• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee new year message - 'select only good foreigners'

†††††

Hold on to core values amid changes: PM Lee
Govt 'will manage pace of change to keep sense of belonging'
By Li Xueying, Political Correspondent

AS THE world changes, so too must Singapore.

But even as the country keeps reinventing itself to keep up with global developments, Singaporeans must hold fast to certain constants - their core values, Asian heritage and 'the national spirit' to overcome crises together, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

In his Chinese New Year message, where he traditionally also focuses on the importance of family togetherness, Mr Lee took stock of some hot-button issues that concern Singaporeans.

Some 'feel a sense of dislocation and unfamiliarity' amid the rapid changes.

While there are physical improvements such as the new Marina Bay skyline and upgraded housing estates, society is also changing on a more intangible level.

Younger Singaporeans have different attitudes and aspirations, he observed.

Also, the population has been augmented with a good number of new immigrants, he said, referring to the influx of foreigners in recent years.

Acknowledging that there has been some unease with these trends, he said that while Singapore cannot stay static, the Government 'will manage the pace of change so that we keep our bearings, sense of place and sense of belonging'.

It is important to hold fast to core attributes, he said.

'This means we have to preserve a Singaporean core in our society. We need immigrants to reinforce our ranks, but we must maintain a clear majority of local-born Singaporeans who set the tone of our society and uphold our core values and ethos.

'We are managing the inflow of foreigners who want to live and work here. Many want to become permanent residents and new citizens, but we will only select those who can add value to Singapore.'

Mr Lee did not specify the ideal proportion, but residents born in Singapore now make up 57.3 per cent of the population.

Meanwhile, Singaporeans also need to have enough babies to replace themselves. It has been 'extremely challenging' getting them to do so, he said, noting that the total fertility rate last year slid to a nadir of 1.16.

'I hope more couples will start or add to their families in the Year of the Rabbit,' he said. 'Chinese New Year is the time for families to come together in celebration, and more babies can only mean more joy in the years to come.'

In transmitting values and culture, Singaporeans also must keep their mother tongues alive, he said.

'Our bilingual education policy has helped to make us a global city and yet kept us an Asian society,' he said.

Thus, updating the teaching of mother tongue languages helps keep it current and effective. Measures such as focusing on interactive communication skills 'will help a new generation to use their mother tongue languages freely in a changing language environment', he added.

The community also has a role to play, Mr Lee said, noting the efforts of groups like clan associations and the Business China networking group to promote the use of Mandarin and preserve traditions. The Government encourages such efforts, as well as similar initiatives of the Malay and Indian communities.

Mr Lee was upbeat about the economy, noting that it 'roared in the Year of the Tiger'. Last year's growth was a record 14.7 per cent.

'The momentum is carrying into the Year of the Rabbit. Our prospects are good, boosted by robust growth in Asia and strong investment flows into Singapore,' he said.

But risks remain in the global economy, especially in the United States and Europe.

However, he noted that confidence in Singapore's economy, along with global monetary conditions, had the effect of driving up property prices - a key concern of Singaporeans.

Recent data showed that the bottom 20 per cent of households suffered disproportionately from higher housing prices. The Government has acted to cool the market, he said, but added that more would be done if necessary: 'We will keep housing affordable to Singaporeans, especially public housing.'

On the rise in prices on the back of inflation, he reiterated that the Government will strive to mitigate the impact in this year's Budget.

'After a good year last year, the Government has more scope to implement schemes to help Singaporeans cope with rising costs, especially lower-income households,' he said.

[email protected]

kingrant

Adding value; value can be viewed and defined in many ways. What value? How? In which areas? Are there sectors of the economy that the govt is thinking about? Or just getting the GDP figures up by hook or by crook? Left undefined and ambiguous, we might as well not have any limits.

NoelVermillion

PM Lee himself is the one responsible for letting in immigrants without any value. Thanks to them, crime rate seems to have risen. ICA must be quite cock-eyed while choosing immigrants.

†††††

PM Lee himself is the one responsible for letting in immigrants without any value. Thanks to them, crime rate seems to have risen. ICA must be quite cock-eyed while choosing immigrants.
that the scary part, they only use their cock eye to scan, never checking the criminal records with the respective country

NoelVermillion

that the scary part, they only use their cock eye to scan, never checking the criminal records with the respective country
They do not even check whether these FT "qualifications" are even real. :rolleyes:
The criminal records of FT (from third-world nations) can always be modified and erased. :wink:

peterpan777

Adding value; value can be viewed and defined in many ways. What value? How? In which areas? Are there sectors of the economy that the govt is thinking about? Or just getting the GDP figures up by hook or by crook? Left undefined and ambiguous, we might as well not have any limits.

1. Is bring down the singaprean salary is consider adding value to singapore?

2. If they really got value, then, why the job credit include also the PR? Their value could justify their job not getting singapore reserve to help them.

theblackhole

good speech and good substances may not be translated into reality....

we have seen what happend in the last two years when FTs flooded our shores from Joo Chiat to the heartlands...it was sheer insanity...

we don't know what will happen after the GE.........will the flood get worse???

batman1

good speech and good substances may not be translated into reality....

we have seen what happend in the last two years when FTs flooded our shores from Joo Chiat to the heartlands...it was sheer insanity...

we don't know what will happen after the GE.........will the flood get worse???

To stop the mad flow of foreigners and also to save yourelf,vote for the opposition !

theblackhole

To stop the mad flow of foreigners and also to save yourelf,vote for the opposition !

opposition? where are they ? so quiet and so divided....when nomination day comes, i wonder whether we have enough opposition left.........so far so quiet....so many factions : confusing....

they better organise themselves and come up with something the singaporeans can identify with otherwise it will be another grand walk-over....another 5 years....another RISE AND RISE.......

Windsor

They had been saying the exact opposite for many years and now he says this? The reality on the ground we know is different to the rhetoric as there had been no selection at all. What he is saying is "read my lips, after GE I will be deaf to all frogs." If politicians can be sincere, then pigs too can fly.

Mr Lee - how about plans to improve the "quality" of the Singaporeans? Based on your theory, its like a soccer team bringing imports of the quality like Torres, then ultimately the team will comprise of foreign players- what about the local players?

Sure, your team will win trophies but the local players will never get to play. And then you go and say - look, local players are not on par with foreign players - using this to bring more foreigners in. And the vicious cycle goes on.

You subscribed to your daddy's theory that all humans are not born equal and therefore we should not treat them as equal?

theblackhole

i think we will continue to suffer lah....even before the GE, they're already so confident to tell you about proposed transport hike and ERP gantries....and so on....healthcare cost will rise...medisave will increase....and fees will go up....this will go up...that will go up....salaries will remain stagnant......and so on and so on..

most of them will be returned unopposed...the mindset will be the same...the policies will not change....and the target will always be to make money...and to make more money...no ministry must lose money...it must be self-sustaining and self-supporting....even AVA and NEA cannot lose money...you lose money....you exprain or else you go.....

so who will suffer in the end....each ministry wants to look good...wants to look healthy and wants to make money...and each minister wants to shine....to stay on in his job...

so the cycle goes on lor...40 years....another 5 more good golden years...good luck!

Watchman

Sure suffer what .
Singaporeans still brainless like headless chicken .
Paid not enough still don't complain ? Complain about transport, food and house ?

KNNBCCB

EAT

033.jpg

Equalisation

knn ..... for the old and uneducated citizens all jobless :(

even toilet attendants are young prc and sarawakians .....:o

Proof : Golden Mile Food center ...... opposite the sabo rice stall !!:oIo: