• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Snubbed By Own Govt, Sporns Welcomed in China!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Published April 17, 2009
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Singapore talent a big draw for MNCs in China

By ANNA TEO
<TABLE class=storyLinks cellSpacing=4 cellPadding=1 width=136 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Email this article</TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Print article </TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Feedback</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
(SINGAPORE) Singaporeans - along with Hongkongers - are, and will continue to be, a key source of foreign labour for China, a survey has found.

In turn, multinationals here that hire executives and other skilled staff from China say that almost half (48 per cent) of their foreign employees come from the mainland - and expect the proportion to grow over the next three years.
This reciprocal labour dependence between Singapore and China is one of the findings from the survey by KPMG International of 260 MNC senior executives in 11 economies on their priorities when deciding where and how to locate their businesses, and their hiring practices.
Some 18 per cent of the respondents from China indicated that they recruit from Singapore. Of these, 34 per cent of their foreign workforce are Singaporeans, according to the findings.
By far, Hong Kong and Singapore stand out as the biggest sources of foreign skills for China, with smaller 'contributions' from Korea, Japan and the US, although Malaysia, Australia and India are expected to make inroads into China's expatriate scene in the next three years.
<SCRIPT language=javascript> <!-- // Check for Mac. var strAgent; var blnMac; strAgent = navigator.userAgent; strAgent.indexOf('Mac') > 0 ? blnMac = true:blnMac = false; if (blnMac == true) { document.write('
'); } //--> </SCRIPT><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=4 width=300 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=middle>
greenline.gif

adgrey.gif

<!-- AdSpace --><IFRAME marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 src="http://ads.asia1.com.sg/html.ng/site=tbto&sec=btointhenews&cat1=bnews&cat2=btointhenewsart&size=300X250" frameBorder=0 width=300 scrolling=no height=250 bordercolor="#000000"><script language='JavaScript1.1' src='http://ads.asia1.com.sg/js.ng/Params.richmedia=yes&site=tbto&sec=btointhenews&cat1=bnews&cat2=btointhenewsart&size=300X250'></script><noscript> </noscript></IFRAME><!-- /AdSpace-->
greenline.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Singaporeans also figure as a key source of foreign labour for MNCs in Hong Kong, accounting for 46 per cent of their non-local staff. Other countries that list Singapore among their top 15 sources of foreign staff are Japan, Australia, Switzerland and the United States - but not the United Kingdom nor India.
Overall, what emerged from the survey conducted late last year is a growing pool of Chinese expatriates worldwide, with companies in Australia, India, Japan, Spain, the UK and US all planning big increases in the number of Chinese they employ.
The survey also found that while countries in Asia Pacific tend to rely on a small number of other states for workers, companies in the UK, Spain and the US show no particular preference as to where their foreign workers come from.
But some 60 per cent of suggested that 'businesses' preferred to hire local workers while a further 37 per cent had no preference.
And while there is growing pressure in many countries to protect domestic labour, and despite rising recruitment and wage costs, businesses recognise the advantages of diversifying their sources of skilled labour.
Singapore respondents, it seems, are second only to the Chinese in their enthusiasm for a strong government hand in attracting and retaining workers; elsewhere, in Europe particularly, businesses see that as their own responsibility.
In all, some 90 per cent of all respondents agreed that governments should collaborate by introducing more flexible immigration policies to attract workers to sectors where they are most required. Eight in 10 said immigration requirements should be relaxed overall.
And while tax policies aimed at improving labour flows are welcome, companies generally prefer direct incentives. They also value 'favourable business conditions' rather more than a well-qualified workforce when considering a new business location.
When asked where they would locate themselves if they were to start afresh next year, and again in five years' time, China came out the clear favourite, with the US in second spot for 2009 but overtaken by India for 2013.
In fourth and fifth positions are Singapore and Hong Kong, 'both punching well above their weight in GDP terms', the report notes.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Watchman

Singaporean government trying to do us all in !

While we trying to outsell our own technology to others before GLC does !

SamuelStalin

China should give first place to any Chinese from any other country and overlook their initial Mandarin capabilities - because any Chinese who stays long in enough in China will naturally pick up and speak proficient Mandarin eventually.

Chinese first, all others second.

China should give first place to any Chinese from any other country and overlook their initial Mandarin capabilities - because any Chinese who stays long in enough in China will naturally pick up and speak proficient Mandarin eventually.

Chinese first, all others second.

I think its a fair trade, Spore accepts China meis meis, ping pongers, dish washers, construction workers while we have educated Singaporeans going to China :rolleyes:

SamuelStalin

I think its a fair trade, Spore accepts China meis meis, ping pongers, dish washers, construction workers while we have educated Singaporeans going to China :rolleyes:

Well of course its fair. Both sides are not getting each other's "best and brightest" :wink::wink::wink:

☆Do not confuse the phrase "best and brightest" with "educated" - there is a big difference but I'm sure your command of English is strong enough to already know this :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

captainxerox

they like employ sgporeans as we are docile sheep can tekan. just like they like doing business with sgporeans as we can be fleeced.

Logisex

Hongkees are united in China. they are street smart, they take care of each other in/outside work and they dun give a shit to others including Sinkies. Sinkies are the opposite. Example:
My fellow Sinkie colleague in China wanted to extend his contract here but his HK boss does not agree to his terms, which is already below what some other expats like Hongkees are getting. So he went to look for job in Sinkie office but the Sinkie told him he is too expensive. In the end, Sinkie office offer him the job anyway. So is my collegue really "too expensive" or is just another stupid Sinkie putting another Sinkie down to cut cost for his collonial master (company is a British co.)?

Time is not the issue here as some Sinkies can't even proper putonghua after a few years here cause they dun bother to learn or try to fit into the culltur here. On the other hand, there are tons of Ang Mo who can speak very good PTH here.

To a PRC, they only give you some face to a foreigner if no choice (like you are his boss in a foreign MNC) or you are of some use to him (help him promote, make $$$ etc). So what if you share the same skin color with them? They can talk a lot of cock about anti-japanese but will still kowtow to them once the Japs show them the $$$. That's their true colors. PRCs are the most selfish, practical and ruthless lot.

Dun bother about the Ang Mo too cause they are here for cheap beers and dumb PRC girls who are too eagar to learn English from the supreme whire race in exchange for a free felatio.

So where do a Sinkie stand in China? Nowhere as long as they carry their SInkie attitude here in China.

☆Do not confuse the phrase "best and brightest" with "educated" - there is a big difference but I'm sure your command of English is strong enough to already know this :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Of course lah, I know the brightest & educated Sporeans are now ex-Sporeans.
Don't of course confuse these people with the "best paid" who are living in Spore :rolleyes:

travelbug

Think the caption for this post is wrong. Should be "Ah Tiongs Executives Headed to Spore in a Tidal Wave!"

It states that MNCs in Spore are hiring more Ah Tiongs from China instead. Spore's population is so damn small, it hardly figures even a drop in the ocean compared to China's 1 billion population.

So Sporeans still asleep in their jobs, don't know that MNCs here are already replacing executives from China & India. As long as there is a PAP gahment, they would NOT take care of your interests, you will be retrenched you will rot you will just wither. Every MNC foreign executive in top mgmt does NOT give a shit about hiring Spore executive cos they can fully utilize PAP's liberal employment laws & be patted on their backs for doing a good job in Spore!

End of road for this country.

shOUTloud

Hongkees are united in China. they are street smart, they take care of each other in/outside work and they dun give a shit to others including Sinkies. Sinkies are the opposite.

So where do a Sinkie stand in China? Nowhere as long as they carry their SInkie attitude here in China.

your "sinkie here" and "sinkie there" is so ironical in your posting condemning Singaporeans for not helping one another and putting one another down.