• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Unscrupulous Dentist

creampie

I agree. But arent they just following the example of the pap ministers? The pap has lost its moral right to tell the doctors off

when pappie ministers, judges, perm secs are paid out of the consolidated fund, sinkies are not hurt as much as when doctors directly charge patients thousands for simple 5 minute procedures.

the pap does not have to tell doctors off. Simply restructure healthcare. convert private hospitals and only allow doctors to practise in public hospitals. any doctor that doesnt agree will have his license revoked and he or she can go to uk/us/canada

ckmpd

when pappie ministers, judges, perm secs are paid out of the consolidated fund, sinkies are not hurt as much as when doctors directly charge patients thousands for simple 5 minute procedures.

the pap does not have to tell doctors off. Simply restructure healthcare. convert private hospitals and only allow doctors to practise in public hospitals. any doctor that doesnt agree will have his license revoked and he or she can go to uk/us/canada

does the pap have the courage to convert private hospitals or deny doctors from practising privately?

ckmpd

that is the problem with the pap

The pap has been deficient in many areas that it has lost the courage and moral standing to get others to do the right thing. The pap knows that it cannot continue to do wrong and yet compel others to do right. That's why it keeps its mouth shut

should hv ask him if $1000 is enough.... was he thorough? if he is not how? your molar is needed for food and food provide energy fo u to be gigolo and if u got no energy and molar fell down, u will lose $89,000/ month inome from liche tai tai.

then tell him u cannot take such a risk from cheap surgery and u switching to laffles medical to get AMTK doctor from britain to do the job.

ckmpd

should hv ask him if $1000 is enough.... was he thorough? if he is not how? your molar is needed for food and food provide energy fo u to be gigolo and if u got no energy and molar fell down, u will lose $89,000/ month inome from liche tai tai.

then tell him u cannot take such a risk from cheap surgery and u switching to laffles medical to get AMTK doctor from britain to do the job.

The unscrupulous dentist was a good actor. He sounded distress, was subtly threatening but yet tried to be convincing. He must have conned many patients to undergo unnecessary but expensive tests

Bonut

The unscrupulous dentist was a good actor. He sounded distress, was subtly threatening but yet tried to be convincing. He must have conned many patients to undergo unnecessary but expensive tests

Please name us the clinic.

Bonsai

I just returned from a visit to a dentist for scaling and polishing. My gum and teeth are perfectly fine. He tried to alarm me by sounding distressed and told me that I am in danger of losing one of my molar. He firmly said that he needs to carry out more checks and that will cost me abt $1000.

I told him that my teeth are fine and I dont want to go for more checks. He tried to scare me by saying that if anything happens to my tooth, he will not be liable. I assured him that I just wanted my teeth scaled and polished and will not hold him liable for anything.

From a $90 apptmt, he tried to fleece $1000 from me by trying to scare me.

What has happened to honest health care practitioners?

He reminds me of Dr Ang Peng Tiam

Two weeks ago, I visited a dentist to fix a tooth that was dislodged from the denture. After having fixed the denture, the dentist, in the process of checking whether the denture sat well in my mouth noticed that one area of my gum appeared infected. Another visited was arranged. By the time of the second visit, the infection on the gum was gone. Nevertheless, the doc suggested an xray, following which he recommended to have the tooth removed by a specialist. I was given a quote of $2000!! He explained that the higher price was due to the specialist having also to clean the root after extracting the tooth!! Unbelievable.

Anyway, that doc did not charge me a cent for the xray and time spent in checking my teeth.

The last time I had the wisdom tooth extracted was $850. But it was from a different dental clinic.

ckmpd

Two weeks ago, I visited a dentist to fix a tooth that was dislodged from the denture. After having fixed the denture, the dentist, in the process of checking whether the denture sat well in my mouth noticed that one area of my gum appeared infected. Another visited was arranged. By the time of the second visit, the infection on the gum was gone. Nevertheless, the doc suggested an xray, following which he recommended to have the tooth removed by a specialist. I was given a quote of $2000!! He explained that the higher price was due to the specialist having also to clean the root after extracting the tooth!! Unbelievable.

Anyway, that doc did not charge me a cent for the xray and time spent in checking my teeth.

The last time I had the wisdom tooth extracted was $850. But it was from a different dental clinic.

Thanks foryour sharing.

I suspect that the dentist will get a referral fee from the specialist.

Remember Dr Susan Lim who charged the Brunei Princess $100,000K+ when the referred doctor just billed her $500?

As one gets older it becomes more critical to ensure that you have good dental hygiene. Found this out when dentists were reluctant to do any major things like extractions, root canals, ... etc on my parent because of their age.

Also studies have shown that illnesses enter through the mouth

So better take precautions.

For myself I do 3 things daily:
1) Use an oral irrigator
2) Use an electric tooth brush
3) Use mouth wash that does not contain alcohol

I visit the dentist whenever I go on holiday in Thailand because it only costs about 600 baht=SIN$26 to do cleaning.

nayr69sg

Staff member
SMA always a guidelines of fees (GOF) to limit how much doctors can charge. In 2007 Ministry of Trade and Industry ordered SMA to remove the GOF citing anti-competitiveness. I guess they wanted doctors to charge more! Over the next 3 years SMA appealed to the Ministry of Trade and Industry but did not succeed, and the Competition Commission of Singapore issued its final decision in 2010 that the guidelines were anti-competitive.

So it was not the doctors who made the system the way it is where anyone can charge anything. Susan Lim case being the only exception. As you know once you take away the brakes from a car, it is very hard to slow the car down or even control it. Once again fault of the Singapore govt which incidentally is voted in by 69.9% of Singaporeans in last election. Singaporeans are getting what they want.

To blame doctors as the ones at fault is a lie spun by the shit times. Singaporeans really goondu one. Dunno who the real bad guy is.

Read more in this 2014 article. Apparently there was talk to reinstate the GOF after the Susan Lim case. But to date no news.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/guidelines-doctors-fees-could-be-reinstated

Singapore Medical Council hopes that Act governing them can be changed to override competition laws
View all 3 comments
mail

BY
NEO CHAI CHIN
[email protected]ISHED: 4:00 AM, JULY 28, 2014(PAGE 1 OF 2) - NEXT PAGE | SINGLE PAGE
SINGAPORE — Doctors’ fee guidelines could be reinstated and, this time, the hope is that laws governing them will be amended to override competition regulations here.

This is the view of the report by the committee tasked with looking into the disciplinary processes of doctors, which was made public last week.

The committee, chaired by senior doctor Professor Raj Nambiar, reported that the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) — the body that regulates and registers doctors — is internally reviewing the guidelines and principles for “determining ethical and reasonable medical fees”.

Subject to its final proposal, the Council agreed in principle that “perhaps the Medical Registration Act should be amended to include a provision to override any competition commission concerns on setting of fees and to allow SMC (or another body) to set fees”, the report stated.

No timeline was given and, when contacted, the SMC confirmed its review but did not elaborate.

The issue of fee guidelines for doctors has been a contentious one, beginning in 2007 when the Singapore Medical Association (SMA) removed its Guideline on Fees after being told it could be infringing competition laws. Its appeal to the Ministry of Trade and Industry did not succeed, and the Competition Commission of Singapore issued its final decision in 2010 that the guidelines were anti-competitive.

Debate re-ignited last year after the Court of Appeal ruled that the S$24 million that surgeon Susan Lim had charged a Bruneian royal had gone beyond what should be morally charged, and suggested that the SMA publish actual fees charged in the private sector. The judgment led some to question what the “ethical limits” were, as well as the need for objective benchmarks.

Lawyer Eric Tin, who heads the medico-legal practice group at Donaldson and Burkinshaw, said the potential re-introduction of medical fee guidelines appears to be a response to the judges’ view in Dr Lim’s case that there is “an objective ethical limit” that operates outside contractual and market forces.

“The fee guidelines’ reinstatement is probably intended to provide some clarity and certainty to doctors and consumers of medical services as to what would constitute a fair and reasonable fee,” said Mr Tin. “This can help avoid complaints of overcharging.”

The SMA could not respond to TODAY’s queries by press time, but the association — which represents the majority of doctors here — had last October supported private healthcare provider Parkway Pantai’s publishing of fees for 30 common procedures offered at its four hospitals, based on actual patients’ bills.

https://www.ccs.gov.sg/public-regis...tion--guidelines-on-fees?type=public_register

aiyah like that how to be a dentist in sg with sinkie patients thinking they know better and kpkb when doctor offers solutions and treatment? should do an x-ray first as everything on the surface is deceptive to the naked eye. dentist with proof of x-ray pics after 6.9 minutes of taking x-ray will tell you there's decay in your molar, usually in between two molars as flossing typically doesn't thoroughly cleans the deep recess in between molars. hard to see in your mirror. but x-ray will tell you a little speck is the beginning of decay. if on enamel, can scrape it out and fill it. but if it rots deeper past enamel, big trouble. better catch it now than later. don't play play and pretend to be more knowledgeable than dentist.

creampie

SMA always a guidelines of fees (GOF) to limit how much doctors can charge. In 2007 Ministry of Trade and Industry ordered SMA to remove the GOF citing anti-competitiveness. I guess they wanted doctors to charge more! Over the next 3 years SMA appealed to the Ministry of Trade and Industry but did not succeed, and the Competition Commission of Singapore issued its final decision in 2010 that the guidelines were anti-competitive.

So it was not the doctors who made the system the way it is where anyone can charge anything. Susan Lim case being the only exception. As you know once you take away the brakes from a car, it is very hard to slow the car down or even control it. Once again fault of the Singapore govt which incidentally is voted in by 69.9% of Singaporeans in last election. Singaporeans are getting what they want.

To blame doctors as the ones at fault is a lie spun by the shit times. Singaporeans really goondu one. Dunno who the real bad guy is.

Read more in this 2014 article. Apparently there was talk to reinstate the GOF after the Susan Lim case. But to date no news.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/guidelines-doctors-fees-could-be-reinstated

Not sure what you are spinning but as i see it, ultimately it is the doctors and dentists that choose to move prices upwards. the govt only lifted the restrictions which led the greedy docs to take advantage of their few numbers and the shitty public healthcare system to charge more

looneytan

I visit the dentist whenever I go on holiday in Thailand because it only costs about 600 baht=SIN$26 to do cleaning.
yeah, I know of one Thai doc who did a brain op for free
[video=youtube;2x_Fl3NQVd4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x_Fl3NQVd4[/video]

nayr69sg

Staff member
Not sure what you are spinning but as i see it, ultimately it is the doctors and dentists that choose to move prices upwards. the govt only lifted the restrictions which led the greedy docs to take advantage of their few numbers and the shitty public healthcare system to charge more

You are correct. Ultimately it is the doctors themselves who chose to move prices upwards when restrictions were lifted. So the doctors are the ONLY ones to blame.

Fuck Singapore doctors greedy fucking assholes!

creampie

You are correct. Ultimately it is the doctors themselves who chose to move prices upwards when restrictions were lifted. So the doctors are the ONLY ones to blame.

Fuck Singapore doctors greedy fucking assholes!

this plot to raise cost of living is part of pap's eugenics agenda to phase out the poor. they are trying to make singapore a place where only the strong survive

nayr69sg

Staff member
this plot to raise cost of living is part of pap's eugenics agenda to phase out the poor. they are trying to make singapore a place where only the strong survive

Don't detract from the main discussion. As you said the PAP taking away the restrictions is not the main problem. It was the fucking greedy doctors who decided to raise prices.

Don't don't blame PAP.

Same with whatever policies PAP come up with. In the end it is the fucking Singaporeans who choose to dog eat dog, look down on the poor, hire maids whatever. It is Singaporeans who are trying to make Singapore a place where only the strong survive. While PAP can come up with such policies remove restrictions etc, ultimately it is the people of Singapore themselves who out of whatever reason eg greed, pride, envy, jealousy, innate evil who decide to do the bad things.

Same logic. *clap clap clap*

creampie

Don't detract from the main discussion. As you said the PAP taking away the restrictions is not the main problem. It was the fucking greedy doctors who decided to raise prices.

Don't don't blame PAP.

Same with whatever policies PAP come up with. In the end it is the fucking Singaporeans who choose to dog eat dog, look down on the poor, hire maids whatever. It is Singaporeans who are trying to make Singapore a place where only the strong survive. While PAP can come up with such policies remove restrictions etc, ultimately it is the people of Singapore themselves who out of whatever reason eg greed, pride, envy, jealousy, innate evil who decide to do the bad things.

Same logic. *clap clap clap*

i did not say that doctors raising prices is the ONLY problem. u were the one who invented this straw man argument.

creampie

now you moderate your position to say that what i was saying is not the main problem. why so shifty? stop being a flip flopper quack doctor

nayr69sg

Staff member
not sure what you are spinning but as i see it, ultimately it is the doctors and dentists that choose to move prices upwards. The govt only lifted the restrictions which led the greedy docs to take advantage of their few numbers and the shitty public healthcare system to charge more

ultimately.......

You also flip flopper. Anyway this forum full of such sinkies.

One moment kpkb about PAP. One moment it is not the PAP it is XYZ. Whatever lah.

I was trying to show the history. How things became the way it is. You also forget that in that 3 years there were good doctors lobbying and appealing to keep the GOF as we knew what would happen if it was gone.

Not all doctors are bad. But.....Noooooooo.........say I trying to spin things.

What is there to spin? That is what happened. History.

The only reason Susan Lim was able to charge SO HIGH!!!!! was because there was no GOF. Until judge also have to call her fees "ethically overcharging". WTF is that?

Anyway nobody cares lah. Just like to slam kpkb.

Read this forum that's what everybody does. kpkb, complain, whinge, blame everyone else except themselves. have no meaningful discussion just whack.

Forum has changed. The people here nowadays really CMI.

Papsmearer must be pretty frustrated. He is one of the few intellectuals here. But the responses he gets must really irk him.