• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We have failed but it is not too late

besotted

We have failed, we have brought up a generation of youngsters obsessed with self and no thought for others

who worship Hollywood values and listen to ipod all day

We need to import 1.5 million PRC grads between 15 and 25 years old and just hope that would be enough to make all these sinkies irrelevant

Otherwise our future is doomed

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_472430.html

Jan 1, 2010
ANOTHER TIME BOMB
Callousness towards elderly

THIS week's three-part series, 'Teen crime: A ticking time bomb', exposed one of the consequences of the endless rat race that defines life in Singapore since independence. A parallel time bomb has also started ticking: callousness towards the elderly.

One can witness this daily in public places as well as MRT trains and buses where 'priority seat' signs are routinely ignored with insouciance, mostly by the able-bodied young, much to the dismay of the elderly.

As if this is not bad enough, I was aghast the other day to see a 70-something gentleman surrender his seat in a crowded bus to a woman carrying a baby, while loud-talking youths seemed oblivious to what was happening.

The inability of the young to project their concerns beyond their own comfort zone is worrying. Their lack of empathy for the elderly is ominously detrimental to Singapore.

To be fair, we do have many wellbehaved youths in our midst, but as far as I can tell, they are outnumbered by the bad apples. Spontaneous display of courtesy and respect for the elderly should become the norm, not a rarity.

Many elderly have responded to the Government's call to work beyond age 65. The best - and least - the young can do is to convince them they too have a place here; the worst is to make them feel they are overstaying their welcome.

Our progress as a nation will be judged by how we treat the most vulnerable in society. It seems we have much to do to make the grade.

Lee Seck Kay

Queen Seok Duk

The youngsters are the problem, not the cause of the problem.

What is the point of pointing out the phenomenon ? Does that make Mr Lee Seck Kay a better person ? Mr Lee should gather his balls and go for the root of the problem.

Who did Mr Lee vote for the last time ?

u hv spent a lot of moni, time n effort 2 build sumting ...

den u discover dat ur product is flawed ... all bcos of ur own lousy design ...

wat u do? ... throw it aside n go n buy other ppl's products lor! ...

if u r n employee, wat u tink ur boss will do 2 u? ... he no nid 2 tel u, u oso noe u nid 2 wok ...

if u r ur own boss leh? ... moni can ofcos anyhow throw la ...

but bestest is wen iz not ur own moni ...

S

Sun Wukong

We need to import 1.5 million PRC grads between 15 and 25 years old and just hope that would be enough to make all these sinkies irrelevant

This message above alone is already spam itself. Can be found in estimated 90% of your postings. Maybe i should introduce to you my Sun Wukong's
kick. :biggrin:

khunking

We need this guy to improve our restaurants' level of service.

<object width="320" height="265"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/7RwLpCJx1Z0&hl=en_GB&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/7RwLpCJx1Z0&hl=en_GB&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="320" height="265"></embed></object>

Otherwise our future is doomed

The youngsters are the problem, not the cause of the problem.

What is the point of pointing out the phenomenon ? Does that make Mr Lee Seck Kay a better person ? Mr Lee should gather his balls and go for the root of the problem.

Who did Mr Lee vote for the last time ?

The cause, & source of the problem is the writer, you & me & others, wether we voted PAP or not.

The 66.6% and before contributed to the source & cause of the problem, for they had perctuated an ever evolving education system that is void of moral values, family values, and a system that promotes materialism as a religion.

The SINkinporeans voters (66.6%) ensured that, this is continued, so this Mr. Lee, should examine himself in the mirror before he comment, for he is in fact stating the fact, that he, the product of the system; is rotten inside!:rolleyes:

One rotten apple calling the other apples...ROTTEN! uniquely SINking pore!:biggrin: