• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

stupid NS slave sister lost 66K she come from which university ?

madmansg

Undergrad may have lost $66,000 to company

by Hedy Khoo

SHE put $66,000 of her family's money into what she thought would give her quick and lucrative returns.

But a year on, the 20-year-old undergraduate could end up losing most of it because she has no idea what has happened to the controversial company in which she had invested - Sunshine Empire.

A check by The New Paper found that the company, which used to occupy a seventh-storey unit at the HDB Hub in Toa Payoh, is no longer there.

In its place is another company called Niu Lifestyle, which was registered on 20 Mar this year.

However, the corporate websites of Sunshine Empire, which is under investigation by the authorities, are still online, although details of its supposed property ventures have since been taken down.

The undergraduate, who wanted to be known only as Pamela, does not have the faintest clue how to recover the $66,000 she put into the multi-level marketing company.

Lured by the promise of cash rebates of up to $1,000 a month, Pamela bought a total of six packages called Gold Prime under the Sunshine Empire product line.

She paid $11,000 for each package, using money she borrowed from her parents.

She said: 'I don't know if I will ever see the money again. I was naive and foolish.

'I thought that was a smart way to earn money.'

She said her father was hospitalised some time in the middle of last year and she was in need of money. 'My friend told me about Sunshine Empire, and how I should make my money work for me,' she recalled, and started buying through her friend.

'At first, I thought it was too good to be true, but for the first two months, I got cash rebates of $4,000,' she said.

Convinced that the scheme worked, she borrowed another $44,000 from her parents to buy more packages.

She even persuaded two more of her friends to buy packages with her, as by selling the packages, she could earn 'bonus points', which could supposedly be converted into cash.

'I really thought it was easy money, and it wasn't wrong because I wasn't prostituting myself or cheating people.

'We went for motivational talks at the company, which sold us not only the packages promising good rebates, but also the idea of being able to change our lives and live our dreams.'

But in October and November last year, media reports were published about the Sunshine Empire's unsupported claims of grandiose investments in water theme parks in Malaysia and a wireless broadband project in Taiwan.

'My parents were worried and started to warn me and told me to take my money out, but I was stubborn and refused to heed their advice,' she said, her voice tinged with regret.

'My friends in Sunshine Empire said that any media publicity is good publicity and it only showed that our company was famous. I believed them.'

Only in November, when it was reported that the company was under investigation by the Commercial Affairs Department (CAD), did Pamela start to panic.

She called her 'upline' (the person who recruited her) asking to withdraw her cash, but was told that all accounts were frozen and there was no cash available.

Hounded by friends

Then, she was hounded by her two friends whom she had recruited.

'I feel very bad that I got them into the same situation as myself,' she said.

Then in March, she was told by her 'upline' that a new company called Niu Lifestyle had been set up at the former office of Sunshine Empire.

'I asked what was this company about, and I was told it was fengshui-related, but to find out more, I had to meet her there at the 'office',' she said.

'If it is a totally different company, why did my Sunshine Empire's upline tell me to meet at the same office, even when it is called Niu Lifestyle now?' she asked.

'I was sceptical by then, and it seemed that it was just a change in name.

'When I asked about Sunshine Empire, I was only told my money was stuck, but I could transfer my account to another new company called Em Max.'

Her 'upline' told her Em Max was a new start-up in Hong Kong.

'By then, I didn't believe anything I was told anymore. I was furious but I was desperate. So I made the account transfer. I don't think I will see my money again, but I am just trying anyway,' she said.

'I feel very stupid, and I felt I was brainwashed. The money I borrowed from my parents was hard-earned, and I feel guilty and that I let them down.

'My relationship with my parents have become strained because of this.

'There is no such thing as easy money,' she said ruefully.

When approached, the Monetary Association of Singapore declined to comment. It had put Sunshine Empire on its investor alert list on its website last year.

When contacted, the police said Sunshine Empire was still under investigation.

The Consumers Association of Singapore's executive director, Mr Seah Seng Choon, had earlier cautioned participants against transferring their money to Hong Kong, as it would put their investment outside Singapore's jurisdiction.

yeah if she work as an escort with student pass, she could pay back in a year.

investment company in toa payoh with different name? yeah, sound very legit.

shOUTloud

I put 24k into the Oilpods rubbish as well and I am from NUS. Greed is like dat lah. All brains went out of the window.

War Criminal

lol she quite kum gong. 1) invest in MLM company never mind still. 2) ignoring media reports saying it has shady dealings never mind still. 3) warned by parents ignore never mind still. BUT transfer $ to HK!?!? sure wont see the money again. at least let CAD investigate maybe can get some back. I think she should report her 'uplink' to police. Sounds like the uplink is no more than a scammer.

I in NTU heard thru a friend got one guy (in Banking and Finance spec no less) put all his life savings of $10k into DBS high notes 5. Now up lorry already.

qwerty

I put 24k into the Oilpods rubbish as well and I am from NUS. Greed is like dat lah. All brains went out of the window.

i appluad you for you candid honesty about you own stupidity

My friend also dreaming about his oilpod investment.... tell him so many times it's crap. He refuse to listen...

so easy to earn money why ppl want to share with you small timer.

get one big investor can liao. why wasted time recuriting small timer. waste time

banova888

by Hedy Khoo

SHE put $66,000 of her family's money into what she thought would give her quick and lucrative returns.

But a year on, the 20-year-old undergraduate could end up losing most of it because she has no idea what has happened to the controversial company in which she had invested - Sunshine Empire.

A check by The New Paper found that the company, which used to occupy a seventh-storey unit at the HDB Hub in Toa Payoh, is no longer there.

In its place is another company called Niu Lifestyle, which was registered on 20 Mar this year.

However, the corporate websites of Sunshine Empire, which is under investigation by the authorities, are still online, although details of its supposed property ventures have since been taken down.

The undergraduate, who wanted to be known only as Pamela, does not have the faintest clue how to recover the $66,000 she put into the multi-level marketing company.

Since it is leported in the New Paper, rich Singaporeans like the one who donated 7 million to the LKY School can help.

Lured by the promise of cash rebates of up to $1,000 a month, Pamela bought a total of six packages called Gold Prime under the Sunshine Empire product line.

She said: 'I don't know if I will ever see the money again. I was naive and foolish.

She said her father was hospitalised some time in the middle of last year and she was in need of money. 'My friend told me about Sunshine Empire, and how I should make my money work for me,' she recalled, and started buying through her friend.

'At first, I thought it was too good to be true, but for the first two months, I got cash rebates of $4,000,' she said.

Convinced that the scheme worked, she borrowed another $44,000 from her parents to buy more packages.

She even persuaded two more of her friends to buy packages with her, as by selling the packages, she could earn 'bonus points', which could supposedly be converted into cash.

'I really thought it was easy money, and it wasn't wrong because I wasn't prostituting myself or cheating people.

Guess she never heard about melaline.

'We went for motivational talks at the company, which sold us not only the packages promising good rebates, but also the idea of being able to change our lives and live our dreams.'

Made in China :biggrin:

But in October and November last year, media reports were published about the Sunshine Empire's unsupported claims of grandiose investments in water theme parks in Malaysia and a wireless broadband project in Taiwan.

SPH never reported this so it cannot be true.

'My parents were worried and started to warn me and told me to take my money out, but I was stubborn and refused to heed their advice,' she said, her voice tinged with regret.

'My friends in Sunshine Empire said that any media publicity is good publicity and it only showed that our company was famous. I believed them.'

Only in November, when it was reported that the company was under investigation by the Commercial Affairs Department (CAD), did Pamela start to panic.

She called her 'upline' (the person who recruited her) asking to withdraw her cash, but was told that all accounts were frozen and there was no cash available.

Hounded by friends

Then in March, she was told by her 'upline' that a new company called Niu Lifestyle had been set up at the former office of Sunshine Empire.

'I asked what was this company about, and I was told it was fengshui-related, but to find out more, I had to meet her there at the 'office',' she said.

'If it is a totally different company, why did my Sunshine Empire's upline tell me to meet at the same office, even when it is called Niu Lifestyle now?' she asked.

'When I asked about Sunshine Empire, I was only told my money was stuck, but I could transfer my account to another new company called Em Max.'

'By then, I didn't believe anything I was told anymore. I was furious but I was desperate. So I made the account transfer. I don't think I will see my money again, but I am just trying anyway,' she said.

'I feel very stupid, and I felt I was brainwashed. The money I borrowed from my parents was hard-earned, and I feel guilty and that I let them down.

When approached, the Monetary Association of Singapore declined to comment. It had put Sunshine Empire on its investor alert list on its website last year.

The Consumers Association of Singapore's executive director, Mr Seah Seng Choon, had earlier cautioned participants against transferring their money to Hong Kong, as it would put their investment outside Singapore's jurisdiction.

Finally she realised there is no such thing as easy money. Wonder where she got the idea to begin with anyway. Anyway her parents are to be blamed for trusting her with so much of cash. She did admit her stubborness by listening to her friends.

Pica_NA

This is a good example of how SG education teaches local grad.... arrogant, stubborn, naive... and absolutely stupid..... Sad to see the degradation of the quality of our new generation.... Guess thats what our gahmen want to see... so that they can easily control them... in the future...

Without reading, i know that must be a sinkie. Sinkie deserve it, that is what happen for being greedy and selfish. You get screwed!!! Period.. :smile:

zack123

Anyone checked if a new local FL by the name of Pamela has appeared in the other forum?

At the rate of 250 per pop and 2 sessions per day, she can recover her losses less than half a year............

DerekLeung

by Hedy Khoo

Hounded by friends

LoL borrow from parents to risk in such shady deals !

She is better off being a prostitute, at least she is using her own cunt !

MLM leaders and subs should be castrated and beheaded !

Exploiting ignorant and greedy fools !

But not too bad, MLM is akin to Casino anyway ! Money changing hands in a day !

DerekLeung

We need more of these sharks to kill off thousands of Silly Singaporean.

Just too crowded in here. Suffocating !

allanlee

Anyone checked if a new local FL by the name of Pamela has appeared in the other forum?

At the rate of 250 per pop and 2 sessions per day, she can recover her losses less than half a year............

Here's what little I know about this case.... actually she goes by the FL name of "Cindy"...... started out at $600/= a pop under an okt..... later branched out on her own and charges only $250/= per shot.

She cooked up this story about borrow $$$ from parents because the poodles was asking where she got the $$$ to invest while investigating into Sun Empire.... (dun tink she so stupid to say earn from doing FL rite?)..... statement was recorded last year.

Unfortunately for her.... her file was highlighted as an example and brought out for "show & tell"......

congo9

Jst like my brother , an undergradute from SIM . Told me that price of oil is cheap compare to the peak from $147 per barrel. The crude oil price is now around US$90 to US$100.

I told him before oil was just around US$16 to US$35 per barrel when in yr 2003/2004. He told me that where got SO CHEAP ? He rebutted me that i got it wrong. Where on earth OIL IS SO CHEAP in yr 2003/2004.

Oil has risen so much and yet he as a business graduate seems to know too little. Frankly speaking i am a O level holder that all.

But anyway , back to today topic, seems that our education system is producing students who cant think , and too shallow , not much exposure then their text books can teach.

zack123

Here's what little I know about this case.... actually she goes by the FL name of "Cindy"...... started out at $600/= a pop under an okt..... later branched out on her own and charges only $250/= per shot.

She cooked up this story about borrow $$$ from parents because the poodles was asking where she got the $$$ to invest while investigating into Sun Empire.... (dun tink she so stupid to say earn from doing FL rite?)..... statement was recorded last year.

Unfortunately for her.... her file was highlighted as an example and brought out for "show & tell"......

Woah...small world. Will be looking out for her soon :biggrin:. Maybe can ask he to discount a bit as she would have totally settled he problems