• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ghost Writer: NS Should Only Be Reserved for Sporns! Do U Feel Like Slapping This Dog

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Modified NS for new citizens shouldn't be a productivity exercise
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I AGREE with Mr Xiao Fuchun that a two-year national service (NS) for adult naturalised citizens makes little sense ('NS for adult new citizens not practical', Aug 11), hence my suggestion of a shorter, modified NS in my letter, 'Make English and modified NS a must' (Aug 7), which would make NS for adult naturalised citizens practical, even if it requires careful planning.
My suggestion derives from a desire for greater integration of naturalised citizens in society. Any talk of making them pay a price for their new citizenship simply because 'many view NS as a liability borne by Singaporeans' is counter-productive. We must prevent modified NS from becoming simply an exercise in making some people 'do their duty'.
Mr Xiao rightly pointed out that the Singapore Armed Forces' (SAF) mission is to defend Singapore militarily. In the unfortunate event that Singapore finds itself engaged in military conflict, being one united people we must not ask ourselves, 'Why are naturalised Singaporeans not required to engage in combat?'
We should, instead, be concerned about how thousands (perhaps even tens of thousands) of our able-bodied men will defend their loved ones and their way of life without basic knowledge of rifle and hand-grenade use. Such knowledge does not require lengthy training. Moreover, do they really want to be defenceless like women, children and the elderly when they could easily be trained to take on an active defence role before the need arises?
The argument that those in their late 20s or older are not physically suited for infantry duty is a weak one. Many soldiers doing reservist duties are in their 30s.
NS is not limited to service in the SAF. It can also be done in the police or civil defence. Modified NS in the three forces would also help meet their manpower needs. No uniformed group can claim it currently has excess manpower.
If implemented, modified NS must be carried out so that it minimises disruption of participants' economically productive activities, just as in-camp training and mobilisation exercises are done without major interference with NSmen's work and family lives, whenever possible.
We should stop treating our adult naturalised citizens as mere productive units in the Singapore economic engine. Doing so is a waste of our limited, precious resources.
Michael Ang

Re: Ghost Writer: NS Should Only Be Reserved for Sporns! Do U Feel Like Slapping This

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>'War for talent' precludes NS liabilities for new citizens
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to the letter by Mr Michael Ang, 'Make English and modified NS a must' (Aug 7).
I disagree with his suggestions, which would effectively make it less attractive for immigrants to choose Singapore as their destination of choice.
One flawed assumption is that Singapore is the only country of choice. There are many other competing destinations with far superior pull factors. The future of our economy depends on how we fight the 'war for talent'. The future belongs to countries that can attract the best talent, in which demand far exceeds future supply.
National service (NS) is nowadays considered the exclusive privilege of the Singaporean male - almost all look forward to it and serve the nation with pride and distinction. However, women, who do not do NS, are not considered less Singaporean. So I do not see any merit in imposing modified NS on new male immigrants.
My parents and in-laws are first-generation immigrants who helped build modern Singapore. They have lived their whole lives, sometimes in a daze, with dialect as their medium of communication, probably picking up some Mandarin and Malay on the way. So given time, I believe current immigrants, who are much better educated, can adapt and blend well with our local culture.
Immigration has been a feature of our history from the start. It has brought about the present cultural diversity that has enriched our lives and grown our economy. We should be proud to live in a society that many others seek to join. Of course, we should be mindful of our capacity to absorb and integrate immigrants fully, and so it seems sensible to manage the inflow carefully.
Dr Edmund Lam

Re: Ghost Writer: NS Should Only Be Reserved for Sporns! Do U Feel Like Slapping This

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>New citizens have a duty to serve Singapore as well

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Mr Xiao Fuchun's letter, 'NS for adult new citizens not practical' (Aug 11).
Singapore has been consistent in promoting a system of equality. National Service (NS) is a duty every Singapore citizen, old or new, owes the country.
It would not be fair to use 'manpower requirements' to decide whether or not a new citizen is conscripted. If staffing needs were used as a yardstick in this situation, would it not be appropriate then to also exempt Singapore-born citizens from duty if manpower requirements have been fulfilled or are not pressing?
Similarly, economic productivity should never be used as a reason to exempt new citizens from NS. This appears discriminatory towards citizens of 'less economic value'.
Finally, we should not assume that new citizens in their late 20s or beyond do not have the required fitness to serve the country.
Most servicemen serve well beyond their 30s (40s for officers) as part of their reservist training. If Singapore-born citizens can serve at that age, why not new citizens?
Even if new citizens are certified medically unfit, they can be categorised as such and posted to less physically challenging vocations, just like Singapore-born citizens.
NS was conceived to defend Singapore militarily. In the unfortunate event that war breaks out, Singapore-born citizens like me want to fight beside new citizens because we see them as our own.
New citizens are not merely citizens in name, by virtue of their identity cards. They owe a duty to Singapore, just like everyone of us. And this duty includes NS.
Javern Sim

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Ask Jet Li to do NS and ask all the Indians too.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: sakuratoratora at Sat Aug 22 10:59:12 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Equality is only an aspiration ... come back down to earth.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: qwethor888 at Sat Aug 22 10:55:42 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>It is obvious this issue of NS for new citizens will not go away. Clearly, the govt. must sense the feelings of the local population and address the policy somehow.

I really do not believe a modified NS is the right answer, but possibly an alternative revolving around community service of some sort. The program should be intregrated with existing citizens and not just new citizens. The purpose is to give back to society and integrate.
http://imranwrites.blogspot.com/
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Charro_1968 at Sat Aug 22 09:22:34 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>As the government has kept emphasising, these people serve by boosting our population and helping in the economy.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: SeenItAll at Sat Aug 22 09:01:39 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Tiu Kwang Yew

But the main root problem is PAP.

Remove PAP. the NS issue can be brought to the table once more.

as for now, the PAP bastards and skunks and pigs and swines will not care a hoot unless they are trashed at the next GE.

so ST forummers may be good at ST forum, they also must spread the words on the ground---rid PAP, and sinkapore will be in peace !!!

longbow

Amex - Membership has it privileges.

Can we then chose not to be part of the group and thus not take up these privileges.

Blue6

Dr. Edmund Lam. I will assume he had serve NS. That will mean rudimentary Infantry training and a rank of Captain at the minimum.

How many kilometers had he slogged under the Sun?

How many gut wrenching kilometers had he ran under a combat load?

How many nights of sleeping under the stars in cold wet nights?

How many hours and kilometers in drenching rain?

How many high incline hills had he walked, ran or charged up?

How many times was he ever under the mercy of army logistics on the issue of food and water delivery delays?

Don't rub it in!

Dr. Edmund Lam. I will assume he had serve NS. That will mean rudimentary Infantry training and a rank of Captain at the minimum.

Hi there. I did the whole nine yards... BMT, section leaders, OCS followed by a conversion course.

I was baked by the sun, soaked to the bone in the rain, tortured in the jungle, frozen and lashed by hurricane winds in Taiwan, ran 5km in FBO and 10km in SBO (which included a freakin' 2kg steel helmet in the good old days). My conclusion?... it was indeed a privilege. I enjoyed every minute of it. Pain is good. Pain is honorable. Pain makes one a better person.

I am convinced that what does not kill you will make you stronger and I had the satisfaction of knowing that the pain and suffering I was put through would put me in the best possible position to defend my family, my property and my way of life.

NS has nothing to do with the PAP. It's about the citizens of Singapore collectively rising to the occasion in defence of the nation.

>>>NS has nothing to do with the PAP. It's about the citizens of Singapore collectively rising to the occasion in defence of the nation.<<<

If NS is so good, why are Sporns standing still and watching with mouth wide opened & the balls no where to be found as Peesai is being overrun by FTrash?

i_am_belle

yeah feel like slapping that running-dog/bootlicker (pls don't call him 'dog', pls don't insult those wonderful faithful animals - man's best friend) ...

as for 'dr edmund lam' sounds like a freaking hongkonger's name ... a PR who never served a day in his life ...

my salute to all the (local) guys that have served NS - not so much the 2-year NS but the horrible reservist duties their entire life until 40 years old ...

We should stop treating our adult naturalised citizens as mere productive units in the Singapore economic engine. Doing so is a waste of our limited, precious resources.
Michael Ang

questions:

imagine Konfrontasi Part 2, only thing it is only our neighbors slugging it out. what can Singapore do when no resource comes in and/or no products go out?

to make things more interesting, no shells ever land on our island. what do we do? sit around and suck thumb? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

boring

Hi there. I did the whole nine yards... BMT, section leaders, OCS followed by a conversion course.

I was baked by the sun, soaked to the bone in the rain, tortured in the jungle, frozen and lashed by hurricane winds in Taiwan, ran 5km in FBO and 10km in SBO (which included a freakin' 2kg steel helmet in the good old days). My conclusion?... it was indeed a privilege. I enjoyed every minute of it. Pain is good. Pain is honorable. Pain makes one a better person.

I am convinced that what does not kill you will make you stronger and I had the satisfaction of knowing that the pain and suffering I was put through would put me in the best possible position to defend my family, my property and my way of life.

NS has nothing to do with the PAP. It's about the citizens of Singapore collectively rising to the occasion in defence of the nation.

ah leong, u had forgotten the most important thing, ns made sinkie men super submissive, only yes and yes, no brain wothless men to screw by pap, sinkie women and ft...:oIo:

boring

and samkie, add one more thing, a man do not need to serve the jiby ns to become strong, u moron!!!:oIo:

fishbuff

wtf are u talking about? u have claimed that u are not the original sammyboy but another owner of this nickname, adopt the previous talking pattern of the previous "sammyboy" and now u claimed that u have done ns and all that jazz? man, your credibility is already in the drain, and whatever u had claimed now is as good as lies.

2lanu

By saying this, I confirmed you are not the original forum master. The original guy did mentioned he was of another vocation from what is stated above. :rolleyes:

I agreed with with these, but for me to fight for those that never go thru this hardship. I want to say this to you, "Go to hell if he have to, why you din you go thru this privilege white scum gave you? You deserve the worst if war struck!"

Of course I will defend my family and my property. But that does not include those scum who had not. Maybe those white scums have promised your safety, but I dun remember I had.

Yeah, those regulars and generals will peg their pay and bonus to the economy(again!) but when war strike, they "planned" themselves to stay behind fire line and organize NSmen to charge forward. Where is the logic then? Collectively? Nice planning huh... Thank but no thank...:oIo:

2lanu

If NS is so good, why are Sporns standing still and watching with mouth wide opened & the balls no where to be found as Peesai is being overrun by FTrash?

The local are like tigers with teeth saw off. When war, white scums will issue the teeth fixed on to go frontline to fight.

Where are they? They will be hiding some tunnel underneath:oIo:

2lanu

wtf are u talking about? u have claimed that u are not the original sammyboy but another owner of this nickname, adopt the previous talking pattern of the previous "sammyboy" and now u claimed that u have done ns and all that jazz? man, your credibility is already in the drain, and whatever u had claimed now is as good as lies.

Din know u posted before me. You also spotted the different person too. :cool:

Royalblood

Fuck you samleong chao cheebye!:oIo:

You like NS is your fucking problem! Obviously your brains kenna sun damaged liao!

Seriously, what's the point of holding such a large arm forces in the place we are currently in? The nearest 2 threats Matland pennisular and Matland archipelago are both perpetually in fucking political mess/ scandal and their armed forces hardware are all freaking outdated. In this current shape they are in, they would be happy enough that there is no major civil war in their fucked up country. Do they really have the energy to wage war against SG?
Do they have the fucking money to do so?

Ok assuming the threat is fucking real in Singapore. If this is really the case, why is only men enlisted for NS? Why not the women? Those chao cheebyes can sign on as a regular combat specs/ officer but cannot serve NS ah!!!??? WTF kind of logic is this??? Men go frontline and die while the SG bitches stay back and shake leg or run away with their angmo lovers!???:oIo:

It is a fact of life that not every men is the cut for soldier. Instead of quantity, why not quality? SAF would do better building up an armed forces staff by PROs instead of SLAVES!!!!! They can also start a scheme whereby those siao-on citizens can volunteer their time with the armed forces!

So i say SAF is truely a fucking wayang slave machine. Just there to suck 2 years of our prime and pay us lousy allowance, or better still, make us go trainning until we die so that all the PAP favourite FT men can come conquer Singapore easily! KAN!

Credibility? :confused: "Sam Leong" isn't a person. "Sam Leong" is an internet moniker. Credibility doesn't figure at all.

I always wonder why so many sinkie twits try to put a real life face to each nick. It's ridiculous and a futile exercise. :rolleyes:

I have 3 nicks in this forum. An entirely different persona is adopted for each one. Nobody would ever dream they are one and the same.:biggrin:

boring

Credibility? :confused: "Sam Leong" isn't a person. "Sam Leong" is an internet moniker. Credibility doesn't figure at all.

I always wonder why so many sinkie twits try to put a real life face to each nick. It's ridiculous and a futile exercise. :rolleyes:

I have 3 nicks in this forum. An entirely different persona is adopted for each one. Nobody would ever dream they are one and the same.:biggrin:

don't try to smoke, u chao ah qua soldier wannabe:rolleyes: