday, he called to say that he needed to get work urgently. He had an unfortunate brush with the law and was trying to get his life back," wrote Mr Yee, a former Non-Constituency Member of Parliament. "Then, I found ... out today that the very next day, he was no more."

Mr Yee also praised his art style, which blended philosophy and abstract surrealism.

Tan was a self-taught painter who studied at Maris Stella High School before graduating from the National University of Singapore with a degree in psychology. He became a full-time artist in 2015 and studied under Cultural Medallion winner Lim Tze Peng.

Tan is best known for colourful paintings that focus on the relationship between art and spirituality. According to ArtSafe, a local art storage and gallery, his works blended the long and spontaneous strokes of Chinese calligraphy with a modern approach of bright colours and textured surfaces.
From the report, it seems he killed himself. He was described as a gentle soul and was inconsolable after his wife's death. Artists and creative people are generally more emotion driven.

I suspect so as well. I also have suicide thoughts once in a while but somehow reckon that it's probably not the time yet to go and backtrack.

But aren't you living your best life? Just remember to not do anything stupid!!:eek:

Being a single can get bored sometimes. Work, cycling running swimming and come here post rubbish can be boring when there isn't anyone to share my 酸甜苦辣 days...

@ home, u got haus mate ... travelling overc, u got travel mate ... @ orifice, u got alluring svp ... oso got demure prc orifice cleaner ...

how can u ever b bored? ...

@ home, u got haus mate ... travelling overc, u got travel mate ... @ orifice, u got alluring svp ... oso got demure prc orifice cleaner ...

how can u ever b bored? ...
Housemate left already.
Travelmate has her own life.
SVP left for another overseas posting liao.
Mother having good time and new life with her man in Europe.
I shutter Bkk SG for work. Walking alone in airport seeing happy couples is quite miserable....

Get a pet. I suggest a pet bird or a goldfish. You can talk to them, and they won't argue with you. They are also very low maintenance.

Housemate left already.
Travelmate has her own life.
SVP left for another overseas posting liao.
Mother having good time and new life with her man in Europe.
I shutter Bkk SG for work. Walking alone in airport seeing happy couples is quite miserable....
You can always hire a companion or go for massages with happy ending. A woman-free life is the best, they are a pain in the arse!:biggrin:

Must be vaccine that lead to his wife have sudden heart attack
Most likely. There are so many cases amongst people I know, friends, colleagues, friends' friends, colleagues relatives etc. Yet, the jab still continues without a major study into the safety of these sudden death occurrences.