• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it fair for S'poreans and PRs to pay a S$100 casino levy at RWS?

Ah Hai

<div><object width="512" height="322"><param name="movie" value="http://d.yimg.com/static.video.yahoo.com/yep/YV_YEP.swf?ver=2.2.46" /><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="AllowScriptAccess" VALUE="always" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" /><param name="flashVars" value="id=18189687&vid=6996626&lang=en-gb&intl=sg&thumbUrl=http%3A//l.yimg.com/a/p/i/bcst/videosearch/13420/102446308.jpeg&embed=1" /><embed src="http://d.yimg.com/static.video.yahoo.com/yep/YV_YEP.swf?ver=2.2.46" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="512" height="322" allowFullScreen="true" AllowScriptAccess="always" bgcolor="#000000" flashVars="id=18189687&vid=6996626&lang=en-gb&intl=sg&thumbUrl=http%3A//l.yimg.com/a/p/i/bcst/videosearch/13420/102446308.jpeg&embed=1" ></embed></object><br /><a href="http://sg.video.yahoo.com/watch/6996626/18189687">Is it fair for S'poreans and PRs to pay a S$100 casino levy at RWS?</a> @ <a href="http://sg.video.yahoo.com" >Yahoo! Video</a></div>

Ah Hai

THE first man to be investigated by the Casino Crime Investigation Branch for casino-related crimes was brought to court on Wednesday.

Loo Siew Nan, 53, is accused of five offences of attempted cheating, cheating by personation, theft and giving false information to the police.

He allegedly tried to cheat a casino dealer at Resorts World Sentosa Casino's baccarat table by placing a bet of two $100 chips on the 'banker' after the result of the game had been declared.

He allegedly did this on Monday with the intention of deceiving the dealer into believing that he had a winning bet and tried to induce the dealer to give him a payout of chips worth $190.

He had allegedly earlier gained entry into the casino by posing as one Loh Siow Kok - who is his brother - by producing the latter's Singapore driving licence.

He is also charged with giving false information to a senior station inspector by giving him an original driving licence bearing Loh's name when asked for his identity at about 2.10am on Tuesday. He is said to have stolen Mr Loh's driving licence at a coffeeshop along Bedok Reservoir Road at about 6.30pm on Sunday, and four hours later, posed as Mr Loh to get into the casino.

The prosecution asked for a two-week adjournment to complete investigation. Bail of $15,000 was offered. Loo's next appearance is on March 9.

cass888

Singapore citizen are classified under 3rd class.

Yes. Casinos suck the liveblood out of the country. Singapore's system gives us the best of both worlds - we have a casino but we create hurdles to prevent it's own citizens from playing.

Ah Hai

Casino, 4-D...Why house wins, sooner or later

LAST Tuesday's report, 'Overnight, and game for more', describes how two women visited Resorts World Sentosa and did very well at the casino.

One broke even. The other made $1,000, which doubled the money she started with.

It is a great result, considering they played for more than 10 hours each.

But winning is not that easy. Casino games work like this.

Each has a 'house edge'. The women played baccarat where the house edge is 1.2 per cent, assuming the gambler acts as 'banker'. Otherwise it is 1.6 per cent.

It means, on average, the casino keeps $1.20 for itself and pays $98.80 out of every $100 wagered.

It seems like a good deal compared to lottery games - like 4-D big - where the house edge is 34 per cent.

It means Singapore Pools keeps 34 per cent of all the money bet and pays out 66 per cent.

Actually, both are bad deals as you are certain to lose if you play long enough.

Surprisingly, however, you are more likely to lose at casino games than 4-D. It is because you play 4-D more slowly, buying a ticket just once or twice a week.

Casino games are faster. Baccarat, for example, plays at a rate of 60 hands per hour, which is one per minute.

Because of this, even a small house edge - like 1.2 per cent - means you can expect to lose half your money after one hour of play, 75 per cent after two hours, 90 per cent after three hours and 95 per cent after four hours.

Larry Haverkamp

Ah Hai

Oh well, what else is new. The govt has every right to do everything and anything with a simple and expected reason of "doing it for the good of the people". Our govt is a world class govt, the best of the best and they know what's best for us. Since we are the one that gave them that mandate, there's no point of complaining and whining about it. We can complain until the "cow comes home" and they will not change their stand. The questions that we have to ask ourselves are, a) are we willing to follow what the american people did to their previous govt? b) are we willing to change? c) are we willing to take the chances? If yes, then, do something about it. If no, then, stop complaining and just do whatever the govt said.

No, it's not fair, but life is seldom fair, especially in singkieland.
Sometimes, even the law doesn't ensure that there is fairness, for various reasons.
Perhaps we need to create our own fairness.

No, it's not fair, but life is seldom fair, especially in singkieland. ...
ofcos not! ...

sum ppl go eat char kway teow expect char kway teow man 2 auto gif him 2 eggs wen evry1 else oni hv 1 ... n if char kway teow man oso gif another fella 2 eggs, dat unlucky fella sure kena later ...

dragon

The Orchild Room, which is the nearest smoking gaming room on ur left just before u turn into the main gaming hall, is now exclusive to ONLY SG/PR only, there is a sign board and personel checking identification at the entrance

whats the difference anyway?

To me, it is the nearest place to take a puff for those main hall gamblers, such a move is definitely not welcome unless there is a reason??

Ah Hai

Another charged with cheating at casino
By Teo Xuanwei, TODAY | Posted: 04 March 2010 0958 hrs

A dealer stands by a table at the opening of Singapore's first casino in the Resorts World Sentosa complex.

SINGAPORE: A second person has been hauled to court in successive weeks for cheating at the casino.

Assistant accountant Alice Lau Qian Xiu was charged on Wednesday with trying to claim S$630 from Resorts World Sentosa's casino cashiers by using a "cashout ticket" - issued when punters wish to stop at the electronic jackpots - belonging to another gambler on February 16.

Lau is out on S$5,000 bail and will be back in court on March 31. If convicted, she faces up to two years in jail and/or a fine of up to S$10,000.

Last week, cabby Loo Siew Wan, 53, became the first person charged with alleged offences committed in the casino.

He is accused of trying to hoodwink a croupier at the baccarat table by placing two S$100 chips on the "Banker" option after the result of the game was declared.

Loo, who was under an exclusion order, faces charges of attempting to cheat by impersonation (he used his brother's driving licence), theft and giving false information to the police.

His case will be mentioned on March 9.

Get real and get a real life with real understanding of ecology. Even global warning greenists and alarmists of the past half century has switched their slogan to global climate change, instead of the warming war cry. Most parts of the world are experiencing cooling lower temperatures now, not warming up regardless of whether they burn fossils or cook animals.

shOUTloud

Ah Hai, of all people you go and quote the quack Supreme Master Ching Hai. Wah lau eh. Find someone more suitable lah.

Ah Hai

Ah Hai, of all people you go and quote the quack Supreme Master Ching Hai. Wah lau eh. Find someone more suitable lah.

Mayor Kerry Prendergast – Wellington, New Zealand
50% of our national greenhouse gas emissions come from the agricultural sector primarily in the form of methane.

Ah Hai

Dr. Jane Goodall – British UN Messenger of Peace; world-renowned primatologist
The destruction of the environment by using large areas of land to feed cattle or pigs is actually taking up an awful lot of land that could be used that could be used to produce far more protein if it was vegetable protein. Making animal protein is wasteful.

Prime Minister Matti Vanhanen - Finland
It is creating a lot of greenhouse gas emissions.

Ah Hai

Vice-President Edward McMillan-Scott - European Parliament
Our Planet is in trouble.

theblackhole

this smoke house is for singaporeans - it's so terribly smoky and killing singaporeans and taking away their hard earned cash..

why a smoke house for singaporeans??? i don't really understand. it's also so dark, so gloomy and damned smoky!!! surely die if you go into this hell hole.

Ah Hai

SINGAPORE: A man who became the first person charged with offences committed in a Singapore casino has had his S$15,000 bail extended.

Taxi driver Loo Siew Wan will next appear in Court 17 at 2.15pm on April 8, when a pre-trial conference on his case has been scheduled.

Loo is accused of committing five offences. He is alleged to have tried to cheat a casino dealer at Resorts World Sentosa on February 22 this year.

It is believed that he placed a bet of two S$100 chips on the "banker" option at a baccarat table, after the result of the game had been declared. Loo allegedly wanted to fool the dealer into thinking he had won as he tried to get the dealer to give him a payout amounting to S$190.

It is believed Loo also entered the casino using a driving licence belonging to his brother Loh Siow Kok, and the cabbie allegedly stole the document from his sibling on February 21. He is also accused of using the licence to identify himself when questioned by the Police on February 23.

For attempting to cheat the casino dealer, Loo could be jailed for up to ten years and fined. He could also face a maximum of three years in jail and fined, if found guilty of the theft of the driving licence.

Loo could also be jailed for up to a year and fined a maximum of S$5,000 for giving false information to a public servant.

For two counts of cheating by impersonation, he could be jailed a maximum of five years and fined for each charge.

- CNA/sc