• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee disappointed - 70% of Sinkies wont die for each other

†††††

70% of Sinkies wont die for each other - SPH survey

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_627414.html

THIS was the challenge Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew threw to Singaporeans on Friday at the launch of Hard Truths, a new book about his beliefs. And The Straits Times is conducting a poll on this poser (see below).

Mr Lee said Singapore is still a nation in the making, an aspiration and not a reality.

Citing China as an example of a bona fide nation, MM Lee said that China can be 'ravaged, demolished', but the people would invariably come together again to rebuild it. If the same thing happened to Singapore, it may simply fall apart.

'Do not believe we have got there,' he said. 'Will we make it? Am I certain we'll get there? No, I cannot say that. Something can go wrong somewhere, and we'll fall apart.'

The 458-page book, Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going, is based on 16 interviews he gave to Straits Times journalists. Published by Straits Times Press, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Singapore Press Holdings, the book is now available for $39.90 at all major bookstores.

On Friday's launch event at the John Jacob Ballroom, St Regis Singapore, was attended by 160 guests, including diplomats, academics, MPs, captains of industry, and Mr Lee's daughter, Wei Ling.

Read the full report in Saturday's edition of The Straits Times.

Re: 70% of Sinkies wont die for each other - SPH survey

... MM Lee said that China can be 'ravaged, demolished', but the people would invariably come together again to rebuild it. If the same thing happened to Singapore, it may simply fall apart ...
agreed! ...

in sg, u get ze most moni 4 urself 1st ... as exemplified by ze world's greediest politicians ...

Watching a fellow sinkie die an agonising death would be good fun though. 70% of sinkies would enjoy the experience.

Didn't LKY work for the Japanese during WW!!:confused:
I'm sure he saw the uglier side of the Japanese & acts of heroism among Sporeans.

As the world's highest paid politician, why not give other Sporeans a break by cutting your pay & returning the $$$ back to the working poor. Then maybe these people will have some sense of belonging :rolleyes:

giggity_shit

This seems like a veiled way of promoting their book. Every other day they site some lines and mentioned the book title.

Dreamer1

Watching a fellow sinkie die an agonising death would be good fun though. 70% of sinkies would enjoy the experience.
Sam,u failed to understand what wiseman MM LKY did for Spore citizens,he did educate a generation of Sinkies,that can move at will,to any corner of the world,that is credit to him

But the trouble is that he wanted to replace those who cant go anywhere,he has failed to understand there are some Sinkies who can make it on their own and yet do not like it.some are actually righteous!LKY wondered,in his experience,it is all wayang thro' and thro'.you can also compare this to LKY view of Formula One Racing as one bunch of stupid idiots who got nothing useful to do except to waste to raced fast and FOR NOTHING!HeHeHe

To LKY,each man for himself is his motto,thro out his entire life!

Re: 70% of Sinkies wont die for each other - SPH survey

1. the hard truth is that sheepishland is zero and nothing if without its head sheep mah!
2. clueless and cannot do anything without it.
3. must live forever!
4. even sheep's pink sheep cannot leh.

Windsor

Agree, if leaders do not see fit to sacrifice for the country by lowering their obscene pay, he expects Singaporeans to sacrifice their lives?

Didn't LKY work for the Japanese during WW!!:confused:
I'm sure he saw the uglier side of the Japanese & acts of heroism among Sporeans.

As the world's highest paid politician, why not give other Sporeans a break by cutting your pay & returning the $$$ back to the working poor. Then maybe these people will have some sense of belonging :rolleyes:

he had over 4 decades to mould sg into a nation with absolute power, and he almost succeeded in the 80's, barely 20 years after he gained power. but instead of building on that, he went astray and the whole experiment unravelled like a wardrobe malfunction on a naked prostitute. he can't blame sinkies and others for this unravelling; he has only himself to blame. epic fail.

Shiva

This is the culture in sinkieland, he is the one who built it and injected all these selfishness in our mindset.

patrickv

will MM lee be disappointed over the 70% here that want him to die (some want him to die fast, some want him to die painfully).

he had over 4 decades to mould sg into a nation with absolute power, and he almost succeeded in the 80's, barely 20 years after he gained power. but instead of building on that, he went astray and the whole experiment unravelled like a wardrobe malfunction on a naked prostitute. he can't blame sinkies and others for this unravelling; he has only himself to blame. epic fail.

After 45 years and still struggling, need we say more? Kick them out during GE and allow others a chance to succeed in bringing us to become a nation.

Watchman

nepotism-poop-scientology-cruise-demotivational-poster-1247528757.jpg