• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Penal punishments for dual citizenship in Singapore?

senatorabudelai

Are there any criminal punishments for dual citizenship other than taking away your sg citizenship? I dont think there are any, the worst the singapore government can do is to take away your sg citizenship, which might not be a bad thing if you are in a better country.

CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE

Deprivation of citizenship on acquisition of foreign citizenship
134. —(1) The Government may, by order, deprive a citizen of Singapore of his citizenship if the Government is satisfied that —

(a) he has, while of or over the age of 18 years, at any time after 6th April 1960 acquired by registration, naturalisation or other voluntary and formal act (other than marriage) the citizenship of any country outside Singapore or having so acquired such citizenship before the age of 18 years continues to retain it after that age; or

(b) the citizen, being a woman who is a citizen of Singapore by registration under Article 123 (2), has acquired the citizenship of any country outside Singapore by virtue of her marriage to a person who is not a citizen of Singapore.

(2) Where the Government has made an order under this Article depriving a citizen of Singapore of his citizenship, he shall cease to be a citizen with effect from the date of the order.

Watchman

Haha this is therefore again a big joke . If really depend on your bank balance .

One law for poorer man another for rich and mobile professionals

senatorabudelai

Haha this is therefore again a big joke . If really depend on your bank balance .

One law for poorer man another for rich and mobile professionals

sorry? what is "this is therefore again"? and what is "if really depend"? it really depends?

wth are you writing?

i dont agree with you. there is one law for everyone. even if you are filthy rich, the government may rescind your citizenship.

Watchman

If you fail to see it . Your eyes are not opened yet .

And it doesn't matter what I say .

Have a good day .

SQguy

All the richChinese adn Indonesian's as example who have got SG passports do not live here....There is a loophole when if you put 1.5M SGD in a fund a PR is granted to you asap and if you invest or list may be a quick road to Singapore passport. Then these guys go back to their countries....Great TAX advantages staying here but these guys do not need it but to ONLy park their wealth which cannot be bought back to China or Indonesia. You need a local address for the bank and a house or condo can provide that.....

It will be very interesting to ask HOW MANY PR actually REMAIN in Singapore? How many days they stay? How many NEW SG passport holders (new citizens) actually live in Singapore?

longbow

And by stripping your citizenship you will lose all benefits of being a Singapore - no more HDB no voting. Perhaps they will also forfeit your HDB flat too.

Are there any criminal punishments for dual citizenship other than taking away your sg citizenship? I dont think there are any, the worst the singapore government can do is to take away your sg citizenship, which might not be a bad thing if you are in a better country.

134. —(1) The Government may, by order, deprive a citizen of Singapore of his citizenship if the Government is satisfied that —

(a) he has, while of or over the age of 18 years, at any time after 6th April 1960 acquired by registration, naturalisation or other voluntary and formal act (other than marriage) the citizenship of any country outside Singapore or having so acquired such citizenship before the age of 18 years continues to retain it after that age; or

(b) the citizen, being a woman who is a citizen of Singapore by registration under Article 123 (2), has acquired the citizenship of any country outside Singapore by virtue of her marriage to a person who is not a citizen of Singapore.

(2) Where the Government has made an order under this Article depriving a citizen of Singapore of his citizenship, he shall cease to be a citizen with effect from the date of the order.

kiwibird7

Did S'pore as a member of the UN General Assembly sign and ratify the UN Charter on Human Rights?

http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/
Article 15.
•(1) Everyone has the right to a nationality.
•(2) No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality nor denied the right to change his nationality.

The Singapore Constitution 134 is in direct contradiction to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

manokie

All the richChinese adn Indonesian's as example who have got SG passports do not live here....There is a loophole when if you put 1.5M SGD in a fund a PR is granted to you asap and if you invest or list may be a quick road to Singapore passport. Then these guys go back to their countries....Great TAX advantages staying here but these guys do not need it but to ONLy park their wealth which cannot be bought back to China or Indonesia. You need a local address for the bank and a house or condo can provide that.....

It will be very interesting to ask HOW MANY PR actually REMAIN in Singapore? How many days they stay? How many NEW SG passport holders (new citizens) actually live in Singapore?

this MONEY for PR thing exist for a lot of countries.. not a big deal

longbow

get right to vote

get right to buy HDB at $200K and sell off for $450K in 5 years

get right and ensuing pride of having served nation by doing National Service

right to easy of entry into many countries because of respected passport. Try traveling with indonesian passport to EU or China.

sorry but what kind of benefits does a singaporean has??? kns..

senatorabudelai

If you fail to see it . Your eyes are not opened yet .

And it doesn't matter what I say .

Have a good day .

your eyes are closed and so is your brain. it has been that way since birth. it doesn't matter what anyone says.

Methinks getting a Spore citizenship is much easier than getting an Angmo country PR...LOL!

sg citizenship requires 10 years stay in sg. one of the hardest to get in the world. sg pr is easy though.

why do people like to use "angmoh" instead of caucasian or white? i never figured that out. most caucasians do not have red hair?

Did S'pore as a member of the UN General Assembly sign and ratify the UN Charter on Human Rights?

http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/
Article 15.
•(1) Everyone has the right to a nationality.
•(2) No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality nor denied the right to change his nationality.

The Singapore Constitution 134 is in direct contradiction to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

"arbitrarily" makes all the difference. sg constituition does not contradict the un charter because it does not "arbitrarily" removes one's citizenship.

get right to vote

walkovers hover around 50% each election, opposition politicians were detained without trial for decades, are jailed for gathering to give out flyers and are bankrupted for defamation. but hey, you do get to vote!, ha ha ha

get right to buy HDB at $200K and sell off for $450K in 5 years

money's still in cpf and you cant take it out. more like 200k sell off at 250k 10 years later.

get right and ensuing pride of having served nation by doing National Service

what is "get right and ensuing pride" you illiterate. maybe sg should have 10 years conscription so you can feel more pride in serving sg longer ha ha ha

right to easy of entry into many countries because of respected passport. Try traveling with indonesian passport to EU or China.

yes, right to easy of entry. ha ha ha. funny how illerate retards like you keepl saying "yay, we are better than indonesia now".

can you imagine the french waking up everyday thinking "yay we are better than the ghanians now"

pathetic.

longbow

sg citizenship requires 10 years stay in sg. one of the hardest to get in the world. sg pr is easy though.

why do people like to use "angmoh" instead of caucasian or white? i never figured that out. most caucasians do not have red hair?

>> refers to light color of their hair. I guess Asian were fascinated with how hairy these gweilow were and the color of their hair added to fascination. Also, unlike Indians who are just as hairy, in the case of the Indians their dark skin pretty much hides their black hair. And in case of Ang Mor they even have red hair carrot tops. Imagine that over their fair skin

"arbitrarily" makes all the difference. sg constituition does not contradict the un charter because it does not "arbitrarily" removes one's citizenship.

walkovers hover around 50% each election, opposition politicians were detained without trial for decades, are jailed for gathering to give out flyers and are bankrupted for defamation. but hey, you do get to vote!, ha ha ha

money's still in cpf and you cant take it out. more like 200k sell off at 250k 10 years later.

>> No lah, people that bought flats 5 years ago are selling at bet $250 to 300K profit. and I would rather have $300K in CPF than $0 in CPF

what is "get right and ensuing pride" you illiterate. maybe sg should have 10 years conscription so you can feel more pride in serving sg longer ha ha ha

>> ensuing pride to lay one's life for country mah

yes, right to easy of entry. ha ha ha. funny how illerate retards like you keepl saying "yay, we are better than indonesia now".

can you imagine the french waking up everyday thinking "yay we are better than the ghanians now"

>>Erhh just how many countries in this world has visa free access to USA? I think all first world nations. Well well we are first world nation after all

senatorabudelai

>> refers to light color of their hair. I guess Asian were fascinated with how hairy these gweilow were and the color of their hair added to fascination. Also, unlike Indians who are just as hairy, in the case of the Indians their dark skin pretty much hides their black hair. And in case of Ang Mor they even have red hair carrot tops. Imagine that over their fair skin

i can people thinking this way in 1850s but 2010? :confused:

i forgot, some humans are intellectualy disabled or inferior.

>>Erhh just how many countries in this world has visa free access to USA? I think all first world nations. Well well we are first world nation after all

what is the point of visa free access unless you are a frequent traveller. for normal people, visa free or not makes no difference.

The punishment for cunts like you is to go to Changi Prison where some bangali is going to make you his personal bitch and where you will grow to love anal sex, you PAP piece of shit.