• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Unscrupulous Dentist

ckmpd

I just returned from a visit to a dentist for scaling and polishing. My gum and teeth are perfectly fine. He tried to alarm me by sounding distressed and told me that I am in danger of losing one of my molar. He firmly said that he needs to carry out more checks and that will cost me abt $1000.

I told him that my teeth are fine and I dont want to go for more checks. He tried to scare me by saying that if anything happens to my tooth, he will not be liable. I assured him that I just wanted my teeth scaled and polished and will not hold him liable for anything.

From a $90 apptmt, he tried to fleece $1000 from me by trying to scare me.

What has happened to honest health care practitioners?

He reminds me of Dr Ang Peng Tiam

creampie

I just returned from a visit to a dentist for scaling and polishing. My gum and teeth are perfectly fine. He tried to alarm me by sounding distressed and told me that I am in danger of losing one of my molar. He firmly said that he needs to carry out more checks and that will cost me abt $1000.

I told him that my teeth are fine and I dont want to go for more checks. He tried to scare me by saying that if anything happens to my tooth, he will not be liable. I assured him that I just wanted my teeth scaled and polished and will not hold him liable for anything.

Typical modus operandi for dentists and doctors in private practice. A little bump or bruise warrants further scans checks xrays and mris that cost thousands to diagnose with the patient bearing the tab.

There are some honest health care professionals and you will only know by word of mouth. Singapore doez not yet have a directory that allows patients to review doctors

if bad toothache or gums swollen.................

use sea salt + baking soda + hydrogen peroxide (from pharmacy) + water...............

gargle 3-4 times a day..............rinse mouth thoroughly.............after 3-4 days................no need see dentist liao...........

can use clove oil on any tooth that aching.............

ckmpd

Typical modus operandi for dentists and doctors in private practice. A little bump or bruise warrants further scans checks xrays and mris that cost thousands to diagnose with the patient bearing the tab.

There are some honest health care professionals and you will only know by word of mouth. Singapore doez not yet have a directory that allows patients to review doctors

Yes, you are right. I have been to some doctors and they will often refer me for further checks.

Perhaps we (social Media) can start a Dishonourable Roll Naming Doctors who are unscrupulous

ckmpd

if bad toothache or gums swollen.................

use sea salt + baking soda + hydrogen peroxide (from pharmacy) + water...............

gargle 3-4 times a day..............rinse mouth thoroughly.............after 3-4 days................no need see dentist liao...........

can use clove oil on any tooth that aching.............

Thanks, good advice.

But the issue here is not abt gums or teeth but unscrupulous doctors

parrardee

This I 100% agree with you. Many dentists these days try to convince their patients to go for very expensive procedures which are not really necessasy. They use scare tactics when sweet talk fails.

ckmpd

This I 100% agree with you. Many dentists these days try to convince their patients to go for very expensive procedures which are not really necessasy. They use scare tactics when sweet talk fails.

Did they learn these evil practices from the pap?

PAP needs more money, shift CPF withdrawal from 55yrs to money withdrawal at 65years old. Dentist needs more money, try to scare me and want me to go for $1000 gum check

shittypore

Did they learn these evil practices from the pap?

PAP needs more money, shift CPF withdrawal from 55yrs to money withdrawal at 65years old. Dentist needs more money, try to scare me and want me to go for $1000 gum check

Had a aesthetic denture done at NUH, cost me Sg 500 bugs, a week later while in HCM i did a spare and it cost Sg 12 bugs, knn! NUH cut throat.

creampie

Had a aesthetic denture done at NUH, cost me Sg 500 bugs, a week later while in HCM i did a spare and it cost Sg 12 bugs, knn! NUH cut throat.

highly inflated cost structure driven by private sector practitioners and an ailing healthcare system that struggles to deal with the massive inflow of foreigners and PRs. Welcoome to sinkapoot!

JHolmesJr

ALL doctors are unscrupulous…including our resident quack naysayer.

hippocratic oath means nothing to these cunts.

Hippocrates also said let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.

ckmpd

Dentists and Doctors are all businessmen first...tooth and life savers second.

There was a gynaecologist who used to refer his chio patients to his fellow gynae friends for intimate checks to get their "second opinions".

ckmpd

highly inflated cost structure driven by private sector practitioners and an ailing healthcare system that struggles to deal with the massive inflow of foreigners and PRs. Welcoome to sinkapoot!

SG's healthcare system is broken. greed and lies permeate throughout the system

ckmpd

ALL doctors are unscrupulous…including our resident quack naysayer.

hippocratic oath means nothing to these cunts.

Hippocrates also said let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.

the doctors and dentists learn from the pap ministers to be greedy.

ckmpd

Visit your good old GP and you will get the sense Doctors now must make money . Not like days of old.

But sending the patient for unnecessary checks and tests is unscrupulous.

A doctor must be honourable and not be deceitful

ckmpd

Another case of unscrupulous doctor:

"Doctor charged with raping and molesting is not to consult female patients without a female chaperone"

creampie

SG's healthcare system is broken. greed and lies permeate throughout the system

when private sector specialists have to abuse their position to maintain their 7 figure income, it is a sign that they have lost their moral compass.

why should specialists get 7 figure incomes anyway? SMC is sleeping on the job by allowing these quacks to charge exorbitant sums

ckmpd

when private sector specialists have to abuse their position to maintain their 7 figure income, it is a sign that they have lost their moral compass.

why should specialists get 7 figure incomes anyway? SMC is sleeping on the job by allowing these quacks to charge exorbitant sums

I agree. But arent they just following the example of the pap ministers? The pap has lost its moral right to tell the doctors off