• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Irish Buay Song No Freebies from PAPee!

Poor thing! Perhaps serving NS and completing 13-yr reservist cycle then come back to talk cock might help? *ptui*

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Expats better off? Feeling is understandable but untrue
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->READING Ms Lydia Rahman's Monday letter, 'Expats score at expense of others', it is not difficult to sense her frustration, and perhaps, her anger and irritation at those foreigners in Singapore who have a better lifestyle than she and other native Singaporeans.
It is also not hard to understand how she and many other Singaporeans feel about these matters. However, despite her well-written words, her arguments lack logic. I am Irish and I have lived here for eight years, mostly by renting Housing Board flats. Saying that the Government makes life 'so much rosier for these foreigners' seems to ignore the fact that the Government doesn't offer interest-free car loans, high salaries, hardship allowances, relocation allowances or housing allowances to foreigners.
It is foreign companies that have invested here that choose to compensate their employees in this manner, not the Singapore Government. (while ignoring the fact that 60% of the economy is controlled by the ang moh loving Familee?)
A policy of economic discrimination based on the colour of our identity cards is tantamount to advocating a policy of racial discrimination.
Such a policy may prove popular among coffee shop philosophers, but it would have little effect on the foreign workers she is referring to in her letter. Most expatriate workers in Singapore like myself do not receive benefits such as those mentioned by Ms Rahman. (then come to Peesai for fxxx? Ah, he forgot to tell you that thanks to the white dick loving nature of the Papayas, he is able to make x times more than when he's in his home cuntry! And that the job can be easily filled by a Sporn)
A quick poll of my three expatriate colleagues revealed that none received any of these fabled benefits.
Among the four of us, (incidentally representing four countries in three continents), only one had ever been in receipt of a housing allowance.
Currently, none of us has any work-related benefits other than the usual medical provisions.
As an aside, my own country, Ireland, has experienced an influx of foreigners over the past few years and people there also complain about those immigrants.
The complaints, however, are that those immigrants are being offered public housing and other benefits before native-born citizens. (But do Irish need to serve NS?) In Singapore, this hasn't happened and is unlikely to at any time in the near future. Most expats here do not receive any benefits at the expense of Singaporeans. For example, we do not receive subsidised public housing nor are we allowed to buy public housing. Rent accounts for a large portion of our expenses - rent paid to our Singapore landlords incidentally. (But do FTrash need to serve NS? Do they need to pay MUCH more than Sporns in terms of taxes?)
Your passion is obvious, Ms Rahman, but perhaps you could channel it towards finding a positive solution. Discrimination of any kind does not solve problems.
John Kernan

Just look at his fxxx up qualifications. Sg is the only place in the world that still worships him like God cos of the senility of 1 Old Fart!

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432

John Kernan

Lecturer at Raffles Campus Business School
Singapore

<DL><DT>Current </DT><DD>
  • Lecturer at Raffles Campus Business School
</DD><DT>Past </DT><DD>
  • General Manager at Durty Nelly's Irish Pub
  • Consultant at Me Fein (Self-employed)
  • Outlet Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat
  • Operations Manager at McCraic Holdings
  • Outlet Manager at Forte Grand Abu Dhabi
see less...

2 more...
</DD><DT>Education </DT><DD>
  • Singapore Training and Development Association
  • Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology
</DD><DT class=connections>Connections </DT><DD class=connections>
icon_conx_08_24x24.gif
16 connections </DD><DT>Industry </DT><DD>Hospitality </DD></DL>
<HR><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> if (window.addEventListener || window.attachEvent) { showHide.init(); } </SCRIPT>John Kernan’s Summary

John Kernan’s Specialties:

Training & assessment design and delivery.

<HR>John Kernan’s Experience

• <LI class="experience vevent vcard">http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameLecturer

Raffles Campus Business School

(Educational Institution; Education Management industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=2008>2008</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtstamp title=2008-08-27>Present</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P>(less than a year)</ABBR>
    <LI class="experience vevent vcard">http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameGeneral Manager

Durty Nelly's Irish Pub

(Privately Held; Food & Beverages industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=2007>2007</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=2008>2008</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P1Y>(1 year)</ABBR>
    <LI class="experience vevent vcard">http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameConsultant

Me Fein (Self-employed)

(Self-Employed; Food & Beverages industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=2006>2006</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=2007>2007</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P1Y>(1 year)</ABBR>
    <LI class="experience vevent vcard">http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameOutlet Manager

Crowne Plaza Muscat

(Public Company; Food & Beverages industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=2003>2003</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=2006>2006</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P3Y>(3 years)</ABBR>
    <LI class="experience vevent vcard">http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameOperations Manager

McCraic Holdings

(Food & Beverages industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=2000>2000</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=2003>2003</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P3Y>(3 years)</ABBR>
  • http://www.linkedin.com/pub/4/10A/432#nameOutlet Manager

Forte Grand Abu Dhabi

(Hospitality industry)
    <ABBR class=dtstart title=1995>1995</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=1997>1997</ABBR> <ABBR class=duration title=P2Y>(2 years)</ABBR>
<HR>John Kernan’s Education

• <LI class="education vevent vcard">Singapore Training and Development Association

Advanced Certificate in training & Assessment, Training & Assessment, <ABBR class=dtstart title=2007-01-01>2007</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=2007-12-31>2007</ABBR>
  • Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology

<ABBR class=dtstart title=1986-01-01>1986</ABBR> — <ABBR class=dtend title=1990-12-31>1990</ABBR>

zack123

KNN this kind of resume and education also can become lecturer. Think he can sure TCSS and win over the idiotic panel that recruited him.

What a quack....

Another one of those dudes that employed in jobs that Sporns can easily do and come here to kao bei kao bu. And see how much space the 154th has allocated to them! When CSJ wants to publish a letter, the 154th would impose a word limit, but when FTrash wanna talk cock, they can use up whole drum of newsprint. If this is not discrimination, what is? Yet another 1 cuntry, 2 system thingy! *Ptui*

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Many expats live like ordinary Singaporeans
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Ms Lydia Rahman's letter 'Expats score at expense of others' on Monday. I think Ms Rahman has generalised everything according to her interpretation and expectations.
First, not all expats own cars: they take the MRT, buses and taxis, just as ordinary Singaporeans like you and I do. The ones who own cars are more likely to be families with children, as the wives normally ferry the children around, like some of us do.
Not every expat has perks like interest-free car loans, housing allowance, hardship allowance and relocation allowance (probably a one-off when they arrive), as Ms Rahman pointed out. Some are paid the same or lower than locals.
Most expats do not have their children's school fees paid for - yes, they actually pay out of their own pocket. Some opt for local schools where possible, but others have no choice but to pay the hefty fees of international schools.
Most expats, if not all, do not have their families with them in Singapore to save on housing costs. They definitely cannot apply for HDB flats.
All those expats with big, fat pay cheques are either at the level of chief executive officers or own their own businesses. They make up only a small percentage of expats here and are a different kettle of fish.
Young Singaporeans are not displaced in Singapore - they are venturing out to see the world and gaining new experiences. People leave for different reasons - the influx of expats is definitely not one of them.
A lot of Singaporeans have been quoted as saying that the lifestyle in Singapore is too hectic for them. It is not an option to change the pace of business here as we would fall behind the rest of the world. It is up to the individual to adapt. The Government is already doing its best by providing more parks and greenery for people to relax in.
A lot of expats appreciate Singapore more than most Singaporeans do. Some Singaporeans complain about minor things and forget what a great place this is. Be thankful that we live here.
The term 'expat' has been too widely associated with 'foreigners with big pay cheques, who are here to take over our country'. In fact, they are 'foreigners living outside their own countries, who are here to make a living - like you and me' - without family support and sometimes with discrimination from some locals even though they are already paying higher prices for certain things.
Lastly, what Ms Rahman proposed on separate car and fuel prices is just not practical. Just learn from some expats - buy a really old second hand car at a cheaper price or just take public transportation. I prefer the latter because I think we have a world-class public transport system - so do some of my foreigner friends.
Jennifer Young(Ms)

As an Irishman he should be used to many generations of discrimination ... Why start complaining now? :biggrin:

Cos he's in Peesai, where only Foreigners have human rights and freedom of speech and citizens have none of it?

troubledtimes

Galway mayo Institute of Technology? Thats the equivalent of ITE if you obtain a diploma there!! If singaporean has an ITE diploma, he will never b anything more than a toilet cleaner!