• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it because he is 'just' a NSF Private???

Posted on 26 May 2010
Not 1, but 2 soldiers shot in Thailand: Why didn't MINDEF give full disclosure?

Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
89%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
3%

LOL!
2%

So sad
2%

Sure or not?
1%

Bochup
3%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
STOMPer Integrity wonders why MINDEF did not disclose that a second soldier, a full-time national serviceman, was also shot in the same incident. The news of the second shooting only surfaced when a relative of Private J. Pritheery Raj contacted The Straits Times.

In the first report on May 24, a Thai farmer had fired his shotgun at 1st Sgt Woo Teng Hai while the latter was out on a night exercise in Thailand. The regular commando is said to have been blinded in his right eye.

The Defence Ministry only admitted yesterday (May 25) that Private Raj had also been hurt in the same incident. The NSF still has two shotgun pellets lodged in his cheekbones and right shoulder. He has been on medical leave for the last two months.

In the STOMPer's email:

"I read the news about the second soldier shot in the news today with surprise.

"Why didn't MINDEF give full disclosure about the second soldier who was also hurt?

"Is it because he is 'just' a NSF Private?

"Apparently the relative of the poor Private had to contact the media directly after reading the report about the commando being shot by the Thai farmer."

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Keywords: soldiers , SAF servicemen

chancp24 said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442406() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "chancp24"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442406() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442406(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442406&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442406&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
SAF owes the public an explanation on this. Our sons and brothers or fathers are serving the army to defend Singapore. It is always the lower ranks from usually low income familes who suffer. SAF should not have hide the fact when two and not one soldier is injured.
Gui.Wang said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442404() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "Gui.Wang"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442404() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442404(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442404&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442404&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
Our commando kana shot by farmers leh! Of cos must keep as low profile as possible lah! If MINDEF can dun report even lagi best!!!
3iluvstomp said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442368() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "3iluvstomp"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442368() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442368(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442368&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442368&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
Quote: "Why didn't MINDEF give full disclosure about the second soldier who was also hurt?"

MINDEF also knew about it after reading from the newspapers & STOMP

Quote: "Is it because he is 'just' a NSF Private?"

Ans: Yes
bungeeloris said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442366() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "bungeeloris"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442366() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442366(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442366&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442366&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
I don't believe all the "military secrets" and all that crap. Obviously the SAF is more concerned about its reputation.

Since it's a commando getting shot, I repeat, a commando, they'll obviously hide the news. Why? Cause it's like getting a pie thrown to your face in public. Very humiliating. To think that these commandos won the Best Combat Unit 23 times, then getting shot by a FARMER, lmao.
westdigi said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442353() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "westdigi"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442353() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442353(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442353&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442353&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
maybe he is an undercover
hendon1cdobn said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442341() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "hendon1cdobn"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442341() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442341(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442341&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442341&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
2mths of thorough investigations by Mindef and Thai counterpart before the public and media gets the detail. That's y. Otherwise it will be deemed a speculative of facts made known to the public. One thing though, since when got Commando holding the rank of private fighting ATEC? All operational CDO fighter are at least a Cpl.... Anyway speedy recovery Hendon boys.... A damn suay incident indeed. For Honour And Glory!
xOxYGeNx said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442334() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "xOxYGeNx"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442334() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442334(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442334&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442334&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
maybe they say he is "underage", therefore cannot disclose the name lolx
Greenieadi said on 26 May, 2010<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> function validateReportOffensive_442326() { var isLogin = "false"; if (!isLogin || isLogin == "false"){ alert("You must be logged in to do this!"); var loginTextElement = document.getElementById('loginTextId'); loginTextElement.focus(); return false; } var reporter = ""; var commenter = "Greenieadi"; var report = confirm("Report the comment as offensive?"); if(report && reporter && commenter){ if (reporter == commenter) { alert("You cannot report your comment as offensive."); return false; } else{ return true; } } return false; } function reportOffensive_442326() { var reportable = validateReportOffensive_442326(); if(reportable) { makeFormByUrl("/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/380918/Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F.html?commentId=442326&action=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive&tokenKey=stomp_club_report_comment_offensive_442326&token=&article=contentbean:380918&video=#commentSection"); } return false; }</SCRIPT> Report as offensive
4chan_ftw, asking to tell the truth doesn't mean we are against the government.

playland, yes every organization have the right to keep secrets if you are refering to a business entity.

SAF must not only be brave in war but most also be brave to own up. I still feel SAF/Mindef owe the public and explanation.

I most definitely believe SAF/Mindef will "cook up" an explanation for omitting the facts of a 2nd casualty on the first report.

Please lah , stop with the "secret/classified info" reason. That is the most generic response IMHO.

Brightkid

It was mentiuoned he is a 'Trooper'. What is a 'Trooper' ? A Rifleman ? Only Rifleman has private after 1 year of NS.

At least I had a ikan bilis.

ah_phah

in hen-dom camp, only rangers & those with ranks r considered commandos, the rest r just man-tou (馒头)

Most likely an error occurrred that resulted in the shooting. The commando must deemed to be compliant or has been compensated well. The other guy's situation must be contentious and he might reveal what the error was.

Notice that the Toa Payoh brothel did not interview the family about the incident of their version of it.

Maybe the family of this did not tell the whole story

What ever it us, Mindef is looking stupid, dishonest and amateurish.