• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Young shoulder burden of housing crisis, while older reap profits: study

Hangover

• Young families pay more to live in smaller homes, further from jobs and with less security than their parents' generation, who instead reap profits from the country's housing shortage
  • The big danger today is that young people are having to settle for lower quality, longer commutes and less security in order to afford a place to live, despite spending a record share of their income of housing
  • Housing prices have more than doubled in the past two decades, and more than quadrupled in some locations. But average wages have risen by only a fraction of that amount.
  • While individual housing costs have increased for everyone, a record proportion of seniors own homes, which has boosted their wealth and income in later life, the report said. The baby boomers - the generation born in the two decades after World War Two - have been the biggest beneficiaries.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/rea...housing-crisis-while-older-reap-profits-study

Sounds like Singapore

PTADER

Fifty years from today, you will have the children of these "young" complaining that the "young" who will be then be "young + 50 years" older, are reaping "profits" as these children, the "new" young, "shoulder [the] burden of housing crisis"

• Young families pay more to live in smaller homes, further from jobs and with less security than their parents' generation, who instead reap profits from the country's housing shortage
  • The big danger today is that young people are having to settle for lower quality, longer commutes and less security in order to afford a place to live, despite spending a record share of their income of housing
  • Housing prices have more than doubled in the past two decades, and more than quadrupled in some locations. But average wages have risen by only a fraction of that amount.
  • While individual housing costs have increased for everyone, a record proportion of seniors own homes, which has boosted their wealth and income in later life, the report said. The baby boomers - the generation born in the two decades after World War Two - have been the biggest beneficiaries.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/rea...housing-crisis-while-older-reap-profits-study

Sounds like Singapore

nayr69sg

Staff member
Fifty years from today, you will have the children of these "young" complaining that the "young" who will be then be "young + 50 years" older, are reaping "profits" as these children, the "new" young, "shoulder [the] burden of housing crisis"

50 years from today there will be no more Singapore.

USA is big lor. Can't afford Cali, can move to texas.

The problem in the USA is that many of the cities are in areas that are vulnerable to climate change e.g. Hurricanes & floods. Just look at NYC, Texas, Miami, ...etc which have been hit by floods.

So even if they spend billions rebuilding there is no guarantee that these cities will not be hit again.

shittypore

50 years from today there will be no more Singapore.

50yrs frm now you get the PM who holds a dual citizenship, India and Nehpore. 80% population of Nehpore will be mixed, Ah Neh frm India, Pinoys, PRCs and Vietnames bal 20% will be losers Sinkies.

Hangover

The problem in the USA is that many of the cities are in areas that are vulnerable to climate change e.g. Hurricanes & floods. Just look at NYC, Texas, Miami, ...etc which have been hit by floods.

So even if they spend billions rebuilding there is no guarantee that these cities will not be hit again.

insurance will cover.
In Aust, such insurance are a standard requirements and covers even the clothings that you loss (if you have the receipts) and your temporary residence.

Hangover

Many people buy their home without thinking carefully; hoping to get in as soon as possible because their parents made a killing from local properties
but we are an advanced economy now - rates can go up, prices can go down and jobs can be lost.

bic_cherry

Nothing in this world compares to the wealth divide in Singapore

Nothing in this world compares
The best NDP song to play during MRT breakdowns and NS enlistment AND WALKOVER PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ....

I'm so fed up repeatedly hearing it @ NTUC unfair price, would be interesting playing it @ NS enlistment and MRT breakdowns to ?improve? the atmosphere ...
[video=youtube]https://youtu.be/DI2TeyDJ7Zo[/video]
[video=youtube_share;DI2TeyDJ7Zo]https://youtu.be/DI2TeyDJ7Zo[/video]

YouTube
3:30
[Official Music Video] Because It's Singapore! - NDP 2017 Theme Song; NDPeeps
Published on May 22, 2017
Title: Because It's Singapore!
Music by Lee Wei Song
Lyrics by Jay Lim

Step by step
Together we'll build our dreams
Heart to heart
Together we'll stay as one nation, undivided
Back to back
Together we'll brave the heat, the cold, the storms
Hand in hand
Together we'll grow this land that we call home

It's our Singaporean Life
Everyone is family, friend and neighbour
Living in harmony

To this island where it's home
Where we love and know we'll never be alone
Because it's Singapore (Just Believe)
This is Singapore (We Can Be)
Our Singapore (The world will see)
We are Singapore

mrtdelaymain.jpg

poll-bmt-face.jpg

The fact that Govt has been giving grants is to reduce damage politically.

The politics behind HDB is immense - huge voting bank, old man using drop in HDB prices as a threat to Tampines residents, not upgrading opposition wards, forming political town councils, saddling opposition MPs with municipal duties etc.

Hangover

not upgrading opposition wards, forming political town councils, saddling opposition MPs with municipal duties etc.

I visit bukit batok and potong pasir regularly (no longer an opposition ward for 7 years). You will be shocked by the poor maintenance and leaking pipes in the void deck. To be fair, opposition wards are still relatively well-managed.