• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat QR payment codes is a major revelation for our "Suaku" cabinet

QR payment codes are even used by flea market vendors in Africa. This is what happens when the Govt and MAS protects local banks like DBS. No sense of innovation. Just sitting on profits. Suddenly the cabinet finds out from Zorro Lim that chestnut pushcart vendors are using QR payments and it becomes a revelation. Really a bunch of idiots.

30582127.JPG

Common QR code will allow you to pay by phone

PUBLISHED: 4:00 AM, AUGUST 21, 2017
SINGAPORE — In six months’ time, Singapore will have a common QR code, allowing consumers to pay electronically anywhere just by flashing their smartphones.

Such transactions will be made via PayNow, the digital fund transfer system recently launched to allow customers of seven participating banks to send and receive money instantly using their mobile phone number or NRIC/FIN.

The rollout of a common QR code here was revealed by the Smart Nation & Digital Government Office (SNDGO) yesterday, when it listed growing the e-payments landscape here as one of five strategic national projects the Government is focusing on to build a Smart Nation.

It cited an upcoming initiative by the National Environment Agency of Singapore to widen adoption of e-payments at hawker centres.

No details were given on how this will be done.

Over the next six months, the Government Technology Agency of Singapore (GovTech) will also trial the use of mobile software tokens as “a more convenient and secure authentication service”, the SNDGO said.

Allowing for digital signatures to make transactions paperless will also be trialled progressively, it added.

Plans are for the National Digital Identity system — one of the five strategic national projects — to be operational in three years’ time, and widely adopted two years thereafter.

In terms of work on the Smart Nation Sensor Platform, the SNDGO said the authorities will be testing how estate management can be enhanced through monitoring of noise, water and sewage levels.

In homes, smart water meters will also be trialled. This will be done over one year at Orchard Road and selected housing estates.

One other important project is a digital platform, called Moments of Life, that bundles services and information online from a spread of government agencies for citizens.

It will group the resources by an individual’s life stages, such as when they register a marriage, start a family, and send a child to school.

A draft version will be available by the middle of next year

gingerlyn

we don't need cashless society because:

1. Singapore cash are real and not fake.
In China, most of the paper currency are fake and vendors do not want to receive fake currency and that is why they prefer cashless.

2. Singapore is safe and low crime rate (PAP say one). Therefore we feel safe to keep our paper currency at home and in our wallet.
China is dangerous and high crime rate. Armed robbery at ATM machine to kill people who withdraw currency.

3. China cashless merchant fee is cheap.
In Singapore, ATM and AXS charge very high merchant fee.
You go to challengers to buy IT products and they give you discount if you pay cash.

Enough is enough.
don't be scammed by PAP.

Talk is cheap.

Cash is king especially in ASEAN. In this region I carry cash because only large business like hotels will accept credit cards.
I am reluctant to use credit cards because there are cloning rings who might make a clone of one's CC.

If you use ATM machines, the local banks have limits on how much you can withdraw & they also charge a fee to use their ATMs.

borom

Singapore under the new PAP has fallen behind, well becoming a third world cesspool.

Question-imagine a private sector company performs like the PAP -constant train breakdowns/lift failures/hospital overcrowding& long waiting times, high cost ect2-will it survive in the international market?
How come it can survive here despite its many failings(not to mention a cancer stricken sick CEO) and its top "management" still can draw the highest salaries in the world?

MyMother

Question-imagine a private sector company performs like the PAP -constant train breakdowns/lift failures/hospital overcrowding& long waiting times, high cost ect2-will it survive in the international market?
How come it can survive here despite its many failings(not to mention a cancer stricken sick CEO) and its top "management" still can draw the highest salaries in the world?

The investors chose to put their bets on them.

Polygamist

Now SG53 PAP know how outdated is their Intelligent Island and NETS & ERP & Cash Cards & Transit-Link crap.

http://news.sina.com.cn/o/2017-08-21/doc-ifykcirz3590278.shtml

Fl3x-fykcpru8760580.jpg

中国的这件事 让李显龙感叹新加坡成“乡巴佬”
2017年08月21日18:19 环球网

原标题:中国的这件事,让李显龙感叹新加坡成了“乡巴佬”

[环球时报-环球网报道 记者 赵觉珵]当新加坡人力部部长林瑞生几年前在上海的路边摊买栗子时,他发现每个人都只需要挥挥手机,不需付现金就可以拿走栗子。当时林瑞生以为这是一种特别的优惠方式,仍然坚持用现金付了款。如今,他的这种行为被新加坡总理李显龙称为“乡巴佬”。

新加坡《海峡时报》题为《2017国庆群众大会:当林瑞生在智慧城市上海感到自己成了“乡巴佬”》的报道称,李显龙20日晚在国庆群众大会演讲中称赞中国在电子支付领域的发展,而新加坡正在将电子支付作为“智慧国家”的发展重点。

李显龙表示,如今在中国大城市使用现金已经过时,就连银行卡都使用得越来越少,所有人都在用微信支付或支付宝。所以当中国游客发现在新加坡必须使用现金时,他们会问,“新加坡怎么这么落后?”

事实上,新加坡也有电子支付,但李显龙表示,新加坡电子支付的种类太多,人们必须带着多张不同的卡,商家也须安装多台不同的终端,这不仅给消费者带来不便,也增加了商家成本。李显龙称,在新加坡,10笔交易中仍然有6笔交易是通过现金或支票完成的。

李显龙表示,新加坡计划在接下来的18个月中,在全国部署2.5万台统一标准的销售终端。而最近推出的PayNow服务,预计不久后就可以用来在街边摊消费。

为推动移动支付在新加坡的发展,新加坡政府近期公布了“智慧国家2025”的10年计划。移动支付计划也是新加坡政府正在努力促进全岛普遍采用智能技术的5个战略性国家项目之一。

李显龙称,新加坡金融管理局已着手努力改变这个现状。“不久后,在新加坡也能用QR码付费,这不仅方便、低廉、安全,也无需信用卡附加费用。”

责任编辑:刘光博

Sinkapore is truly behind in this game. I was involved in another asean country rolling out a qr code based payment solution and it was humbling. Their government took a huge step forward launching a common platform yet sinkapore seems conceited with our buckshot approach dabbling with MasterPass, ezlink, paywave, dash, Apple pay, pay lah etc etc

And I cringe every time fucking channel news Asia does a "special" program on us being the "Asian fintech capital" and lumber one e-nation. Then I remember CNA's viewer audience is India .. where houses are still made with straw and cowdung. Our "e" in e-nstion obviously stands for "ego".

In China e-payment is already ubiquitous. Waiters and taxi drivers look at you like you're from the countryside if you still opt for 现金付款. That's how far behind in the game we are.

No mobile phone or baytery flat no money to pay for food good meh?

Currency Reset is coming and every dollar is oeg to gold. Back to pre-fed reserve time.

They knew abt it. Just that PAP is a great copycat king kiasu type.

Only want to be sure even though copy.

The later create Hub and sph claim PAP success and hub here hub there.

Chao kah PAP.

Sinkapore is truly behind in this game. I was involved in another asean country rolling out a qr code based payment solution and it was humbling. Their government took a huge step forward launching a common platform yet sinkapore seems conceited with our buckshot approach dabbling with MasterPass, ezlink, paywave, dash, Apple pay, pay lah etc etc

And I cringe every time fucking channel news Asia does a "special" program on us being the "Asian fintech capital" and lumber one e-nation. Then I remember CNA's viewer audience is India .. where houses are still made with straw and cowdung. Our "e" in e-nstion obviously stands for "ego".

In China e-payment is already ubiquitous. Waiters and taxi drivers look at you like you're from the countryside if you still opt for 现金付款. That's how far behind in the game we are.

Sinkies swallow what the PAP controlled media tells them. In fact when I visit other countries, many things are more advanced then zikapore. If you use a mobile phone in some countries, the data speed is almost 20 MPS. In singapore, the best mobile companies (maybe singtel) can get you between 14 and 15 MPS only. I think 4G LTE was rolled out much earlier in some other countries then in zikapore.

Satyr

Just like Grab and Uber can use technology to disrupt the taxi business, Singapore will lose it's edge to countries we look down on , through technological innovation. Our top down approach, once good, will slow us down. Anybody who has traveled will know we are not that good in many things, except being expensive. The PAP is only interested in control. Let's see how far the brakes can take us.

QR code is stupid like fuck. U need to download the scanning app first. Then when it comes to payment u need to open up the app. Then click scan. Move your phone camera to that QR code and scan. Then click pay.

Fucking cheebye retarded. U think old people who are illiterate can even use a smartphone? The best way is to utilize EZlink card as payment.

congo9

Just like Grab and Uber can use technology to disrupt the taxi business, Singapore will lose it's edge to countries we look down on , through technological innovation. Our top down approach, once good, will slow us down. Anybody who has traveled will know we are not that good in many things, except being expensive. The PAP is only interested in control. Let's see how far the brakes can take us.

Last statement holds true to all. They like to control everything.