• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Everyone is missing the real reason for TCJ becoming Speaker

A lot of foumners and others in the general public view TCJ's speaker nomination as a demotion. Yes, on the external point, it does look like a demotion. For sure, he will earn substantially less money as a Speaker gets paid $550K while a Minister will get over $1.5 million salary a year. His role in govt is also reduced and some say that he is just a figure head in a parliament with an overwhelming majority of PAP MPs. Even with a useless and low profile Ministry like the Ministry of Social and Family Development, he would still have had more power. Many say he is on the out as a 4[SUP]th[/SUP] generation leader.

I differ on this point of view, in fact, I view his appointment as Speaker a strategic move by the PAP for the long term. The PAP has plans for TCJ. They had to get him out of MSF because he was a walking time bomb. This moron could not keep his mouth shut and kept shooting himself in the foot. He is one of the most active poster on FB and social media. He could not be reined in, and his handlers are too stupid to keep him out of harm’s way. Some say he was taken out of the high profile and volatile Ministry of Manpower because he could not handle it and is once again being demoted from even this jiak liao bee Ministry. Some past examples of this buffoon missteps include:

1) 1) Some people collect cardboard not because they need the money, but for exercise. Really? Coming from a Minister of Social Welfare?

2) 2)Accused cancer stricken family of “playing up” their sob story while claiming his Ministry giving them $400 every 3 month is generous. He family subsequently raised $27K on crowdfund, hence making TCJ and his Ministry look worse then Jews.

3) 3)Last Year, it was revealed that Immigration opened up special lanes for TCJ and his grassroot entourage coming back from a Johor durian trip, and bypass passport and security control. He never apologized, and even claimed that oppo MP Png Eng Huat was stirring hate and anger by pointing this out. If the opposite had happened and an oppo MP accused a PAP MP of stirring hate and anger, he would have been sued for libel.

4) 4)A few years ago, he showed his religious nuttism by publishing the entire text of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 on his official Facebook page. There were many people who criticized this as the govt of Singapore is a secular govt and not a religious one. Hence a Minister cannot be seen to favour one religion over any other. If Halimah Yacob were to constantly quote long passages of the Koran on her official Facebook page, do you think she would have been nominated President.

Consider the following. Halimah Yacob is already 63 years old. By the time her impending Presidential term ends, she will be 68 years or older depending on when they call the next PE. By that time, she will almost certainly step down and a new Presidential candidate will be put up. Who better for the PAP to fly the flag then TCJ? He would have been Speaker for 5 years or so. Away from the bright lights and lightning rods of whatever Ministry he is in. As Speaker, he is automatically qualified to run in the PE, and as a 100% Chinese candidate, he will also fulfill the ethnicity requirement. Most important, being parked in the post of Speaker will prevent him from shooting himself in the foot with stupid comments relating to his Ministry and other activities. I think he will most likely be the next President after Halimah.

Just my 2 cents worth

Great insight and explosive revelation and explained in a lengthy analysis.

Also I like the hindsight approach where you dismiss him as the 4th generation leader after the announcement that he is nominated to be the speaker and kicked out from the cabinet. Stating the obvious is an art form that many cannot handle.

TCJ groomed to be the next EP is similar to your analysis that Lee Hsien Yang wanting to be President and thus caused mayhem when blocked. Believe me no one would have reached such a conclusion and that is the part that is truly explosive.

Do you think that Ravi Menon will also follow the same path eventually ?

Keep it coming.

A lot of foumners and others in the general public view TCJ's speaker nomination as a demotion. Yes, on the external point, it does look like a demotion. For sure, he will earn substantially less money as a Speaker gets paid $550K while a Minister will get over $1.5 million salary a year. His role in govt is also reduced and some say that he is just a figure head in a parliament with an overwhelming majority of PAP MPs. Even with a useless and low profile Ministry like the Ministry of Social and Family Development, he would still have had more power. Many say he is on the out as a 4[SUP]th[/SUP] generation leader.

I differ on this point of view, in fact, I view his appointment as Speaker a strategic move by the PAP for the long term. The PAP has plans for TCJ. They had to get him out of MSF because he was a walking time bomb. This moron could not keep his mouth shut and kept shooting himself in the foot. He is one of the most active poster on FB and social media. He could not be reined in, and his handlers are too stupid to keep him out of harm’s way. Some say he was taken out of the high profile and volatile Ministry of Manpower because he could not handle it and is once again being demoted from even this jiak liao bee Ministry. Some past examples of this buffoon missteps include:

1) 1) Some people collect cardboard not because they need the money, but for exercise. Really? Coming from a Minister of Social Welfare?

2) 2)Accused cancer stricken family of “playing up” their sob story while claiming his Ministry giving them $400 every 3 month is generous. He family subsequently raised $27K on crowdfund, hence making TCJ and his Ministry look worse then Jews.

3) 3)Last Year, it was revealed that Immigration opened up special lanes for TCJ and his grassroot entourage coming back from a Johor durian trip, and bypass passport and security control. He never apologized, and even claimed that oppo MP Png Eng Huat was stirring hate and anger by pointing this out. If the opposite had happened and an oppo MP accused a PAP MP of stirring hate and anger, he would have been sued for libel.

4) 4)A few years ago, he showed his religious nuttism by publishing the entire text of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 on his official Facebook page. There were many people who criticized this as the govt of Singapore is a secular govt and not a religious one. Hence a Minister cannot be seen to favour one religion over any other. If Halimah Yacob were to constantly quote long passages of the Koran on her official Facebook page, do you think she would have been nominated President.

Consider the following. Halimah Yacob is already 63 years old. By the time her impending Presidential term ends, she will be 68 years or older depending on when they call the next PE. By that time, she will almost certainly step down and a new Presidential candidate will be put up. Who better for the PAP to fly the flag then TCJ? He would have been Speaker for 5 years or so. Away from the bright lights and lightning rods of whatever Ministry he is in. As Speaker, he is automatically qualified to run in the PE, and as a 100% Chinese candidate, he will also fulfill the ethnicity requirement. Most important, being parked in the post of Speaker will prevent him from shooting himself in the foot with stupid comments relating to his Ministry and other activities. I think he will most likely be the next President after Halimah.

Just my 2 cents worth

aquilonian

Great insight and explosive revelation and explained in a lengthy analysis.

Also I like the hindsight approach where you dismiss him as the 4th generation leader after the announcement that he is nominated to be the speaker and kicked out from the cabinet. Stating the obvious is an art form that many cannot handle.

TCJ groomed to be the next EP is similar to your analysis that Lee Hsien Yang wanting to be President and thus caused mayhem when blocked. Believe me no one would have reached such a conclusion and that is the part that is truly explosive.

Do you think that Ravi Menon will also follow the same path eventually ?

Keep it coming.

Had a chuckle reading this but he will reply soon.

Wunderfool

The fact that he was transferred out from the Manpower Ministry in just a year speaks much of his ability to manage a ministry. Accordingly to inside sources, TCJ is a nice guy , but he is not able to drive for results. He could not handle the challenges in the changing labor landscape or can he manage the immigration policy effectively.

LHL has to bring on LSS , a proven veteran in the NTUC to helm the Ministry of Manpower to 'repair' and spruce up the image of the Manpower ministry. TCJ was relegated to a lesser important ministry of Social and Family Development. But even there he made a few major blunders. It is only a matter of time before the axe swing again.

The axe finally landed when Halimah resigned to pursue the elected President post. The gap gave LHL just the right excuse to move TCJ out of the Social and Family Development ministry into the position of Speaker of Parliament.

aiya... tio pok just say so lah.... luckily george yeo n no porn liu will be there to guide him, to work hand in cock with blanga workers

Just my 2 cents worth

Based on your analysis, it goes to show he is not a saint and thus easily fallible. Nobody knows what future lies for a useless speaker and one thing is certain, he will become too free and may just ended like Michael Palmer or some kind of a scandal, or may be another Teo Ser Luck kind of outcome. As long as LHL is a moron, hell can still break loose.

papsmear missed the theory another sham got embroiled, perhaps aunty tan go comprain to pinky of his undoing and soon u find he is single once again?

afterall msf could well mean masturbate, sex and fonification.

papsmear missed the theory another sham got embroiled, perhaps aunty tan go comprain to pinky of his undoing and soon u find he is single once again?

very unlikely. ccs yes. tcj no.

20150327_TanChuan-Jin_ST.jpg

when you're a pap ministar, you'll have porlumpars around you in expensive galas trying to raise money for the downtrodden, and only a small (token) fraction will be spent on them.

20161115092254-VIPTable-28B29BernardSik2CMagdaleneSik2CSamuelChan2CPeterTay2CTanEngBeng28F29Eric.jpg

The fact that he was transferred out from the Manpower Ministry in just a year speaks much of his ability to manage a ministry. Accordingly to inside sources, TCJ is a nice guy , but he is not able to drive for results. He could not handle the challenges in the changing labor landscape or can he manage the immigration policy effectively.

LHL has to bring on LSS , a proven veteran in the NTUC to helm the Ministry of Manpower to 'repair' and spruce up the image of the Manpower ministry. TCJ was relegated to a lesser important ministry of Social and Family Development. But even there he made a few major blunders. It is only a matter of time before the axe swing again.

The axe finally landed when Halimah resigned to pursue the elected President post. The gap gave LHL just the right excuse to move TCJ out of the Social and Family Development ministry into the position of Speaker of Parliament.

The information I have from my friends is just the opposite. TCJ was given an impossible task. As a rookie politician (he had only been an MP for 1 year), he was parachuted in a very tough portfolio at MOM after decades of being in the SAF. Gay loong only gave him one a year crash course which he did as SMOS in National Development. In 2014, MOM and the PAP were facing a lot of criticism over the PAP Manpower policy and the letting in of massive amounts of FT. The peak was reached when Anton Casey incident broke out and many people blamed the PAP for letting in many of this kind of assholes to steal the local's job. Even in the hands of an experienced politician, MOM in this period was a very hot potato. No one wanted the portfolio. whoever was stepping into it was going to have to take the brickbats until things cooled down. TCJ was arrowed to do this. He was way over his depth. But then the preceding Ministers of MOM did nothing with the portfolio and in effect let in all the FTs, they left the mess squarely for TCJ. And even an old hand like Lim Shit Say has done nothing with it since he took over. TCJ was way above his head, but what can he do? He was as u say a nice guy, so when he kenna arrowed, he just prayed to god and went in.

This proves to Gay Loong that among all the ministers, TCJ is probably the most compliant. Ask him to go to a fucked up Ministry and he quietly goes. Ask him to take a demotion to Speaker, and he quietly does it. More ambitious Ministers would have pushed back. This is what Gay loong is looking for in a President. A compliant, obedient chap. I still say he will be the next President after Halimah.

Not likely, TCJ is quite religious and his wife is still quite pretty.

Based on your analysis, it goes to show he is not a saint and thus easily fallible. Nobody knows what future lies for a useless speaker and one thing is certain, he will become too free and may just ended like Michael Palmer or some kind of a scandal, or may be another Teo Ser Luck kind of outcome. As long as LHL is a moron, hell can still break loose.

After the Michael Palmer incident, Gay Loong played safe. He picked a devout muslim Halimah as the speaker then a devout christian TCJ as another one.

The information I have from my friends is just the opposite. TCJ was given an impossible task. As a rookie politician (he had only been an MP for 1 year), he was parachuted in a very tough portfolio at MOM after decades of being in the SAF. Gay loong only gave him one a year crash course which he did as SMOS in National Development. TCJ was way above his head, but what can he do? He was as u say a nice guy, so when he kenna arrowed, he just prayed to god and went in.

This proves to Gay Loong that among all the ministers, TCJ is probably the most compliant. Ask him to go to a fucked up Ministry and he quietly goes. Ask him to take a demotion to Speaker, and he quietly does it. More ambitious Ministers would have pushed back. This is what Gay loong is looking for in a President. A compliant, obedient chap. I still say he will be the next President after Halimah.

There is no disagreement with what you say. This TCJ incidents confirms a few things:

THAT generally, Generals (pun intended) don't make good leaders outside of the army camp. At best, they were paper generals or in TCJ case, he delivered aid merchandise to Indonesia and made it sound like he conquered part of Indonesia.

THAT the PAP search (tea) parties for talent replacement under their current system is screwed. At each election, they keep saying that the new leaders are needed but wave after wave of these messiahs have all fallen along the wayside. When Bargain Hen was first recruited, he was touted as a LKY look-alike and potential successor. What they found was a hare-brained minister who was also beyond his depth.

THAT racism exists at the cabinet level. The two likely successors should be Tharman or Shanmmugam vs the likes of Kee Chiu, Goldfish Heng Swee Kiat or Ong Ye Kung. VB's batch have also been found out to be rubbish. They keep feeding us that Sinkies won't accept Indians.

THAT the PAP brand is very smelly. The upper crust are happy to partake in the pie but will not be associated any closer than that in helping to make the pie. Led by very very weak leadership running around like headless chickens, our future is made.

I still am in two minds - is he just bad at satire or that he can't grasp issues. But it does drive views. Then again we have the Kardhasians.

Shit, I did not even know you had one mind, much less two. Half a mind, maybe?

There is no disagreement with what you say. This TCJ incidents confirms a few things:

THAT generally, Generals (pun intended) don't make good leaders outside of the army camp. At best, they were paper generals or in TCJ case, he delivered aid merchandise to Indonesia and made it sound like he conquered part of Indonesia.

THAT the PAP search (tea) parties for talent replacement under their current system is screwed. At each election, they keep saying that the new leaders are needed but wave after wave of these messiahs have all fallen along the wayside. When Bargain Hen was first recruited, he was touted as a LKY look-alike and potential successor. What they found was a hare-brained minister who was also beyond his depth.

THAT racism exists at the cabinet level. The two likely successors should be Tharman or Shanmmugam vs the likes of Kee Chiu, Goldfish Heng Swee Kiat or Ong Ye Kung. VB's batch have also been found out to be rubbish. They keep feeding us that Sinkies won't accept Indians.

THAT the PAP brand is very smelly. The upper crust are happy to partake in the pie but will not be associated any closer than that in helping to make the pie. Led by very very weak leadership running around like headless chickens, our future is made.

Yes agree on all points. But take issue with a few. To say that the SAF Genitals make good leaders outside the army camp implies they were good leaders inside the camp. That is not my personal experience. From what I see, an annointed Genital is given many simulas in the various exercises to get the score that he needs. Hardly good leadership if you ask me.

U are right in that probably Tharm is the most suited to be PeeM. But his selling out to the PAP concerns me. Especially when he once held the contrarian, until he saw the light after his ISD lim kopi session.

Bonut

Yes agree on all points. But take issue with a few. To say that the SAF Genitals make good leaders outside the army camp implies they were good leaders inside the camp. That is not my personal experience. From what I see, an annointed Genital is given many simulas in the various exercises to get the score that he needs. Hardly good leadership if you ask me.

I think the person you are replying to said the OPPOSITE.

Victory2016

The great Tang Dynasty collapsed because a non-Han Chinese was appointed into the most inner sanctum of the Throne. Ann Lu Shan created havoc and ultimately caused the weakening and collapse of the Dynasty though he lost in his rebellion.

Does Singapore dare elect a non-Han Chinese as PM?

Victory2016

Similarly, the Manchurian Qing Dynasty collapsed because they appointed a non Manchu Chinese Han to be the Commander in Chief, Gen Yuan Shi Kai.

Gen Yuan defected to the Republicans under Sun Yat-Sen, causing the Manchurians to give up their hold on China in 1911