• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious SG52 Students all Pariah Failures, JC & Schools to Merge as no Elite Stuidents

tun_dr_m

LHL says North & South Koreas to MERGE? Malaysia & Singapore to MERGE also?

170420_moe_jc-locations-map_online_0.jpg

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...ent-numbers-shrink-14-primary-and-6-secondary

4 pairs of JCs to merge as student numbers shrink; 14 primary and 6 secondary schools also affected
(Clockwise, from top left) Serangoon JC will be merging with Anderson JC, Tampines JC will be merging with Meridian JC, Innova JC will be merging with Yishun JC, and Jurong JC will be merging with Pioneer JC.
(Clockwise, from top left) Serangoon JC will be merging with Anderson JC, Tampines JC will be merging with Meridian JC, Innova JC will be merging with Yishun JC, and Jurong JC will be merging with Pioneer JC.ST PHOTOS: DESMOND WEE, LIM YAOHUI, CHEW SENG KIM
Published
1 hour ago
Sandra Davie
Senior Education Correspondent

SINGAPORE - In the latest response to the shrinking number of students, 14 pairs of schools will be merged in 2019 - and for the first time this includes junior colleges.

Serangoon, Tampines, Innova and Jurong JCs will move into Anderson, Meridian, Yishun and Pioneer respectively, cutting the number of JCs from 23 to 19. Seven pairs of primary schools and three pairs of secondary schools will also be merged in what is the biggest merger exercise in two decades.

The Education Ministry (MOE) explained that it needed to merge schools due to Singapore's declining birth rate. It said in the case of a few JCs involved in this merger exercise, the intakes could fall to as low as 200 or 300 over the next few years.

In the late-eighties to early-nineties, there were around 50,000 births each year. But between 1993 and 2002, this fell about 20 per cent from about 49,000 to 39,000. JC intake is now expected to drop by a fifth, going from 16,000 in 2010 to 12,800 in 2019.

But the ministry gave the assurance that despite the mergers, there will be space for every student who qualifies for JC. MOE also stressed that no teachers will lose their jobs. Those affected will join the merged schools with their bigger cohort of students, or be redeployed to other schools or the ministry headquarters.

To minimise the impact on students, the four junior colleges which will fold into others in 2019 will not take in a fresh cohort of JC1 students next year (2018). This means students will not have to move in 2019, while the current cohort will complete their A-level studies at the same school.
Related Story
2019 school mergers: 7 things to know
Related Story
Falling birth rate hits home with news of JCs merging

Mindful of the sentiments of the alumni, MOE said the history and heritage of schools which will move will be passed down to future cohorts, and marked at a dedicated heritage space at the merged schools. The names of the merged schools will be announced at a later date.

MOE explained that the schools slated for merger were picked based on various factors on top of falling enrolment. For example, MOE also took into account their location.

In the case of JCs it was important to maintain a good spread of such schools across the country. Hence two junior colleges not offering the integrated programme were selected from each region - west, north, north-east and east - to form a merger pair. Accessibility and quality of infrastructure were also considered.

MOE said that unless action was taken, falling cohort numbers might make it unviable for some schools to offer a broader range of educational programmes and co-curricular activities to match varied interests.

Siglap Secondary, which was merged with Coral this year, for instance, was unable to continue with its Red Cross unit and badminton CCA due to its decreasing cohort size. Fewer students also mean a less vibrant learning environment.

The mergers will help the school achieve a "critical mass", and increase ways for students to collaborate, and expand their CCA and learning options.

Changes in population demographics across different estates also result in an uneven distribution of students across primary and secondary schools, MOE pointed out.

As Primary 1 demand in mature estates fall, schools have to be merged. But in newer estates, new schools may be needed.

Last year, three new primary schools were opened in Punggol. And to meet the high demand for school places in Sengkang, Fern Green Primary will open next year.

Last year, MOE also announced the merger of 22 secondary schools.
Related Stories:

As I suspected, only the lousiest schools are affected. So from this list, we can tell which JCs are the worst. Luckily, my kids are studying in the top schools and hence, not affected by school mergers and closures. Send your kids for more tuition classes so that they can go to the best schools in Singapore.

This call hostile takeover, merge what merge. Anyhow say. Takeover school teachers reallocate to an empty room with no chairs in MOE HQ.

They started building so many sub-standard JC to "pull wool" over the eyes of the stupid sheep, who voted for them, that, they are providing their kids a chance to go JC...

Isn't the move, so glaring that, you have to be daft, not to notice....there are no mergers or redundancy for the Top Notch Junior Colleges, for example NJC, AJC etc...merge these!

kryonlight

The blame falls squarely on rich towkays like JohnTan for not producing more children. JohnTan and his wife should have created at least a dozen kids to fill in the schools. PAP should implement a law that demands rich Singaporeans to produce or adopt children according to a quota based on their income or else their CPF monies will be forfeited proportionally to the shortfall.

Kids are expensive to raise. Two is enough for me.

kryonlight

Kids are expensive to raise. Two is enough for me.

That's why PAP must implement laws that will prevent rich towkays like you from deserting their social responsibilities to maintain the sinkie population. A dozen kids is the minimum quota for you and your wife.

fupikee

That's why PAP must implement laws that will prevent rich towkays like you from deserting their social responsibilities to maintain the sinkie population. A dozen kids is the minimum quota for you and your wife.

Well said...

.....some piggy is trying to evade social responsibility....aargh....aarghhh......eeeeee....:(

Capano2121

Used to enjoy going to TPJC for rugby friendly's back in the late 80s, thereafter roti john. Everything change! SAD SAD WORLD! The Singapore i grew up in is fast disappearing & getting very unfamiliar!

Falling birth rate hits home with news of JCs merging
Changes in population demographics across different estates also result in an uneven distribution of students across primary and secondary schools, MOE pointed out.

What a fucking lie!

Pioneer JC built in 1999, Meridian JC in 2003 and Innova in 2005. You-know-yah started this year?

And then Secondary schools were allowed to start Senior High aka Pre-U sections: Dunman High in 2005, River Valley High followed suit in 2006, ACS Independent in 2008 and SJI in 2013.

And you have specialised independent schools were set up that have Pre-U sections, with NUS High School of Math and Science in 2005, SOTA in 2008.

With Sing Stats checking on population figures year in year out, you're tell us that you can't see the population decline coming from a mile away?

All these Pre-U and JC set up over the last decade or so in spite of clear demographic change. You telling me there's a baby boom in the late 80s and 90s that warrants 4 new JCs and Pre-U sections? And what the fuck is PS21 doing? Is this section active in PMO?

AhNehs

after merging, got a lot of empty land to sell to developers to build more 99 year hdb flats or better still sell to developers at high bid.. huat ah!

Some teachers will have to go back to teaching secondary or even primary school. :(

Step 1 is to weed out the non-UniGrads... Step 2 is to weed out the dead wood... Step 3 is allowing secondary teachers to filter down to primary, and finally the JC teachers filter down to secondary schools... JC teachers wouldn't like primary students that much... profile tak match.

TerrexLee

Massive Schools Merging Exercise 2019: A Flurry of Internet Responses

A rumor brewing for several months became a reality on 20 April 2017 when the Ministry of Education announced that come 2019, 28 schools will be merged; for the first time this includes 8 junior colleges being coalesced into 4 surviving institutions of pre-university learning. It certainly got folks on the internet discussing excitedly, with much of the online chatter observed to be focusing on the fate of the affected junior colleges.

Some analyzed/questioned the rationale behind the schools being cannibalized, others were a tad critical of why top-tier JCs like Raffles Institution and Hwa Chong Institution remained unscathed. Existing students and alumni members of the affected schools were also perplexed as to why some combined entities are scheduled to migrate to seemingly more run-down campuses. While MOE has maintained that the mergers were based on geographical proximity considerations in an attempt to ensure a healthy spread of schools across the country, not all are convinced. One thing is almost for sure though: steadily declining birth rates certainly compelled the ministry to take action, however unwilling it felt. Aggregated below are a series of opinions served up by Singaporeans in various forums such as Kiasu Parents and Reddit, as well as social media avenues including Facebook.

By Catmoon:

"Don't really understand MOE's move.......... ?

If the reason was truthfully all about "falling enrollment", then why start another new JC (i.e. Eunoia) if there are not enough students? Surely they had done their homework earlier????

Editor's Note: Eunoia Junior College is an Integrated Program JC, whose machinations are different from the merged JCs which typically accept 'O' Levels students.

But I have to say it was clever of MOE to put a stop to "appeals" and then turnaround and put the blame on "falling enrollments".

I assume that they are really serious about cutting down the number of students going on to universities. Unless they are going to force the universities (besides SIT) to open up more spaces for poly graduates - which would definitely be good news indeed.

I guess in the future, JCs will become even more elitist than before - since there will be fewer students taking the 'A' Levels.

The smarter students will have more doors open to them (more places in Integrated Program JCs) but the average students will find it much harder to receive the same opportunities and resources.

I wonder if this will result in more average students falling through the ever-widening education gap?"

By CaptainOmen:

"Merging of JCs due to declining birthrate but can open Eunoia JC (IP & SAP schools are affiliated). Hmmmm, would love to see how MOE explains its way out of this without acknowledging elitism. Plus, why not wait for the merger and then convert a vacant school into Eunoia? Save $$$"

By dentedwing:

"Why is Innova going to Yishun??? I don't really mind a merger, I'm just shocked that we are moving into YJC when IJC's school building is so much newer..."

To which AsianTeen concurs:

Even people here in YJC are baffled by this announcement. I went to IJC for a band exchange yesterday and your school is way newer and much more spacious than mine; in comparison and our school's facilities are so much older, classrooms rather poorly ventilated. Utterly shocked."

zathralos offers a possible explanation:

"Innovian here, my teacher told me that YJC's lecture theatre(~800) are much bigger than ours(~600), that's why its more feasible to conduct lectures there to comfortably accommodate the larger number of students."

A whole damn lot more at http://www.domainofexperts.com/2017/04/massive-schools-merging-exercise-2019.html , copy and paste till my hands want to break.

Step 1 is to weed out the non-UniGrads... Step 2 is to weed out the dead wood... Step 3 is allowing secondary teachers to filter down to primary, and finally the JC teachers filter down to secondary schools... JC teachers wouldn't like primary students that much... profile tak match.

The dead wood can become grassloot leaders. :biggrin:

Bwahahahahahahaa... let's all take the SAT & IB instead :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

sat and ib are also outdated, useless and easily mastered (hacked) for maximum results. public schooling should be about gathering young minds, identifying genius from a bunch of morons, sifting the exceptional ones out, and placing them in x-men institutions, specially designed to train and groom prodigies, savants, and geniuses into productive innovators of tomorrow. rest of the "ordinary" kids can fly kites and catch spiders. until now, the world, civilizations and advancements in history are resting upon shoulders of the few geniuses. rest are just a bunch of unenlightened freeloaders and useless yet demanding passengers getting a free ride. we are all back to square one before the stone age or worse, total extinction, if our top brainiacs do not figure a way out of this single node planetary failure conundrum. everything we know and achieve as a human species over millions of years will just go kaput when this planet meets its fate from the next mother of all asteroid. it's cyclical over geologic time, we know it, there's evidence, and we can't do anything about it. when i was 6.9 years old, this conundrum already perplexed me to no end. i'm still being haunted by it. and here we are....sinkies kpkb and preoccupied with schools merging. wtf?!

i'm still being haunted by it. and here we are....sinkies kpkb and preoccupied with schools merging. wtf?!

Till now you haven't got it, have you? The very moment your dad had 69 thrusts into your mum, you're destined to die. Even for those who did not achieve 69 thrusts, they were destined to die. Every single living organism shall eat, shit, fuck a bit, die. Don't die a virgin, terrorists up there waiting for you.