• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Halimah Yacob - Even Xiaxue Wendy Cheng makes sense

Thick Face Black Heart

K Shuanmugam: "Malay President, Chinese Prime Minister and Indian Chief Justice. Representation of Singapore."

Xiaxue's FB response:

---

Xiaxue
Yesterday at 7:56pm ·

(Reposting because previous article cannot be shared - this one should be fine)

Don't play identity politics because it's a slippery slope that never ends. You will end up dividing the nation as collectivism takes over, separating people by into divisive groups competing with each other for so called equality - when people are supposed to be treated as individuals.

"The smallest minority on Earth is the individual. Those who deny individual rights cannot claim to be defenders of minorities." - Ayn Rand

Mr LKY has said Singapore is a meritocratic nation and its citizens should be judged by meritocracy - which is the fairest system there is - not given slack or victimhood status just because of race/religion/sexuality etc.

You want to start by saying there is a Malay President, a Chinese PM and an Indian Chief Justice?

Ok, where is the Eurasian? Let's split it further - women are 50% of the population, shouldn't our political leaders consist half of women? Judging by that, our cabinet is extremely sexist. And when you have half of them as women, make sure that you also put a good dose of intersectional feminism in there - make sure among the women minority races/groups are represented equally too.

Let's go on - a good portion of the population are either agnostic or atheist. Which politician is representing them in this group? What about all the other religions too including minor ones?

How about the LGBT community? We have no openly gay leaders, what an audacity! No trans people? Not diverse enough.

HEY. There are NO FAT PEOPLE in this picture. Why not? WEIGHTIST!

Wait a min. We have no reps for the disabled! Ableist. Oh my god I just realized all these leaders are middle aged! Nobody is representing the youth or the elderly! I demand a 16 year old Chief Justice.

Everyone is average to tall in this photo! Where my short people at? A midget! I demand a midget in cabinet to fairly represent me!

Our political leaders are all so clever and fancy with their law degrees and medicine degrees... A good part of Singaporeans don't have degrees, right? Our politicians must reflect that percentage too, for equality and diversity. More stupid people in cabinet, until the average IQ in there is the national average.

The dividing NEVER ENDS. And when you force only a small subset of the population to be able to run for presidency, that is pretty much giving a slap to meritocracy in the face.

You'd think we would have learnt from stupid America, who decided to open Pandora's box by playing with identity politics - and now the nation is more divided than ever.

But who are we kidding, people never learn. Thus the phrase "History repeats itself".

In fact, the division already started. I saw a popular tweet by a Malay Singaporean saying that only the Chinese are angry by the election results, followed by a sarcastic "I wonder why". So upsetting to read stuff like this. We are all Singaporeans that didn't get to vote, it's natural we are upset. Please don't make this a race thing. But hey this is an example of what identity politics do; divide people. You are Chinese? You are not part of my group.

It's a shame that Mdm Halimah isn't recognized by her own merits, but just crudely described as "Malay" and "female" in most articles.

Those two things she was simply born with, it requires no talent of her own and therefore shouldn't be anything to be proud of. She has been a public servant for 16 years, with a good record and is well liked by her constituency. Her experience and achievements should precede her title, not "Malay".

All the debate about whether she's Malay enough or not is disgusting. Argue that for what?! She's not just Malay, she is an individual person beyond her skin colour, so what race she is shouldn't be the issue! The issue should be that as a nation, we should be given the power to vote for whoever we wanted as our president, regardless of his/her race! I think that as a taxpayer who is contributing to the president's millions in salary, I should have some (however minuscule) say in who gets the post and therefore my money!

At least if Singaporeans elected her we can say that as a nation we believed that a woman can do what is traditionally a man's job and perhaps there is a little something to be proud of there, condescending as it is. But we weren't even given that chance.

So continue to call her "Malay President" I suppose - by all means emphasize the fact that her race is why she got elected (is that the right word since there is no election), not by democratic choice for all her merits.

All of you know I'm a staunch PAP supporter. But I'm feeling pretty disillusioned tbh.

I agree what she says with her slippery slope argument of using race and as a rebuke of Shan's statement .

I also note that she speaks well of Halimah. So on face value it looks the government erred in the desire to see the main races represented.

In fact I would say that the PAP welcomes such criticisms. It also give the impressions that we have Singaporeans who think and are prepared to make their voices heard.

The issue is not race. Race was the excuse to hijack the EP. The issue is the conduct of this government and Halimah in what they did. I personally don't think she is smart enough to write an article to deflect the issue but she like many have come to think that its about sacrificing meritocracy for affirmative action.

Even GCT ran the same line. I also note the state press in recent days is also running along this line - meritocracy vs race, an error on hindsight. CCS has also stated that Government is prepared take a political hit of compromising meritocracy to secure Singapore long future by being inclusive. The second line from PAP supporters after the nomination is that Halimah would still would have won if there was a contest as she is labour champion and is well regarded, completely ignoring the fact that protest votes is a concern and at the last P, 65% of voters did not support the establishment candidate who was a former DPM, Cabinet minister, former cabinet minister etc.

Years ago, race was also used to create GRC despite Singapore of all hues were voting in minority candidates before 1988. Its an old British trick.

The red flag here is Xiaxue making sense.

nayr69sg

Staff member
All misdirection. Why did LHL have to make it absolutely sure no one but his appointed stooge be his watchdog on the reserves.

Reserves are gone tbh.

Fall for it sinkies. It gives my family time to make their exit before the country collapses. I hope 2019 GE people still vote PAP cos my family may need a bit more time.

All misdirection. Why did LHL have to make it absolutely sure no one but his appointed stooge be his watchdog on the reserves.

Reserves are gone tbh.

Fall for it sinkies. It gives my family time to make their exit before the country collapses. I hope 2019 GE people still vote PAP cos my family may need a bit more time.

i'm with you. all chinks should return temasick to the bumis and get the fuck out and balik kampung to tiongcock.

Because he does not possess the talent, intelligence and capability to defend his position. And being in a lousy position to start with makes it doubly hard.

JHolmesJr

Oh don't you worry…they are experts at fucking singos up the ass…..now that they have got their way, they won't really take umbrage at some kunt blogger mouthing off….or a few hundred people loitering in a park shaking hands and placards.

Come next GE, there will be basket of goodies and voila….back to nice ass fucking for a few more years.

In fact I would say that the PAP welcomes such criticisms. It also give the impressions that we have Singaporeans who think and are prepared to make their voices heard.

Pinky 不知死 attacked voters w EP discrepancy on race.

Tell this mina to give her salary to charity or liike Trump dont take salary.

I agree what she says with her slippery slope argument of using race and as a rebuke of Shan's statement .

I also note that she speaks well of Halimah. So on face value it looks the government erred in the desire to see the main races represented.

The issue is not race. Race was the excuse to hijack the EP. The issue is the conduct of this government and Halimah in what they did. I personally don't think she is smart enough to write an article to deflect the issue but she like many have come to think that its about sacrificing meritocracy for affirmative action.

Even GCT ran the same line. I also note the state press in recent days is also running along this line - meritocracy vs race, an error on hindsight. CCS has also stated that Government is prepared take a political hit of compromising meritocracy to secure Singapore long future by being inclusive. The second line from PAP supporters after the nomination is that Halimah would still would have won if there was a contest as she is labour champion and is well regarded, completely ignoring the fact that protest votes is a concern and at the last P, 65% of voters did not support the establishment candidate who was a former DPM, Cabinet minister, former cabinet minister etc.

Years ago, race was also used to create GRC despite Singapore of all hues were voting in minority candidates before 1988. Its an old British trick.

Wunderfool

It is a mistake in the first place to start with a minority president election . Is the country in dire need of a minority president? What happens to getting the best and finest to represent the country head of state ?
What happens to meritocracy and democracy? What happens to the people choice of elected leaders ? Does it mean that having a Chinese president , the minority races will be neglected? How is it possible when the country is run by the institutions and systems and the very government that hold to the principles of racial and religious harmony ?

There is simply no good justification. The end does not justify the means.

bobby

Halimah will be remembered as the controversial president...and more importantly an unelected and unpopular one.

She will fare worse than SR Nathan in terms of popularity.

I tend to look at the intention of the behavior- her son isn't racially represented in that picture Sham posted. 3 folks: 1 Chinese and 2 Indians. Or folks may argue 1 of them being a half-fucked self proclaimed Malay.

That is the baseline: the rest of the diatribe is merely covering fire for the absence of Ang Mohs in that picture- Ang Mohs are the best! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Agree. After the 2011 GE and The EP, especially after the EP, one would have thought the PAP would struggle. Then look at the resounding PAP success at GE 2015.

Oh don't you worry…they are experts at fucking singos up the ass…..now that they have got their way, they won't really take umbrage at some kunt blogger mouthing off….or a few hundred people loitering in a park shaking hands and placards.

Come next GE, there will be basket of goodies and voila….back to nice ass fucking for a few more years.

It is a mistake in the first place to start with a minority president election . Is the country in dire need of a minority president? What happens to getting the best and finest to represent the country head of state ?
What happens to meritocracy and democracy? What happens to the people choice of elected leaders ? Does it mean that having a Chinese president , the minority races will be neglected? How is it possible when the country is run by the institutions and systems and the very government that hold to the principles of racial and religious harmony ?

Sidelining TCB justifies any means

bobby

The logic is that a minority president will henceforth look after the minority...isn't it?

I seen her over the years. Smart to capitalise on a situation.Just read her comments about Halimah in isolation. I can guarantee you she will get an invite to the Istana. And she will blog about it.

I tend to look at the intention of the behavior- her son isn't racially represented in that picture Sham posted. 3 folks: 1 Chinese and 2 Indians. Or folks may argue 1 of them being a half-fucked self proclaimed Malay.

That is the baseline: the rest of the diatribe is merely covering fire for the absence of Ang Mohs in that picture- Ang Mohs are the best! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Please note HFK's back handed compliment viz the issue of Halimah's purported PE financial skill sets eligibility!

Unique chance for Halimah Yacob to be a different president

Han Fook Kwang

Editor At Large

Straits Times 17 September 2017

The heartlander can inspire by refocusing her role as unifying head of state of multiracial S'pore

I am glad Singapore has its first Malay woman President, though it would have been much better if it wasn't done through a reserved election. But that's water under the bridge now.

I look forward to a Halimah Yacob presidency because I believe she has the qualities not only to perform the job but also to do so in a different way from previous heads of state. More important, the change can be good for Singapore.

Why do I say she has an opportunity to shape the presidency differently?

There are two areas where she can make a difference.

First, I think most people will agree she is not the sort of person you would associate with being in charge of a $500 million company, which is one of the new eligibility criteria for candidates. She does not have much financial background nor has she headed any ministry as its minister. If commercial and financial acumen were the most important requisites for the job, she would not be on most people's shortlist.

In raising the bar for people with commercial experience, I felt the Government over-emphasised the corporate nature of the elected president's office.

Indeed, by doing so, it knocked out two potential Malay candidates, Mr Farid Khan and Mr Salleh Marican, who did their community proud with their successful businesses.

Alas, even though their achievements put them among the top Malay businessmen, they did not qualify under the raised bar.

President Halimah has the opportunity to move the presidency in a different direction: by refocusing the role of the president as a unifying head of state, someone whom Singaporeans can identify with and look up to, embodying the values they uphold.

This is best done by a president who not only can relate easily to ordinary Singaporeans, but who also inspires and is respected for who she is and what she has done.

On this front, she will begin her presidency already hitting the right notes.

She has said she will continue living in her Housing Board flat in Yishun, which she did throughout her years as Minister of State and Speaker of Parliament.

It is rare in Singapore to find someone in such a senior position and earning the salary she does and not living in a private property. Many, in fact, own more than one.

But she not only lives in a public housing estate where the majority of Singaporeans reside, but also has lived in the same flat for more than 30 years.

Can a tudung-wearing Muslim woman be such a symbol in multiracial Singapore?

Many people have a problem with this, which leads me to the second area she can make a difference: promoting Singapore's brand of multiracialism.

What is this brand?

It is about each race preserving its own distinctiveness and accepting the other's right to do so, but all sharing a common sense of belonging to the community.

This requires tolerance and understanding of one another's ways and of what the country's common interests are.

The balance isn't easy to achieve because if each race continues to build on its own distinctiveness, it can grow apart from the others.

For the Malay community, an overly strict adherence to eating halal food, for example, can reinforce its exclusiveness.

Similarly, if Chinese Singaporeans speak Mandarin even in the company of Malays or Indians, they weaken everyone's sense of belonging to the same community.

In fact, the very idea of race and its place in Singapore can make for a divisive society. Which is why it needs constant tending and vigilance, and deep understanding and empathy. Now, the multiracial idea is being placed under the brightest possible spotlight in the highest office of the land.

Will it shine even more brightly or suffer under the glare?

Having a tudung-wearing president can be a strong statement about the place of minority races in Singapore, that there is space for them and their beliefs and practices.

But it will require sensitive handling on her part because racial prejudices and stereotyping exist and her distinctiveness can work against her.

It will also be particularly challenging for President Halimah because of the controversy surrounding her election.

There is still much unhappiness on the ground and many remain opposed to the idea of a reserved election and the way it has been introduced.

The cynicism, if not addressed, can damage the office of the presidency and its occupant.

President Halimah will have her work cut out for her.

But when the challenge is great, there is opportunity to make a difference.

It was what motivated Singapore's first popularly elected president, the late Mr Ong Teng Cheong, to do what he did.

He too entered new waters, tasked with making the new office work. I believed the challenge shaped his approach and he was determined to show that he was his own man and that he would do whatever he thought necessary to do the job.

It led to several clashes with the Government but it helped shape the relationship between the two and deepened understanding of how to make it work better.

President Halimah's challenge is different: After three elected presidents, the formal role of safeguarding the country's reserves and overseeing key appointments has more or less been settled.

Less understood is the informal unifying role the president plays in multiracial Singapore.

President Halimah now has a unique opportunity to reinforce the importance of this part of her job under trying circumstances.

I hope she can turn adversity into advantage. If ever a unifying president is needed, now is the time.

•The writer is also a senior fellow at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University

maxsanic

I'm a bit skeptical this article was significantly written by Xiaxue in the first place. The most I'm willing to concede within the realm of possibility is she might have flashed out certain ideas and general thoughts in a draft form which it was then heavily edited by someone else.

In terms of content, there's really nothing new or wrong here. It's pretty much the general feelings of most common folks I have interacted with.

JHolmesJr

It is easy as fuck to manipulate Singos. Just watch….in the next couple of years, they will throw her some ideas and make it look like it came from her and she made it happen.
Then they'll tell the idiots…look, we were right to put her in place. By next GE, I expect Prostate to be giving speeches from the Oxley basement with a photo of papa behind him.
Easy peasy…done deal.

Agree. After the 2011 GE and The EP, especially after the EP, one would have thought the PAP would struggle. Then look at the resounding PAP success at GE 2015.

JHolmesJr

It's a stupid article where the opening thoughts are acceptable…then it just spirals downward into the retarded reasoning that millennials
are known for. Asking for midgets and lgbt in parliament….even as satire its pretty lame…..this bitch is no andy borowitz.

I'm a bit skeptical this article was significantly written by Xiaxue in the first place.