• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pinoy Wanna Make Full Use of PAPee Subsidies to Retire in Phuket Woh!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>April 26, 2009
THE EX-PAT FILES
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Primary school daze
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jervina Lao
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->Which school should I send my child to?
As my son nears the age for entering primary school, I find myself facing this question with increasing trepidation.
I've done my homework. I've trawled through the websites, investigated the schools and grilled parents with children in my targeted schools.
I've even resorted to stopping kids wearing the uniforms of the schools I'm looking into and interviewing them, all in an effort to come to a decision.
It's not easy. I've begun to realise that deciding on a school can be a nerve-racking exercise for many parents, Singaporean as well as expatriate.
My husband is from Greece and I am from the Philippines. I came here in 2001 to work at The Straits Times.
My husband joined me in 2003 and has since become an asset manager with a hotel company. We have two boys - one is five and the other, three.

=> Sure no Sporns can do their jobs?

One option for our children is an international school. In fact, to some expat families, the question is not whether to send Junior to an international school, but to which one.
Until recently, securing a place at a top-tier international school was like queueing up for a spot on American Idol, the high fees notwithstanding.
Until last year, the wait list for some international schools literally meant waiting for many years.
But with the current financial party pooper, many expats with hefty packages - that may have included generous schooling allowances - have been repatriated. Many of those who remain have stayed on with modest packages and are footing the school bill themselves.
Which leads me to the other option: Government-subsidised local schools.
For parents on modest budgets like me, it seems like a no-brainer. Do I mortgage my house and the rest of my working life to fork out the hefty sums for an international school - around $15,000 to $25,000 a year - or do I keep the money in my pocket and save for a nice retirement in Phuket by choosing a local school which costs next to nothing?
While going for a local school appears to be the easy choice, it very often is not for expats.
Foreign children who are not permanent residents fall at the bottom of the balloting barrel. This means they can get a place only after all the Singaporean and permanent resident children have secured places in schools.
Scratch out elite and branded schools. And cross out popular government schools. Be prepared for Junior to enter a school that is the last on any Singaporean parent's list.
'Nightmare, lah,' one of my Singaporean friends told me when I asked what was wrong if the child falls under Phase 3 of the balloting exercise.
There are also expat parents who won't even consider local schools as an option.
Singapore's education system, known for being achievement-oriented, is not everyone's cup of tea. The reputation of local schools as demanding, rigid and stressful has some expat parents regarding them as reminiscent of Dickensian sweatshops.
A few years ago, one of our good friends who had lived in Singapore for close to 10 years decided to quit his well-paying job, give up his and his family's permanent residency status and return to his native Australia.
His reason? Watching his then eight-year-old daughter spend her childhood toiling over worksheets and stressing over exams was giving him heartburn.
At one dinner I attended, I found myself embroiled in a heated discussion with another expat over the issue of international versus local schools.
All the verbal jujitsu I could muster couldn't convince her that I wasn't a nutter for contemplating sending my son to a local school.
Her reason? She cited her own niece who attends a local primary school - and who carries a bag almost as tall as herself and filled with her weight in books.
One expat father I know placed both his sons in an international school because the thought of them picking up Singlish with 'lor, lah, hor and meh' peppering their sentences made him and his wife cringe.
But for every parent who prefers international over local schools, there is another like the father I spoke with who is looking to pull his son out of an international school and place him in a local school because 'the lessons are much too easy for him. He's not being challenged enough'.
As for myself, having lived in Singapore for eight years, I've decided to go native.
I'm following that most hallowed of traditions practised by the most kiasu of Singaporean mums: I'm scheming one year ahead to get my child into the local school of my choice.
And which school have I decided on?
That's another tale.
The writer is an executive sub-editor with The Straits Times. She is a Filipino national and has lived here for the past eight years.

fishbuff

what is the big deal with the "lah and lor"? i strongly belive that that is an excuse of any remote sense which this writer will use to discredit and degrade the way of things are done in singapore, just to make her feel good and justified.
i deliberately peppered my speech with lah and lor while communicating with the aussies here, one to retain my distinction that i am from south east asia and two, i have my own personal characteristics of talk. they are opened enough to accept the differences so long the pronounciations are clear.

xebay11

"the thought of them picking up Singlish with 'lor, lah, hor and meh' peppering their sentences made him and his wife cringe."

Funny how these Ang Mo rejects have no where to go in their own land to have to come to a country to work which makes them cringe, anyone with real talent would never need to do that. In my case, the thought of going to India to work would make me cringe, but my skill set still allows me a good job in Singapore.

borom

Its good that they do not take up citizenship and will retire in Phuket-this family at least will not vote for the tyrant.
There is therefore no certainty that their imported FT's will vote for them.

This one even told the whole world that local schools are "demanding, rigid and stressful.....some expat parents regarding them as reminiscent of Dickensian sweatshops. " and yet is prepared to put her own son through the torture-so that she can save money to retire in Thailand !

What a good piece of advertisement for the pseudo world class place by non other than an editor in their propoganda machinery .
Not only stealing jobs from locals but also bite the hand that feed it.

funglung

Fuck you Lee Kuan Yew! This is the kind of shit we have to take as a result of your social re-engineering of this country.Fuck you again!

HOW ELSE DID BASTARD LEE KUAN YEW GOT FROM YOU ALL THAT 400-500++ BILLIONS INTO HIS TEMASICK AND GIC?

EVEN MORE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS INTO HIS RESERVES

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls
NOW YOU GETTING YOUR BALLS CUT OFF FROM YOU AND YOU AND YOUR FAMILY RAPED AND FUCKED BY LEE KUAN YEW AND HIS COCKROACHES IN WHITE

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

FIND YOUR BALLS TO PUT AN END TO LKY

or open your legs to be further screwed by him

these pinoys are of poor stock.. best can work as maids or work in orchard rd pubs only..

so doesn't matter whichever school she sent her kids to, will still end up as maids or working in some sleazy pubs ..:cool:

SamuelStalin

"the thought of them picking up Singlish with 'lor, lah, hor and meh' peppering their sentences made him and his wife cringe."

Funny how these Ang Mo rejects have no where to go in their own land to have to come to a country to work which makes them cringe, anyone with real talent would never need to do that. In my case, the thought of going to India to work would make me cringe, but my skill set still allows me a good job in Singapore.

Really fatty? That time I went to Bangladesh for a social visit I saw you in blue collar uniform working very hard.

SamuelStalin

these pinoys are of poor stock.. best can work as maids or work in orchard rd pubs only..

so doesn't matter whichever school she sent her kids to, will still end up as maids or working in some sleazy pubs ..:cool:

The father is from Greece, so they'd become greasy maids.

TheBonerman

Asset Manager and Sub-Editor are on MODEST budget? Wa, they must really come cheap!

anusxa darling, having a hard to bursting point boner this morning. Want to have a taste you silly cunt? Now go for the infraction button, pussy arse!:p

Vendetta

TLLM!

Why not you bend down and suck on your own limpy cock sia, maybe you might enjoy it since you are such a sicko?

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

tiulehloumoh

Fuck you Lee Kuan Yew! This is the kind of shit we have to take as a result of your social re-engineering of this country.Fuck you again!

See asshole kena assed hard by the old man........just like assholes over here....... born loser will be always kena assed...... he he he....

tiu leh lou moh kor hai, tai kor lor si pai.....
tiu leh lou dau kor fatt, ore si moh si fatt........he he he....

Communist

See asshole kena assed hard by the old man........just like assholes over here....... born loser will be always kena assed...... he he he....

Very good, mudskipper... Inchwmn3 or 4 or or whatever fuck lah little kukujiao!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

tiulehloumoh

Very good, mudskipper... Inchwmn3 or 4 or or whatever fuck lah little kukujiao!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Ha ha ha got no choice but to sing to my tune......what a pity assless guy...:rolleyes: