• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Unscrupulous Dentist

creampie

ultimately.......

You also flip flopper. Anyway this forum full of such sinkies.

One moment kpkb about PAP. One moment it is not the PAP it is XYZ. Whatever lah.

its ok u are a doctor i dont fault u for spending a good part of your life memorising symptoms and regurgitating them. gps are only good for dispensing panadol.

nayr69sg

Staff member
its ok u are a doctor i dont fault u for spending a good part of your life memorising symptoms and regurgitating them. gps are only good for dispensing panadol.

Yeah. GPs damn useless. Sinkies very good and very smart. Cannot fool them.

creampie

A senior consultant at any public hospital draws a monthly income of $70,000. Only perm secs can reach this payscale. Are senior consultants so important that they are paid so highly? The answer is no.

The problem is with the private specialists who are continually raising prices, so the govt has to raise incomes for public sector docs to keep them from jumping.

To prevent these shenenagans from continuing the fucking lazy bum gan kim yong has to overhaul the private sector. As it is, medical costs here are the highest in asia when u can get a better quality doctor in bumrungrad hospital thailand for 1/3 -1/2 the price

nayr69sg

Staff member
A senior consultant at any public hospital draws a monthly income of $70,000. Only perm secs can reach this payscale. Are senior consultants so important that they are paid so highly? The answer is no.

The problem is with the private specialists who are continually raising prices, so the govt has to raise incomes for public sector docs to keep them from jumping.

To prevent these shenenagans from continuing the fucking lazy bum gan kim yong has to overhaul the private sector. As it is, medical costs here are the highest in asia when u can get a better quality doctor in bumrungrad hospital thailand for 1/3 -1/2 the price

Yeah I agree. Why Singapore has to be so expensive? All the salaries of Singaporeans is too high. Every sector should re-examine.

All PAP has to do is play with the currency. Raise the SGD $ strong strong so that only need half to keep the same level of wealth.

So easy. LOL! Singapore senior consultants should be earning $7k a month. $70k/month is too much.

creampie

Yeah I agree. Why Singapore has to be so expensive? All the salaries of Singaporeans is too high. Every sector should re-examine.

All PAP has to do is play with the currency. Raise the SGD $ strong strong so that only need half to keep the same level of wealth.

So easy. LOL! Singapore senior consultants should be earning $7k a month. $70k/month is too much.

Ok doc time to eat your medicine

iluvgst

only a small number make that kind of dough in restructured.

The regulatory framework for practising medicine in Singapore is no different to any other countries - they are all going up in price. Even in countries where there is a medical safety net such as UK, OZ, NZ etc, people still take on medical insurance or co-insurance with the state covering a % of the cost. Those on medical insurance get faster treatment at their hospital of choice. The rest would have a long waiting game unless it is life threatening.

In Singapore, the government has failed to recognise that cost will inevitably go up and did not even attempt to build a funding capacity for a safety net believing in the ideal that patients can continue to afford higher prices. Its only much later that measures were introduced. As Lim Hng Kiang famously said that to miss a hairdo and go for breast screening. There are people who live in condo but expect to pay $20 to see a doctor.

It is not in the interest of any professional such as a lawyer, doctor, accountant or even a owner of bar to provide services at a lower cost when there are segments of society that are prepared to pay a higher fee. On the flip side, no doctor is going to charge a high fee if there are no patients willing to pay.

Petty complaints about doctors and dentist does not address the fundamental issues of society. Firstly the unnecessary restrictions on medical students was seriously flawed to sustain the current population. So local doctors have demand and the basket cases have to go to poly to be attended by half baked filipinos, PRC and god knows who else. Secondly the removal of GOF as highlighted by others is flawed. The state trains a limited number of Singaporeans each year but there is a % that end up treating high end foreigners and charging fees that locals cannot afford.

Pleading to individuals doctors, dentists, lawyers, accountants etc to be reasonable is not the right way when there is an opportunity to meet demand at a higher price. Vote the bloody govt out if they can't fix this problem.

ckmpd

As one gets older it becomes more critical to ensure that you have good dental hygiene. Found this out when dentists were reluctant to do any major things like extractions, root canals, ... etc on my parent because of their age.

Also studies have shown that illnesses enter through the mouth

So better take precautions.

For myself I do 3 things daily:
1) Use an oral irrigator
2) Use an electric tooth brush
3) Use mouth wash that does not contain alcohol

I visit the dentist whenever I go on holiday in Thailand because it only costs about 600 baht=SIN$26 to do cleaning.

Good oral hygiene is important. Same as good health.

But the issue here is dentist scruples not dental health

ckmpd

SMA always a guidelines of fees (GOF) to limit how much doctors can charge. In 2007 Ministry of Trade and Industry ordered SMA to remove the GOF citing anti-competitiveness. I guess they wanted doctors to charge more! Over the next 3 years SMA appealed to the Ministry of Trade and Industry but did not succeed, and the Competition Commission of Singapore issued its final decision in 2010 that the guidelines were anti-competitive.

So it was not the doctors who made the system the way it is where anyone can charge anything. Susan Lim case being the only exception. As you know once you take away the brakes from a car, it is very hard to slow the car down or even control it. Once again fault of the Singapore govt which incidentally is voted in by 69.9% of Singaporeans in last election. Singaporeans are getting what they want.

To blame doctors as the ones at fault is a lie spun by the shit times. Singaporeans really goondu one. Dunno who the real bad guy is.

Read more in this 2014 article. Apparently there was talk to reinstate the GOF after the Susan Lim case. But to date no news.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/guidelines-doctors-fees-could-be-reinstated

Doctors sending patients for unnecessary checks is not a problem?

ckmpd

aiyah like that how to be a dentist in sg with sinkie patients thinking they know better and kpkb when doctor offers solutions and treatment? should do an x-ray first as everything on the surface is deceptive to the naked eye. dentist with proof of x-ray pics after 6.9 minutes of taking x-ray will tell you there's decay in your molar, usually in between two molars as flossing typically doesn't thoroughly cleans the deep recess in between molars. hard to see in your mirror. but x-ray will tell you a little speck is the beginning of decay. if on enamel, can scrape it out and fill it. but if it rots deeper past enamel, big trouble. better catch it now than later. don't play play and pretend to be more knowledgeable than dentist.

Be wise. Always get a second opinion before you allow yourself to go for major surgery or major checks.

I do polishing and scaling once every six months and will go back to my regular dentist and hear what he says abt that gum and molar.

ckmpd

Not sure what you are spinning but as i see it, ultimately it is the doctors and dentists that choose to move prices upwards. the govt only lifted the restrictions which led the greedy docs to take advantage of their few numbers and the shitty public healthcare system to charge more

Yes. not only do the doctors increase prices, they arbitrarily send patients for unnecessary checks

ckmpd

You are correct. Ultimately it is the doctors themselves who chose to move prices upwards when restrictions were lifted. So the doctors are the ONLY ones to blame.

Fuck Singapore doctors greedy fucking assholes!

There are many good doctors. But there are many crooks too. Let us be willing to share what we experienced at the clinics

ckmpd

Don't detract from the main discussion. As you said the PAP taking away the restrictions is not the main problem. It was the fucking greedy doctors who decided to raise prices.

Don't don't blame PAP.

Same with whatever policies PAP come up with. In the end it is the fucking Singaporeans who choose to dog eat dog, look down on the poor, hire maids whatever. It is Singaporeans who are trying to make Singapore a place where only the strong survive. While PAP can come up with such policies remove restrictions etc, ultimately it is the people of Singapore themselves who out of whatever reason eg greed, pride, envy, jealousy, innate evil who decide to do the bad things.

Same logic. *clap clap clap*

Of course the govt is partly at fault for turning a blind eye to bad practices

ckmpd

ultimately.......

You also flip flopper. Anyway this forum full of such sinkies.

One moment kpkb about PAP. One moment it is not the PAP it is XYZ. Whatever lah.

I was trying to show the history. How things became the way it is. You also forget that in that 3 years there were good doctors lobbying and appealing to keep the GOF as we knew what would happen if it was gone.

Not all doctors are bad. But.....Noooooooo.........say I trying to spin things.

What is there to spin? That is what happened. History.

The only reason Susan Lim was able to charge SO HIGH!!!!! was because there was no GOF. Until judge also have to call her fees "ethically overcharging". WTF is that?

Anyway nobody cares lah. Just like to slam kpkb.

Read this forum that's what everybody does. kpkb, complain, whinge, blame everyone else except themselves. have no meaningful discussion just whack.

Forum has changed. The people here nowadays really CMI.

Papsmearer must be pretty frustrated. He is one of the few intellectuals here. But the responses he gets must really irk him.

dont blame singaporeans for bad medical practices. It is the greedy doctors and bad pap governance that allow proliferation of exploitation