• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Overseas students don't want to work in Singapore

MarrickG

20090728.182733_overseasstudents_myp.jpg

Jonah , 22, has been studying in US for less than a year, but he has already decided that he will not return to Singapore to work after graduation.

A first-year student taking computer science at Stanford University, he says that US is far ahead of Singapore in science and technology. Situated near the Silicon Valley, Stanford's outstanding students are offered jobs by top IT firms even before they graduate.

"They have the world's top firms like Google, Microsoft and Apple - companies that value creativity. Working for them will broaden my horizons and improve my resume," he told my paper.

"While there are also many multi-national companies in Singapore, my impression is that they focus on product assembly, marketing and sales."

According to a survey by Experiences 2009, the organiser of an annual US education convention, there are quite a lot of overseas students who think like Jonah.

According to the survey of 153 Singaporean undergraduates at 15 top US universities, as many as 79 per cent prefer to work in US after they graduate. Only 18.1 per cent want to return to Singapore immediately after they complete their studies.

At Chung Cheng High School's 70th anniversary celebration last month, Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong expressed his concerns about this phenomenon. He said that more than one-fifth of the students who performed well between 1996 to 1999 (those who scored at least four 'A's and a B3 in General Paper) are no longer working in Singapore a decade later.

More than one third of those who studied overseas and did not receive scholarships are also not working in Singapore.

In SM Goh's speech he pointed out Singapore's conundrum - while preparing our students to be 'entrepreneurial and world-ready', we are also 'growing wings' on them and more students will be heading overseas to develop their careers in future.

Why they leave

Why has Singapore no hold for these students? Do they leave because the pull factors from other countries are much stronger?

Students interviewed by my paper say that they leave not only because of the lack of job opportunities, but also because Singapore is too stressful, or because they don't feel appreciated.

Ng Hui Jin, 20, a Biology student at Imperial College in UK said that the pace of life is so fast in Singapore she can barely catch her breath at times. She feels that Europeans place more emphasis on quality of life. The pace is slower there and her classmates do not compare their results.

"Perhaps the learning environment and lifestyle here is what keeps Singaporean students in Europe," said Hui Jin.

Ridy Lie, 28, who graduated from Carnegie Mellon in 2003 has worked at Amazon.com for six years. He said that he likes the free and easy culture in American IT companies. A software developer, he can wear t-shirt and jeans to work, and their supervisors do not require that they report to work by a certain time.

"The company also provides a two-storey recreation area which includes a basketball court, arcade and gym. Our bosses even encourage us to spend our time there during work hours, to get inspiration."

Higher pay also played a part in his decision to stay in the US.

"Big IT firms in US will pay a fresh grad between US$60,000 to US$80,000 (S$87,000 to S$115,000) while investment banks and consultancies can pay up to US$90,000 (S$130,000), this is practically three to five times more than what they can get in Singapore."

At least one student says that she wants to leave because she doesn't feel appreciated.

After the financial crisis last year, many firms around the world retrenched a large number of employees and quite a number of graduates made their way back home but were unable to find a job in Singapore.

London School of Economics graduate Ruchika Tulskyan, 22, applied to 20 companies for a job but received no response.

"The government has been encouraging overseas students to return to Singapore, but Singaporean corporations do not seem to hold the same attitude. It has made me doubt my decision to come back."

Disappointed, Ruchika has decided to further her studies at Columbia University next month.

Char_Azn

Why do U think the government spend so much money to get the elites from other countries to study or work here? Its to increase the talent pool. There has been a lot of article about this for years now.

A side effect of globalization is that talents from your own country can easily hop over to the competition. There is an urgent need for all countries to do whatever they can to retain their talented and try to dig talented pple from other countries. A good example would be what PRC did recently, they offered PRCs who have migrated overseas, very good package to go back home and also offer million dollar packages to top researchers to work there.

Sadlywe're usually not the top choice destination which is why there is an even greater need to for the government to continue trying to retain local talents and attract talented pple from other countries

commoner

1stly the govt lure these foreign scholars basically by money,,,, if they can be attracted by money to come singapore, they will be attracted to other countries by more money and benefits,,,,

same goes to the government, who claims higher salary for them will prevent corruption,,,, it simply increases the base money for corruption big time thats all,,,,

MarrickG

Sadly, we're usually not the top choice destination which is why there is an even greater need to for the government to continue trying to retain local talents and attract talented pple from other countries

I'm sure if we open up our recruitment for MPs and Ministers, we would be the top destination choice for FT politicans as we pay the best.

Eurekas

US provide good oppotunities even for mediocre graduates even for students who completely screwed up their studies. They still can be road sweepers, mechanics and plumbers and earn a decent wage of US$10 per hour. However this type of jobs in Singapore usually pays less than $1000 a month, so majority of these jobs are taken up by PRC or Bangla trash.

Surprise no one brought up NS:confused:

How to juggle a career & all the nonsense that comes with reservist commitments. When a foreigner can suka suka enter the Spore job market so easily.

Char_Azn

Whats wrong with NS? As far as I'm concern, Reservist serves as a good holiday camp from my stressful working environment. Go back sleep for 2 weeks, no need to think. Plus get free running shoes, bags and watever other equipment U can get from E-mart. Its like an extra 2 weeks of leave for me. So far every company I've work for have been very NS supportive

2lanu

The "setup" of US and SG are completely different. US is the creator of innovative products to sell worldwide while SG(in fact Asia) are the sweat shop that try to churn out high volume to make $$$. Of course given a choice, people would choose the better choice of US or Europe.

SG is trying to create something like the West by importing FT from Asia. But these FT too, if given a chance will want to go to the West. :rolleyes:

2lanu

Whats wrong with NS? As far as I'm concern, Reservist serves as a good holiday camp from my stressful working environment. Go back sleep for 2 weeks, no need to think. Plus get free running shoes, bags and watever other equipment U can get from E-mart. Its like an extra 2 weeks of leave for me. So far every company I've work for have been very NS supportive

Reservist is good for some vocation. Like officers going back for meeting (kopi sessions) or clerks and drivers paid to go back and slack. Those going back to attack hills or do standby got the worst. It's better to stay at work rather than go reservist and got injury or physical burnout. :rolleyes:

Jonah , 22, has been studying in US for less than a year, but he has already decided that he will not return to Singapore to work after graduation.

VEry good, i hope more sinkies are getting smart to unsinkified themselves this way. It is good for their future. They realise that they dun owe the govt a living so why go back.

Ng Hui Jin, 20, a Biology student at Imperial College in UK said that the pace of life is so fast in Singapore she can barely catch her breath at times. She feels that Europeans place more emphasis on quality of life. The pace is slower there and her classmates do not compare their results.

See? that is called the real life for humans.

Why do U think the government spend so much money to get the elites from other countries to study or work here? Its to increase the talent pool. There has been a lot of article about this for years now.

A side effect of globalization is that talents from your own country can easily hop over to the competition. There is an urgent need for all countries to do whatever they can to retain their talented and try to dig talented pple from other countries. A good example would be what PRC did recently, they offered PRCs who have migrated overseas, very good package to go back home and also offer million dollar packages to top researchers to work there.

Sadlywe're usually not the top choice destination which is why there is an even greater need to for the government to continue trying to retain local talents and attract talented pple from other countries

Your govt cannot solve the problem, it only creates more problem and thinks that by throwing in money they can solve it. That is the usual solution of someone below competent level. and in the end they create more problems.

If the country is good, globalisation will not caused a leak in talent and in fact, the talent will go back to his own country. Dun blame globalisation, it is your govt who paid themselves highly and then pissed off people with inflation that fits for a millionaire and expect people to get by it. what a joke.

There is one way to retain local talent, change you govt for goodness sake, the people in there have no clues in getting problem solved.

Whats wrong with NS? As far as I'm concern, Reservist serves as a good holiday camp from my stressful working environment. ....

I'm sure there are people have with alot of spare time e.g. those in gov't & GLC.

However If you work in an MNC where head count is strictly controlled, there's no one to cover for you. Plenty of 'real' work to do that won't get done when you aren't there.

This is especially true when you are doing regional work.

If you tell the boss you are stuck in Spore because of non-essential in-camp training, you'll soon be out of a job. They can find a cheaper alternative foreigners :rolleyes:

How about the self-employed :confused: If the guys who started google had to deal with NS how successful would they have been:confused:

We'll never how much of an impact NS has an but take a look at all the Spore success stories. How many are there :confused:

Blazars

We'll never how much of an impact NS has an but take a look at all the Spore success stories. How many are there :confused:

U make a good point. NS really takes up too much of a time for those self-employed. But ultimately, Spore is jus too stressful. I hav a cousin who went NZ study. IF not for families here, he n his wife would hav remain in NZ. Personally, I hope opportunity comes and i will get out of here. No NS & no pappy. And no wayang NDP.
!&!!

"While there are also many multi-national companies in Singapore, my impression is that they focus on product assembly, marketing and sales."

...and reserving jobs and opportunties for FTrash?

>>>"Big IT firms in US will pay a fresh grad between US$60,000 to US$80,000 (S$87,000 to S$115,000) while investment banks and consultancies can pay up to US$90,000 (S$130,000), this is practically three to five times more than what they can get in Singapore."<<<

1-3.jpg

This ingrate is LYING!

Singapore's World Records
On this small island lives the 30 best-paid politicians in the world, comments a blogger. MySingaporeNews.
Apr 3, 2009
As the economic crisis worsens and thousands are being retrenched, the huge salaries of Singapore's political leaders have come under the spotlight not only here - but overseas.
With G20 leaders gathering in London to work out solutions to the global crisis, the Times compiled a list of "the 10 best-paid politicians in the world" - naturally with Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong taking the top spot.
The story was picked up by The Australia, which also works out their salaries when ranked against population.
Mr Lee earns S$3.76 million (US$2.47 million) a year, excluding bonuses, allowances, pensions, etc which add on a significant bit.
This is about 54 cents per head of population. In second position was his counterpart from New Zealand at 9 cents. The rest of the world are all down there, below even the lowest-ranking minister in Singapore.
But Singaporean blogger redbean's "My Singapore News" carries a calculation from its reader, Green Peas, expanding on the UK and Australian reports.
It pointed out that the world's 30 best-paid politicians (a definition that will include ministers, elected president, etc) are all from Singapore.
Here's what the blogger says:
The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:
1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$3.9 million.
2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.
3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.
4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.
5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.
6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.
7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million
8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.
9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.
10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.
11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.
12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.
13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.
14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.
16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.
17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.
18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.
19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.
20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.
21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million.
22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.
23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.
Note: 1. The above pay does not include MP allowances, pensions and other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmnship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to Gov-linked and gov-related organisations or foreign MNCs such as Citigroup, etc.
2. Though it is based on an estimate, the data cannot be far off the official salary scales.
The above was posted in redbeanforum by Green Peas.
(London Times report: http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mon...the-world.html)
http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/...icians-in.html

IF not for families here, he n his wife would hav remain in NZ. Personally, I hope opportunity comes and i will get out of here. No NS & no pappy. And no wayang NDP.
!&!!

Big, big, big,...mistake comming back to Spore. He'll eventually realise his mistake. Even if he's got family in Spore, if he's struggling they'll all suffer together. If he's living comfortably in NZ he can better help his family in Spore.

If he gets a NZ citizenship, he should be able to work in Aust & NZ for better condiion & pay. Can even get a job as an FT working in Spore:smile:

LKY has screwed Spore, even if he ups the lorry the legacy of world class gov't pay, horde of foreigners, casinos,...is going to be bad for lesser mortals :rolleyes:

>>>Why do U think the government spend so much money to get the elites from other countries to study or work here? Its to increase the talent pool. <<<

Till your master learns how to distinguish talent from trash and cum clean with their real intention for importing trash to replace Sporns, this assumption remains debatable. Btw, u admit that the Papayas are 'spending so much money', which can be used in grooming local talents.

This is not a phenomenon that just affecting Singapore. Anyone going to a 1st world nation to further their studies from a 3rd world country will be attracted by the opportunities in these advanced nations.

If the government had enough sense, they would have built more Universities, with higher standards and at a affordable costs to retain its best.

Instead they developed a strategy to have 2 Unis, sending all the bright sparks to overseas Unis. At the end of the day

You not only lose your brains, you also lose your body mass as well.

Though Goh revealed that one fifth of those who scored high did not return, he did not reveal how many of the rest who did not qualify for local uni and those below the elite who went overseas never came back.

20090728.182733_overseasstudents_myp.jpg