• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lam Wee Yang, you are our HERO

Aug 12, 2010
Jailed for hitting bus driver
By Khushwant Singh

ANGRY that the bus was travelling too slowly for his liking, Lam Wee Yang, 59, scolded the driver before taking matters into his own hands.

He hit the driver's head with the bag he was carrying and then sent the bus swerving dangerously by grabbing the steering wheel.

For hurting driver Wei Jin Guang and endangering the safety of 13 passengers on the bus, the coffee-shop assistant was jailed two months and three weeks on Thursday by a district court.

Lam drank several bottles of beer after finishing his shift at a Geylang coffee shop at 8pm on Dec 24, 2009. At 11.45pm, he boarded SBS Transit's number 63 near Lorong 11 Geylang and took the seat behind the driver.

The Singaporean grew impatient when the bus pulled out slowly from the bus stop so as not to hit cars that were parked illegally along the road. Lam started scolding the driver but Mr Wei, a Chinese national, probably tried to diffuse the situation by remaining silent.

Along North Bridge Road, Lam suddenly swung his plastic bag, which contained his purchases of a packet of food and an alarm clock, at Mr Wei. The driver activated the emergency button to alert the SBS operations room that he was being attacked. Minutes later, Lam grabbed the steering wheel, forcing the bus to halt.

According to SBS Transit, 11 of its workers were assaulted last year down from 18 the previous year. Bus operator SMRT had six cases in each of those years.

Lam could have jailed up to six months and/or fined up to $2,500 for endangering the safety of the other passengers. For hurting the driver, he could be jailed up to two years and/or fined up to $5,000.

You have done what many other sinkies should have done. U have done what others have only fantasized about. i congratulate you for taking matters into your own hands, because your traitor govt. will not do so. Many of these PRC bus drivers drive like shit, dun know the way, dun stop for passengers, and worse of all steal the job of a local sinkie. You have put this particular asshole in his place. If only more of your cowardly citizens can stand up to these mainland fuckers when they see them doing wrong, we will send a strong message to them.

Keep your chin up during your jail term. This district court judge is a traitor and a piece of dog shit, so is the prosecutor. Just remember many sinkies support your actions.

jerry

Assaulting a bus driver is rare years ago, what has become of society these days :(

postnew

ST_IMAGES_KSLAM13-3MP.jpg

Lam Wee Yang, 59, was jailed for two months and three weeks.​

Brightkid

He don't look agressive, I guess cannot judge by looks.

Either

1) his job was taken by the FT driver;
2) he was really incensed by the driving of the FT;
3) he the driving was the 'last straw that breaks his back' besides the many other living-related problems;
4) all the above.

KuanTi01

He don't look agressive, I guess cannot judge by looks.

In fact he can pass off as a gentle,loving and doting grandfather! :rolleyes:

Putting nationalities aside, it is always wrong to bash the driver since he was only doing his job, though clearly not to Mr. Lam's liking. By hitting him, he is also endangering the lives of other innocent passengers, equally anxious to return to their homes.:mad:

In fact he can pass off as a gentle,loving and doting grandfather! :rolleyes:

Putting nationalities aside, it is always wrong to bash the driver since he was only doing his job, though clearly not to Mr. Lam's liking. By hitting him, he is also endangering the lives of other innocent passengers, equally anxious to return to their homes.:mad:

When the bus driver is FT, its always ok to bash them.