• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pres Nathan: Please believe me, I have tried my best

SNAblog

Do you agree?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/nathan-not-running-president-075719496.html

lapres.jpg

President Nathan: I have tried to do my best

By Alicia Wong | SingaporeScene – 4 hours ago

If he had fallen short of Singaporeans' expectations, it was not for lack of trying, said President S R Nathan on Friday.

Announcing his decision not to seek a re-election, Mr Nathan said he had "tried to do my best as Head of State in all my duties" and "sought public support for various social causes".

"If I have fallen short, I would like the people of Singapore to know that this has not been for lack of effort or commitment. I have tried to do my best."

However, the President acknowledged, "No doubt I have earned my fair share of criticism. Anyone who takes on public responsibilities has to expect that."

"I have taken such comments -- whether made directly or via social media -- as made in good conscience and well-intended," he said in a two-page statement.

Explaining his decision not to seek a third term in office, Mr Nathan, who turns 87 in a few days, said, "At this stage of my life, I do not believe I can undertake indefinitely the heavy responsibilities and physical demands of the position of Head of State."

He will step down when his terms ends on 31 August 2011.

Pointing to a future with a set of different, but equally substantial, challenges facing Singapore's leaders, Mr Nathan urged, "We must all be responsive to constructive criticism."

Be it in the President' office or in government, there is a need for people of strong character and vision, and who resist populist pressures and temptation to sacrifice the Republic's long-term interest in response to those who "merely snipe without having to take responsibility", he said.

While noting the "varied" perceptions people may have on the powers of the Elected President, Mr Nathan, who is the sixth President of Singapore, said, "Ultimately the welfare of our country and people depends upon the way Singapore is governed and administered."

"That depends in turn upon the qualities of men and women elected by the people to Parliament and on those who take up office in the government," he said.

"I believe that if those who serve in the government or any other area of public administration meet the demands of their office to the best of their ability, and if they show wisdom and integrity in looking after the interests of Singapore, we can ask for no more."

Terming his service as Singapore's President "an hounour", Mr Nathan said, "To Singaporeans regardless or race, religion or social status, I owe an eternal debt for the opportunity to do so."

Admitting his difficulty in putting to words the affection and kindness he's experienced from Singaporeans, he said, he has been 'privileged".

"I will cherish the memory of my association with them and the deep affection they showered on my wife and me."

With Mr Nathan out of the contest, this leaves Presidential hopefuls Dr Tony Tan, Tan Kin Lian and Dr Tan Cheng Bock in the running for the Presidency, should all of them be given the certificate of eligibility.

In a statement, former deputy prime minister Tony Tan said, "President S R Nathan has served all Singaporeans well. His time in office will be remembered as one of wisdom and compassion."

"I join Singaporeans in thanking President Nathan for his steadfast commitment to duty," he said.

Mr Nathan was first sworn in on 1 September 1999 and again, in 2005. Both times he did not face contest.

Earlier in June, Mr Nathan indicated that his age would be factor in his decision on whether he would run for the Presidency this year.

Among the initiatives he embarked on as President, he started the President's Challenge. His memoirs on the duties and role of the President is expected to be released in September.

Mr Nathan succeeded the fifth President of Singapore Ong Teng Cheong. Now, who will be succeeding him?

:o

<embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/NRTJ4zYMeFo?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="510" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

buzzlightyear

Do you agree?

lapres.jpg

How OLD is Ramanathan? He looks good for his age. Most people his age are very spotty, he is only a little spotty, only a few old man spots on his face. Too bad about that tummy and that white hair. Hairline is receding but looks like he will keep most of his hair. Can't see any blackheads on his nose...overall very well-maintained.

Boom, two thumbs up for this well-preserved specimen!

Windsor

In any top corporations, if you are so highly paid and you tried and fall short of expectations, then your head will roll.

I am surprise that he admitted it after 12 years of trying. He had an easy time despite being a failure.

buzzlightyear

What are you ranting about you asshole. Ramanathan is a well-preserved specimen. Top 1%. Look at that straight back and relatively unspotty skin. I think he hasn't had any pacemaker installed yet, his heart is PUMPING BY ITSELF! THIS IS A TOP MARE!

K

Keiji Maeda

Fuck! Pea brainer like me can't even spell Beging, dissaprove, awlays, feaces-brained, lowlifes, macdondalds, Girodano, accomodation, correctly and i got the audacity to tell people off here. Sigh.. :p

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

buzzlightyear

Compare TOP MARE Nathan with this LOUSY MARE below. They are of the same age but this one below is already bent, shivering and looks like her bones will break if she jumps. Too much lice, melamine and herbal tea. Bad diet. Too much Qigong practice at 7am means too much Qi inside her, might burst anytime, look at that arse and the water retention in her ankles! Which one will you adopt as a pet? No brainer, isn't it! Boom, Prez Nathan, for the win!

oldwoman3jpg1276655168034-data.jpg

K

Kanetsugu Naoe

Now that everyone knows that I am a pea brain juvenile delinquent school drop out, let's examine if my life have changed for the better. When i wake up tomorrow morning, i will still have the following traits:

Ball-less in real life
Behaves like chow ah beng
Continue to be sexually abused by old men
Speaks disgusting Singlish
Lives in pigeonhole HDB with another 20 banglas
Internet is my boasting/ranting space
Takes MRT, buses, like No Porn Lui all in the name of wayang
Wears T-shirt, bermuda, and flip flop in posh places
Can't spell correctly

In short, my life's still FUCKED UP AS HELL
:(:(:(

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

>Terming his service as Singapore's President "an hounour", Mr Nathan said, "To Singaporeans regardless or race, religion or social status, I owe an eternal debt for the opportunity to do so.">

I just farted!

what did prata man do?? I cannot recall one thing. yeah, he did not pardon the man who was hanged.

kenstone101

Ever remember 1 nite on cab passby Istana, being waved by TP to stop, then a white luxury state car dashed out from back gate. thot some VIP going do do something veri important. also travel same way back to home at farrar park, so cab followed behind white car escort with TP lah, then actually found out is white luxury car rushing to MUTHU Curry fishhead la

hairylee

>Terming his service as Singapore's President "an hounour", Mr Nathan said, "To Singaporeans regardless or race, religion or social status, I owe an eternal debt for the opportunity to do so.">

I just farted!

He farted through his mouth like all PAP dogs.