• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Cancer, getting more common these days...

Just got wind that Georgie's better half is seeking treatment in Houston.

On behalf of the management of SBF,

We wish Mrs Yeo a speedy recovery.

That's because we're living longer. In the good old days the average life expectancy was 40 so something else killed you long before cancer took hold.

nayr69sg

Staff member
That's because of the advances in treating heart attacks. Also with control of HTN and LDL we reduce the risk factors for CVD.

That leaves cancer as the cause of death you cannot really reduce or control.

I've said before if you don't want to die of cancer then try to increase your risk factors for CVD so you die of a heart attack or stroke.

We are born w cancerous cells in our body in all organs.

It is just waiting there to grow kickstart or startup at any time. Other than accidents we die of organ failures and old age.

五福临门。

That is why Chinese need opium and angmohs are merely supply supply it to them.

Ask British Empire Palmerston will tell more.

Reddog

We are all suppose to die.

Just live well, and long if doing so does not impose on your surroundings.

Sincerely wish everyone here to be well and happy.

Namaste.

Seee3

That's because of the advances in treating heart attacks. Also with control of HTN and LDL we reduce the risk factors for CVD.

That leaves cancer as the cause of death you cannot really reduce or control.

I've said before if you don't want to die of cancer then try to increase your risk factors for CVD so you die of a heart attack or stroke.

My opinion differed. I think it is early detection and so called medical treatment that increased the statistic. Death by heart attack is obvious. In the past, death by cancer would go undetected if the victim died at an old age. Those health screening helps to identify many as cancer patient. Some of the treatments helps to hasten death. All in all, once identified as cancer victim, regardless whether he dies young or old, doc will likely conclude that cause of death is cancer.

CoffeeAhSoh

S T heard you ... Wahh...

Former minister George Yeo's wife being treated for rare form of nose cancer

jennifer-yeo-170814.jpg

Lawyer Jennifer Yeo, the wife of former minister George Yeo, is being treated in Houston for a "very rare sino nasal cancer".PHOTO: ST FILE

SINGAPORE - Lawyer Jennifer Yeo, wife of former Foreign Minister George Yeo, is undergoing treatment for a rare form of nose cancer.

Mrs Yeo, 59, said in a Facebook post on Monday (Aug 14) that she has "a very rare sino nasal cancer" and is being treated in Houston, Texas, at MD Anderson Cancer Center, which has been ranked the top cancer hospital in the United States.

About 1 out of every 100,000 people worldwide are stricken with sinonasal tumours every year.

Mr Yeo also posted on Facebook on Monday evening to say that he and two of his children are working out of Houston to be near Mrs Yeo. He thanked well wishers, as well as the doctors at Singapore General Hospital and National University Hospital for their advice.

Her disease is reportedly the Yeo family's second cancer case.

Her fourth and youngest child Frederick, who is now 23, was diagnosed with childhood leukaemia at age three.

He was treated at St Jude Children's Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, where he had a bone marrow transplant and several months of therapy.

The experience led Mrs Yeo to set up Viva Foundation in 2006, a charity to improve the cure rate for children with cancer in Singapore and the region.

She said in her post that her cancer caused her to miss this year's National Day Parade, in which her mother, Madam Mary Ho, 81, performed.

Madam Ho, widely known as Grandma Mary, performed an electric guitar solo at the parade. Her guitar performances on YouTube are popular on the Internet.

Said Mrs Yeo: "This year's National Day is an extraordinary one for me not only because my mother, Grandma Mary, performed at the Parade show but because I couldn't attend the National Day Parade for the first time in more than 25 years."

She has been in Houston since last month for treatment and watched a live telecast of the parade.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...fe-being-treated-for-rare-form-of-nose-cancer

nayr69sg

Staff member
My opinion differed. I think it is early detection and so called medical treatment that increased the statistic. Death by heart attack is obvious. In the past, death by cancer would go undetected if the victim died at an old age. Those health screening helps to identify many as cancer patient. Some of the treatments helps to hasten death. All in all, once identified as cancer victim, regardless whether he dies young or old, doc will likely conclude that cause of death is cancer.

The only cancers that have shown benefit with screening are colon and breast.

In singapore there is a lot of rubbish "screening" meant to earn your money.

Cause of death is not suka suka one. If diagnosed with cancer usually got symptoms then went to see doctor then investigated then staged then decided whether to treat or palliative. Those palliative they are given a folder with all the diagnosis written up.

Tanwahtiu you know nuts lah.

If called to see old person passed away if no history of ever been diagnosed with cancer no doctor will certify death as caused by cancer. You cannot just write cancer on the death certificate. What type? Lung? Colon? Gastric? Prostate? Pancreas? This type of diagnosis not made clinically need histology. And family will also say "cancer? Why you say cancer based on what?

Usually more likely if patient diabetic or hypertension maybe based on history can justify acute myocardial infarction ie heart attack. Or if had neurological symptoms eg slurred speech then facial asymmetry then say cerebrovascular accident.

Cancer never cause of death unless already has folder from hospice care.

Seee3

nayr69sg; said:
.... If diagnosed with cancer usually got symptoms then went to see doctor then investigated then staged then decided whether to treat or palliative. Those palliative they are given a folder with all the diagnosis written up.

Tanwahtiu you know nuts lah.
With the promotion of health screening many people are found to have cancer through routine screening. To the patient, he/she was feeling perfectly fine prior to the detection.

A real case; an old lady in her 70s had a fall and went to the hospital. The injury was minor. She agreed to a health screening and was found to have breast cancer (lymph node). She went for chemo and is now half dead. Perhaps without the screening she may die of some other causes and her cancer may never be known.

Another case, a rich man who is also a health nut, took only organic food and exercise everyday. Go for annual checks and was found to have pancreatic cancer in his last visit. He was perfectly fine with no sign or symptom prior to that. Went for treatment and died in 6 months. It left me wondering did the annual check saved him or kill him. Without screening, he could have met an accident while cycling and the cancer would go undetected. Many more cases which led me to feel that screening helps to increase the statistic of the number of cases of cancer.

After seeing a few relatives keeling over from heart attack, it is certainly an underrated way of leaving this earth. No fuss, 36 to 48hrs later the funeral is all done and dusted. No prolonged suffering, no horrendous medical bills etc. Also a major advocate of AMD as this too I have seen work effectively.

When it comes to cancer, a whole different ball game.

Doc, how big is the gap between US and Singapore in the effective treatment of cancer?

See. I may hv arse cancer used to bomb w some blood once a while.

Go to check kenna wrong doctor Ah neh say cancer lagi jialat.

Pass. Let it be we are born w cancer cells in our body. Most remain dormant live inside like yr pet dog.

nayr69sg

Staff member
After seeing a few relatives keeling over from heart attack, it is certainly an underrated way of leaving this earth. No fuss, 36 to 48hrs later the funeral is all done and dusted. No prolonged suffering, no horrendous medical bills etc. Also a major advocate of AMD as this too I have seen work effectively.

When it comes to cancer, a whole different ball game.

Doc, how big is the gap between US and Singapore in the effective treatment of cancer?

I dunno about USA. But in Canada all the patients I have who were diagnosed with cancer are still alive. Nasopharyngeal cancer guy is he sickest but still pulling through 2 years on.

Another guy lymphoma cured. But dementia now.

All the breast cancer patients detected early tumour excised and cleared.

One lady lung cancer on palliative care for like 1 year already. Just saw her last week has a lump in left breast. Doing tests to see if it is chest wall spread of the lung cancer or new breast cancer.

Another lung cancer old lady getting regular pleural taps.

I would say Calgary cancer treatment is top notch.

Mammogram detect likely breast cancer get needle biopsy 2 days later. Diagnosis confirmed get surgery done the following week. Even my patient was surprised. She said her friend had a higher grade breast cancer waited longer than her.

It depends on your family doctor and how fast he or she refers you and who is the specialist you are referred to.

I know all the good guys to refer to and I send out the referral same day I see the patient.

Singapore? Sinkies full of shit always think they know better than doctor. So go around see this and that specialist "heard" Good what not. Waste time. Lung cancer go see oncologist. Oncologist suggest chemotherapy. Wah so expensive. Chemo scary: when really should see cardiothoracic surgeon do surgery! Wasted time and opportunitiy.

So sinkies get shit care because they bring it upon themselves. No sympathies stupid sinkies!

JHolmesJr

Im convinced doctors know fuck-all about cancer and how it works….all these clueless cunts know is how to prolong treatment
so as to line their own pockets….doctors are the biggest fuckwads on the planet.

yellowarse

Singapore? Sinkies full of shit always think they know better than doctor. So go around see this and that specialist "heard" Good what not. Waste time. Lung cancer go see oncologist. Oncologist suggest chemotherapy. Wah so expensive. Chemo scary: when really should see cardiothoracic surgeon do surgery! Wasted time and opportunitiy.

So sinkies get shit care because they bring it upon themselves. No sympathies stupid sinkies!

You have a point. Many patients here have a 'specialist knows best' mentality and bypass the GP/family physician when making decisions.

Case in point: friend some abdominal bloating after food for some time, tinge of jaundice. Saw GP, who suspected gallstones and referred to general surgeon. This chap ignored referral and went to a cut-throat gastroenterologist at Gleneagles. Had a complete work-up: gastroscopy, colonoscopy, ultrasound, ERCP, CT scan ... came to $10k ... diagnosed gallstones and referred to general surgeon for surgery! So much time & money wasted and delayed care.

Another problem is lack of access to healthcare, a point brought up by Yeoh Lam Keong – no universal healthcare here.

Know an Indian security guard - brings home $1,200 a month after CPF. Had chest pain, GP did ECG and diagnosed coronary artery disease, referred to TTSH cardio. Coronary angiogram done, 3 blocked vessels, needed stenting ... cost about $10k after subsidy. Guy couldn't afford, applied to MSW, waited 3 months to be told he didn't qualify for welfare cos his household income exceeded ceiling. His son's (who had to support his own wife and child) income was included in the means testing, busting the ceiling. Chap defaulted on treatment, died from a heart attack 6 months later.

As they say in Singapore, can die cannot fall sick.