• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Saying Please and Thank You not in the vocabulary of an India Indian

Despite all the years of British Raj, I don't think they shared the words "Please" and "Thank You" with Indians.

Is it me or does it happen to most people. You can hold the door to let them thru, you can give them directions, you can answer their questions but you will never hear a word of thanks or even a nod to acknowledge that you had helped them. There are exceptions of course but generally know.

Their ladies are the worst. Cutting queue seems to be cultural trait and we are dealing with many of them that have come from the US and UK and have raised their kids who accents clearly indicate their time spent there.

We should seriously consider sending them for some sort of orientation prior to admission and maybe a deposit for good behaviour.

Its coming to a stage where it is quite unbearable. I am sure we have made many strides over many moons but all these seems to have been quickly eroded by uncouth people.

groinroot

Very true scroobal. In fact a Tamil friend of mine screwed an India Indian a few months ago. He was at the Lavender MRT station when the scum approached him and just mumbled 'where mustapha?' Realizing that he was asking directions to Mustapha Departmenta store in Syed Alwi Road, my friend gave him the directions. The scum just turned around and started walking. Irritated my friend called him and gave him an earful on manners. The scum left looking sheepishly.

I had an encounter. This time it was at a food court in Sengkang. I was seated alone enjoying my tea. Along came a India Indian and a woman, presumably his wife. They sat in the table next to mine. There was a soiled plate on the table awaiting clearance. The woman just took the plate and shoved it onto my table. I told her off. The man came to her defence, saying that the space in front of me was empty and therefore she had the right to put the dirty plate there. I raised my voice and told him that she could have put the plate at any of the empty tables a few feet away and not in front of me. Hearing the commotion the cleaner took the plate away and the India Indian and the woman left muttering and throwing dirty glances at me.

Another undesirable trait of these foreign Indians is their penchance to push prams with kids in crowded areas. It appears to me that their sole purpose for being in Singapore is to make babies, register their birth in Singapore and push their babies along Singapore roads, especially in Tekka area. Ask any Indian if he can ever push a pram in Indian ciities. The answer is a strong NO. They do it in Singapore just to send photographs of their pram pushing to their folks back home in India so that they can boast to their neighbours and relatives that they are living a wonderful life in Singapore.

Agree with you Mr Scroobal..

Had a bad experience once with this Indian tourist that I encountered back in 2007..

I was in Queen St waiting for my friend.. then an Indian tourist came up to me and asked me for direction to Bugis MRT in an arrogant manner... Feeling pissed off by his Maharaja like attitude, I purposely pointed to him towards Sungei Rd and lied to him that he'll find Bugis MRT there... This bloody prick then walked off in a jiffy without saying thanks to me..

These India Indians are totally incorrigible!

QXD

I find that Singaporeans too have to share some of the blame. Most complain about "how rude" the foreigners (China/India etc) are, but my observations on Singaporeans are that they mostly avoid eye contact in dealing with people and many, (and I mean a majority) even when saying "please" or "thank you", say it in a tone that often sounds dismissive, forced or grudging.

My point is, Singaporeans should be more assertive in their dealings with other, but in the same vein, do not misconstrue assertiveness as being "aggressive" or belligerent. It means putting forth a gracious, confident image, say what you mean and mean what you say with a smile.

Ever since I've gotten used to living amongst Aussies, I go back to Singapore and most of the time, no matter who and what the situation, I don't have a problem with many people, foreign or local. I smile, I maintain eye contact, I say my pleases and thank-yous. Most of them, tired of often having to face overly demanding customers, seem to treat me well and have an extra spring in their step when dealing with me.

I must say there was an exception, there was a medical technician, who was acting like a little tyrant in a polyclinic ordering people around, likely because he thought he could get away fooling people that he was a Doctor with his white lab coat.

When it came to my turn, I tested him, I asked asked in my sweetest smile and gentlest voice if I could first use the toilet before starting because I had issues with my bladder. To my excitement, he fell into my trap, he raised his voice at me a said, "don't waste my time, I got many people to see, you can see my nurse and make appointment to see me another day"

Famous last words.

A few seconds of silence as I kept eye contact and slowly changed my expression from a smile to a simmering fury. Never in my life have I seen a person suddenly so morbidly frightened. I looked at his badge, looked at him again and yelled from my 183cm frame into his 160cm face, I demanded to speak to his supervisor, I demanded to see his head of department, failing which I demanded my money back and threatened to make it my mission to get him sacked.

You should have seen all the staff running towards us trying to quell the commotion. I was offered profuse apologies from someone whom I think was of senior rank and ended up having a nice chat with him. At the end I asked politely that the technician apologise to me personally for his "poor service attitude".

Of course he did.

After all that hoo-ha, I strode into my appointment with a smile on my face, ushered all the way like a VIP by his senior. When I came out, I saw the same man, looking meekly at floor the moment I glanced at him and not even a shadow of his previous self.

Moral of the story: If you get poor service even when you have been at your most gracious, take ownership of the problem and resolve it, don't KPKB here in Sammyboy or be a bigger pussy and take videos to post on STOMP.

No foreigner will respect us Singaporeans if you get pushed around by them and end up running away with your tail between your legs, only to find an outlet to vent your frustration when the insult to you has already occurred.

So, take a page from the Aussies that many Stinkies perceive as racist; Stand up and fight your own battles, that is the way a Singaporean will teach any foreigner that it is YOUR Country, YOUR RULES.

Either they adapt and become more Singaporean, or they can damn well go back to where they came from.

Its a funny culture, the women are the worse and the men coming in to defend them. I understand from friends who are teachers that they are a nightmare to the school authorities. Even before their kids come into school, they call up to volunteer and impose themselves giving advice and instructions as though they are some authority.

I had an encounter. This time it was at a food court in Sengkang. I was seated alone enjoying my tea. Along came a India Indian and a woman, presumably his wife. They sat in the table next to mine. There was a soiled plate on the table awaiting clearance. The woman just took the plate and shoved it onto my table. I told her off. The man came to her defence, saying that the space in front of me was empty and therefore she had the right to put the dirty plate there. I raised my voice and told him that she could have put the plate at any of the empty tables a few feet away and not in front of me. Hearing the commotion the cleaner took the plate away and the India Indian and the woman left muttering and throwing dirty glances at me.

Another undesirable trait of these foreign Indians is their penchance to push prams with kids in crowded areas. It appears to me that their sole purpose for being in Singapore is to make babies, register their birth in Singapore and push their babies along Singapore roads, especially in Tekka area. Ask any Indian if he can ever push a pram in Indian ciities. The answer is a strong NO. They do it in Singapore just to send photographs of their pram pushing to their folks back home in India so that they can boast to their neighbours and relatives that they are living a wonderful life in Singapore.

Guys

Looks like we are all have similar issues. Here are some additional comments. Looks like their women folk create these little fluffs and their men come to their rescue. I heard that Prams are pushed into buses in the UK and US where there is space set aside and they are seldom full. These people can't see the difference and seem that it can fit in a crowded bus.

Agree with QXD. In their eyes we are meek and therefore weak and they can climb all over us. I have seen it with Ang Mos. May be it would be better to have courses for Singaporeans on how to stand their ground, be assertive and at the same time be kind and considerate.

sirus

I must say this, I don't think singaporeans will go to any host country and demand for this and that. These nehs are really from outer space. Anyone would like to comment why the aussies like to go whacking them. The world knows about this.

Guys

Looks like we are all have similar issues. Here are some additional comments. Looks like their women folk create these little fluffs and their men come to their rescue. I heard that Prams are pushed into buses in the UK and US where there is space set aside and they are seldom full. These people can't see the difference and seem that it can fit in a crowded bus.

Agree with QXD. In their eyes we are meek and therefore weak and they can climb all over us. I have seen it with Ang Mos. May be it would be better to have courses for Singaporeans on how to stand their ground, be assertive and at the same time be kind and considerate.

Don't think their behaviour is acceptable even in India. Alot of inter personnel problems in that country.

I remember reading faxes of complaints from the indian office directed to the bosses in Spore. Made for very interesting reading :smile:

We still use faxes when communicating with India because the internet cabling in India is very unreliable. Even when sending faxes sometimes need to be patient.

There is book called the "the Agrgumentative Indian" by their own Nobel Laurette Amritya Sen who is a renown economist. My understanding is that are lot of infighting to climb up the letter or retain their position. Too many overqualified people.

Its their manners that is killing me. I also found out that these guys avoid our local Indians and get very uncomfortable in their company.

One local Indian told me that their system has the mother in law controlling the home and therefore the daughter in law goes wild outside, throwing her weight around.

Don't think their behaviour is acceptable even in India. Alot of inter personnel problems in that country.

I remember reading faxes of complaints from the indian office directed to the bosses in Spore. Made for very interesting reading :smile:

We still use faxes when communicating with India because the internet cabling in India is very unreliable. Even when sending faxes sometimes need to be patient.

I remember this comment from an NUH doctor thus a second posting on it. He told me that when NUH first opened up to FTs, it was Aussie and Kiwi lab chaps, radiographers, sonographers etc. They wore their lab coats unbuttoned and took it out when they left their lab similar to what the locals were doing.

The Indians eventually came and the lab coat went with them all the way to work and home. Never took it off. Fully buttoned.

He said that they were very conscious of their status and every bit helped.
My point is, Singaporeans should be more assertive in their dealings with other, but in the same vein, do not misconstrue assertiveness as being "aggressive" or belligerent. It means putting forth a gracious, confident image, say what you mean and mean what you say with a smile.
I must say there was an exception, there was a medical technician, who was acting like a little tyrant in a polyclinic ordering people around, likely because he thought he could get away fooling people that he was a Doctor with his white lab coat.

When it came to my turn, I tested him, I asked asked in my sweetest smile and gentlest voice if I could first use the toilet before starting because I had issues with my bladder. To my excitement, he fell into my trap, he raised his voice at me a said, "don't waste my time, I got many people to see, you can see my nurse and make appointment to see me another day"

Famous last words.

A few seconds of silence as I kept eye contact and slowly changed my expression from a smile to a simmering fury. Never in my life have I seen a person suddenly so morbidly frightened. I looked at his badge, looked at him again and yelled from my 183cm frame into his 160cm face, I demanded to speak to his supervisor, I demanded to see his head of department, failing which I demanded my money back and threatened to make it my mission to get him sacked.

You should have seen all the staff running towards us trying to quell the commotion. I was offered profuse apologies from someone whom I think was of senior rank and ended up having a nice chat with him. At the end I asked politely that the technician apologise to me personally for his "poor service attitude".

Of course he did.

After all that hoo-ha, I strode into my appointment with a smile on my face, ushered all the way like a VIP by his senior. When I came out, I saw the same man, looking meekly at floor the moment I glanced at him and not even a shadow of his previous self.

Moral of the story: If you get poor service even when you have been at your most gracious, take ownership of the problem and resolve it, don't KPKB here in Sammyboy or be a bigger pussy and take videos to post on STOMP.

No foreigner will respect us Singaporeans if you get pushed around by them and end up running away with your tail between your legs, only to find an outlet to vent your frustration when the insult to you has already occurred.

So, take a page from the Aussies that many Stinkies perceive as racist; Stand up and fight your own battles, that is the way a Singaporean will teach any foreigner that it is YOUR Country, YOUR RULES.

Either they adapt and become more Singaporean, or they can damn well go back to where they came from.

One local Indian told me that their system has the mother in law controlling the home and therefore the daughter in law goes wild outside, throwing her weight around.

Didn't know that:eek:
Always thought that the male was the king of the household & the females the victims of forced marriages :rolleyes:

That's usually what I see in indian movies:o

tuagu

very true. if you realise their body language : its always arms folded macam like you owe them an answer to their help for directions. and they never say thank you not show any gratitude. i ganna at least 3 times aready. what is worse is that after giving them directions, they will ask another local , in front of you, for the same direction, like as if you are bluffing them.

and, another of their trick is that when got empty seat, they will out of false courtesy ask you if you want to seat : taking advantage of the local trait of paiseh. so nowsaday i will take the seat and say thank you, with a smile.

kingrant

Haha..spot on bro. I see many of these Brahmin vermins in Sengkang and Punggol too! Not only that, the prams are usaully the biggest ones they can find. With most probably, aged father, mother in tow.

Another undesirable trait of these foreign Indians is their penchance to push prams with kids in crowded areas. It appears to me that their sole purpose for being in Singapore is to make babies, register their birth in Singapore and push their babies along Singapore roads, especially in Tekka area.

Despite all the years of British Raj, I don't think they shared the words "Please" and "Thank You" with Indians.

Is it me or does it happen to most people. You can hold the door to let them thru, you can give them directions, you can answer their questions but you will never hear a word of thanks or even a nod to acknowledge that you had helped them. There are exceptions of course but generally know.

Not forgetting "excuse me" and "sorry" of course.
The next time an Indian "FT" asks me something in their usual rude manner, I'm telling him to do a google search. After all, that's the answer we usually get from their so-called IT "specialists".

Zenra2OO3

I remember this comment from an NUH doctor thus a second posting on it. He told me that when NUH first opened up to FTs, it was Aussie and Kiwi lab chaps, radiographers, sonographers etc. They wore their lab coats unbuttoned and took it out when they left their lab similar to what the locals were doing.

The Indians eventually came and the lab coat went with them all the way to work and home. Never took it off. Fully buttoned.

He said that they were very conscious of their status and every bit helped.

YUCK! That is freaking unhygienic. Lab coats are reservoirs for germs and microbes. They took it home? Maybe our medical council should screen them for hygiene practices before letting them practise.

They probably used it to wipe their arseholes too.

Screwball my hero!

Wah finally you started a thread on the kelings. Yup no please no thank you.

Although it's a bit on the slow side and pretty obvious but any thread started on their behavior is always welcome.

I looked at his badge, looked at him again and yelled from my 183cm frame into his 160cm face, I demanded to speak to his supervisor, I demanded to see his head of department, failing which I demanded my money back and threatened to make it my mission to get him sacked.

Of course he did.

Bro you're 183 cm leh. While he's so much smaller than you.

QXD

Does it matter? I give respect when respect is due. I've gone through much in life working with shorter people, bosses and all.

I just have an intense dislike towards those that act tough when they have no basis to.

Bro you're 183 cm leh. While he's so much smaller than you.