• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Helix bridge look beautiful but not practical, KNN which scholar in charge of this?

BusNo64

KNN where got build bridge just to look good but only cover part of the bridge? Bloody hell who is the kuku govt scholar who approve this design? Even the fucking name helix is so damn lame, Shell engine oil is also call Helix.....:mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Posted on 30 Apr 2010
The new double helix bridge is beautiful but impractical

marina_promenades_new_double_helix_bridge_is_beautiful-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Scientist said that the iconic Double Helix Bridge, which connects Marina Promenade to Marina Bay Sands, may have a beautiful form, but it is sorely lacking in functionality.

“The Double Helix Bridge (DHB) has a blue glass canopy in alternate locations and although it looks beautiful from afar, its functionality leaves much to be desired,” he wrote in an email to STOMP.

“In our hot tropical climate with intense sunshine and heavy rain, the bridge provides little relief and by the time you reach Marina Bay Sands you are either half -baked or soaked to the skin depending on the weather.”

20100430ssdpbridge2-data.jpg

5uo1mc.jpg

theblackhole

Re: Helix bridge look beautiful but not practical, KNN which scholar in charge of thi

it's like walking thru a tunnel of intense heat.

you get migrane after passing thru....bloody hot and humid this helical thingie!!!!

theblackhole

Re: Helix bridge look beautiful but not practical, KNN which scholar in charge of thi

[COLOR="_______"]according to my uneducated mother, the bridge look like a pig cage that were use to drown ppl in the olden days. According to her, the logic of the bridge in fengshui is to spin ppl into the casino and dive head first into the gambling table and drown in debt to the casino.[/COLOR]

is this true?

i thought i felt like being sucked into the blackhole while walking across the helix....the mind kana kongtau!!!...spin and spin...like the cutting blades of the RWS as you descend into the depth of hell...

any fengshui expert here?

i think the best thing to do: don't gamble lah!!!

it's a road to death - hideous and painful death!

KNN where got build bridge just to look good but only cover part of the bridge? Bloody hell who is the kuku govt scholar who approve this design? Even the fucking name helix is so damn lame, Shell engine oil is also call Helix.....:mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

the Helix bridge looks like the DNA double helix to me :p

talking about having a shelter that leaks... it's just another puah chu teng... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

commoner

aiya,,,,,,,,,, if you need to walk to casino, simply meant you are not qualified to gamble at MBS la...........

just a stupid design gateway to go and pay your respects to the 3 tombstones when LKY gone

aiya,,,,,,,,,, if you need to walk to casino, simply meant you are not qualified to gamble at MBS la...........

just a stupid design gateway to go and pay your respects to the 3 tombstones when LKY gone

His Statue will be erected on top of the 'BOAT'...with the middle finger inverse UP! yo just can not miss it...at night it will illuminated!!! GREEN!

scoobyhoo

why they never care for the users? just build something to boast?

Put glass panel on some part to absord heat and pass to person below. Who the fucking ideas? Why not cover all the way at least can shelter from rain.
MBT still talk cock about the bridge.
Wasting money but not productive.

wrcboi

yeah it looks nice but the bridge does not shelter the people from the rain or the heat from the sun......

looks like its really u get wet ur prob and etc....coz the company people dont use the bridge

Somemore the bridge is curve not straight. Make the bridge longer wasting materail, increase cost....also make user walk further. All are not productive. Then why the Ministers ask us to be more efficient & productive but the wat they show us are reverse. Spend more and do it slow slow.

theblackhole

it's like driving and drilling you into the graveyard of the casino even before you step into the hell hole....

lianbeng

just another white elephant for target practice mah -shoot elephant!
also a new jumping board n diving platform for diehard suicide divers to make a big splash into the sea underneath -1 down liao more to go.

just like singapore army. nice to look at on paper , totally useless.

the Helix bridge looks like the DNA double helix to me :p

talking about having a shelter that leaks... it's just another puah chu teng... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
Yeah, it's unique, like DNA isn't it?
Uniquely ugly?

Yeah, it's unique, like DNA isn't it?
Uniquely ugly?

bro,

DNA isn't ugly and it serves its function; the overhead cover for the bridge is ugly and its functionality left much to be desired... :p:p:p

bro,

DNA isn't ugly and it serves its function; the overhead cover for the bridge is ugly and its functionality left much to be desired... :p:p:p
Hehehe, what I meant is that it's unique like DNA.
But "uniquely ugly" is reserved for the bridge.

it's a nice looking bridge....i like it...i wish they take out the shelters....so that the wind breeze could not be obstructed and cool you down...

where in the world got bridges with covers? you think it's bus or MRT terminal? :biggrin:

Only in Singapore there're pedestrian bridges without shelters. Go Malaysia or any other country and see. Also only in Singapore, there're lifts at half flight of staircase. Uniquely Singapore. Your Singapore.