• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bush to sell Taiwan $6 billion in arms

nitecrawllerr

WASHINGTON: The Bush administration announced plans Friday to sell $6 billion in arms to Taiwan, a decision sure to anger China and one that could complicate stalled North Korean disarmament efforts.

The announcement of the package, which includes Apache helicopters and Patriot III anti-missile missiles, came in a notification to Congress posted on the U.S. Defense Security Cooperation Agency Web site. The State Department said lawmakers, who were expected to leave Friday to campaign for November elections, had 30 days to comment on the proposed sale. Without objections, the deal is completed.

The arms package enjoys support among senior lawmakers. China, however, vehemently opposes the U.S. provision of weapons to Taiwan, which Beijing claims as its territory and has threatened to invade should the self-governing island ever formalize its de facto independence.

The United States and China are part of troubled six-nation negotiations to persuade North Korea to abandon its nuclear weapons. A successful result to the stalled talks is an important foreign policy goal of the Bush administration in its remaining months in office. China, which hosts the talks, is seen as having economic and political leverage with Pyongyang. The State Department said that the arms package, which also includes Harpoon missiles, Javelin missiles, upgrades for Taiwan's E-2T aircraft and spare parts for the Taiwan Air Force, is "a significant and tangible demonstration of the commitment of this administration to provide Taiwan the defensive arms its needs to be strong."

Taiwan relies on U.S. weapons to keep pace with China's massive arms buildup across the Taiwan Strait. U.S. arms sales to Taiwan are a sensitive matter because any dispute between China and Taiwan could ensnare the United States, Taiwan's most important ally and largest arms supplier. Washington shifted its recognition as China's official government from Taipei to Beijing in 1979, but it remains committed to Taiwan's defense and has hinted it could come to the island's aid if China should attack.

Washington has tried to strike a balance between providing for the defense of Taiwan and establishing better military ties with China.

U.S. caution about selling arms to Taiwan reflects China's growing economic and political clout. The Bush administration needs China's help in a host of international efforts, including attempts to confront Iranian and North Korean nuclear programs.

The 2008 U.S. Defense Department report on China's military said Beijing continued its huge military buildup opposite Taiwan, further pushing the balance of power between the two rivals in favor of the mainland.

AP

Another US$693billion to go. :rolleyes:

madmansg

returning the favour
=========

BEIJING, Sept. 24 (Xinhua) -- China and Venezuela on Wednesday inked a series of agreements on wide-ranging fields, a sign of bilateral efforts to advance their strategic partnership to a new high.

The agreements came out of the summit talks in the Great Hall of the People as Beijing rolled out the red carpet for Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez.

The 12 new cooperative deals covered trade, oil, finance, education, justice, telecommunications, infrastructure, sports and cultural relics.

Chinese President Hu Jintao gave an honor guard reception to Chavez, who was on his fifth visit to China since taking office as Venezuelan president.

In their hour-long talks, Hu first thanked the Venezuelan government and people for providing relief to China following an 8.0-magnitude earthquake that devastated the southwestern China on May 12.

In response, Chavez said the Venezuelan people were sympathetic with the victims in the quake. He wished the Chinese government and people a speedy recovery from the disaster.

On the Beijing Olympics and Paralympics, Hu said China appreciated Venezuela's generous support while Chavez said the successes of hosting the two games would go down in history.

Stressing both China and Venezuela stayed at an important stage, Hu said the two countries shared the goal of stepping up substantive cooperation and seeking common prosperity.

To advance the bilateral strategic partnership, Hu proposed the two countries keep the high-level visits, enhance dialogues between the governments, legislatures and ruling parties, and exchange views on issues of common concern.

On the economic front, Hu said China would like to deepen "all-phase and integrated" oil cooperation with Venezuela, encourage businesses to invest in Venezuela and establish a trade zone.

China will also participate in building Venezuela's infrastructures, including railway system, telecommunications network, social housing and hydro-power.

Hu also called on the two countries to work more closely in education, culture, science and technology, justice, sports, journalism and poverty eradication.

Sharing Hu's view on bilateral ties, Chavez said bilateral trade had progressed smoothly, citing remarkable progress in oil, agriculture, science and infrastructure.

Chave said Venezuela would like to work closely with China on stronger political ties, increased dialogues and more substantive cooperation in energy, finance, agriculture and machinery.

On international issues, Hu and Chavez agreed to step up communication and consultation in multi-lateral organizations and on global issues, so as to safeguard the reasonable rights of developing countries.

Earlier Wednesday, top Chinese legislator Wu Banguo also met with Chavez. Wu said China's National People's Congress, the country's top legislature, would like to maintain its friendly exchanges and cooperation with the Venezuelan legislature, boosting the overall bilateral ties.

Chavez will conclude his three-day state visit to China on Thursday.

sell banks 1st, sell arms next...

US no $$ liao.. anything of value will sell.. lelong lelong..:biggrin:

next sucker will be SAF..

eeoror88

USA cunts at Geylang will make the place more cosmopolitan. However, USA cunts maybe " Lar Kopi" type !!:biggrin::biggrin:

congo9

USA : I thought you want to buy my raptor F-22
Singapore : Yes , i said i want to buy 100 Raptor
USA : Buy now , pay me cash 1st ..... give you A LOT discount and you can park all your plane here in USA. USA got a lot of space. Give you free parking and training
Singapore : JIUN BO ? You use PRC or INDIAN spare part ?
USA : This doooon need to care , i can provide you with free maintaence
Singapore : U use indian accounting ?Free here and there ?
USA : Well , nowadays market very bad. Bush use 700 billion to pay the banks
Singapore : But we also pay a lot for your citibank and ML !
USA : Errrrrrrrrrr.............
Singapore : May be like this , we pay you 1st , but after 20 yrs , you must buy back our old F-16 and give us NEW invented 1st clas fighter plane and training , free parking and maintainence, no EAP some more (Eletronic Air Pricing) !
USA : May be i can send a air craft carrier and park outside your habour ?
USA : Then you don need to buy plane or weapon ! We can protect you !
Singapore : BO PIAN ...... We are the ATM of the East !