• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Cancer, getting more common these days...

Agree, and i think it natural for any human to check and find out more about his or her ailment especially with the Internet making it so easy. The cases I was referring to are those few who feel they are better trained than the doctor.

Anyway if you have a family doctors and over the years you would know his capability and that improves trust.

I also came across some individuals who have become "experts" with no medical background dishing out advice to relatives and friends.

There s nothing wrong if a patient is questioning a GP's or even specialist's decision. Doctors are just normal human beings..the only difference especially for GPs is that they are better at memorizing chunks of material than say an engineer..sometimes by googling you may be able to do a better research on certain illness that you are concerned about or interested in than the GP..

I don't think Doc was referring to such cases. Its the ones that go overboard. Absolutely agree that any doctor worth his salt should explain and answer questions.

If you have a serious illness in Singapore and you don't do your own research , God help you. No good doctor should be afraid of answering a patient's questions. That is part of the job. If they are troubled by that they really need to work elsewhere.

Over the years I have come across 3 types of people

1. Purely medical where they will work with their doctor plus do some level of research from others and the internet.

2. The supplement junkie who so far gone that its only the placebo that is providing relief and sometime the cure. Power of the mind. They don't even realise what a double blind test is all about. Also will lapse into pseudo and alternative medicine. They will also have cupboard full of various supplements and various kitchen equipment to do all sorts of preparation.

3. The consensus seeker who will call, talk and reach out to friends, relatives, other doctors, internet research, library and forms a view. They will inevitably go down the medical route because most people that have been consulted tend to go down the medical route.

All 3 I do note will focus on a healthy diet and primarily because it shook them out of their complacency. Some however tend to do special diets.

nayr69sg

Staff member
It is one thing to ask questions. It is another to try to educate your doctor with some pseudoscience and refuse to accept the answers your doctor gives.

I know Singaporeans. I worked and served you guys for so many years. Bunch of arrogant know it alls. Ya ya papaya.

So many say that PAP is arrogant act like gods know it all cannot do any wrong have all the answers. They are merely reflection of sinkies. As you can see from how people post here about what they THINK is the answer to preventing cancer they are the same like PAP.

In Singapore doctors have learned to go with the flow. I for example studied acupuncture to learn some TCM so I could better understand what patients meant when they talked about TCM principles like heaty cooling kidney deficiency liver worries etc. I also did a fellowship in clinical applied nutrition so I could talk about all those alternative therapies also. End of the day I realized sinkies don't want answers. They want FEEL that they know more than the doctor that they are SMARTER and more knowledgeable than the doctor. That's what they like. So after a while I learned that there is no point in giving true answers. Just give answers they want. Even easier just agree with the patient.

Just 1 rule. Don't agree and recommend something that will harm them. You wanna eat fresh organic whatever yeah good you are so smart you got the answer I didn't know that.

You got liver cancer but want to go for Gerson Therapy? Errr better go see gastroenterologist. I cannot recommend Gerson in isolation. It has been shown to work but don't rely on it alone.

Sometimes patients want the educate you. So just nod and smile and say wah al this I really never knew (even if I already know) it makes the patient feel good. Happy. Elated.

No harm right?

You will be surprised how many patients love the doctor that they feel knows less than them and often go in to educate the doctor.

I guess it is a form of therapy when in real life one is a loser and they can go into a consult room and feel they are better than the doctor. So shiok.

There is little respect for GPs in Singapore because honestly they have no real power in Singapore health care system.

In Canada it is a different story. A good GP can get you in for prompt relevant treatment fast or he can dilly dally and delay. And the only way to see a specialist in Canada is if you get a referral from the GP.

Patients in Canada are more respectful of doctors than in Singapore because I believe they don't have to pay out of pocket directly.

In singapore because of the payment system they view GPs along with the masseuse.

The same clowns will do the same to their kids' teachers, their lawyers etc. It certainly not most Singaporeans. The teachers of St Stephen's School will tell you that George Yeo and his wife have never ever called the school or the teachers about their sons' education but only meeting during the parents teacher meeting but they they get all sorts of "advice" from half educated parents.

I have a relative who has been a Bank for the longest time. She told me that all tellers after a few months can tell who has money and who has no money. She said the ones who talk the most and ask silly questions and give all sorts of feedback are the ones who have little money in the bank.

It is one thing to ask questions. It is another to try to educate your doctor with some pseudoscience and refuse to accept the answers your doctor gives.

I know Singaporeans. I worked and served you guys for so many years. Bunch of arrogant know it alls. Ya ya papaya.

So many say that PAP is arrogant act like gods know it all cannot do any wrong have all the answers. They are merely reflection of sinkies. As you can see from how people post here about what they THINK is the answer to preventing cancer they are the same like PAP.

In Singapore doctors have learned to go with the flow. I for example studied acupuncture to learn some TCM so I could better understand what patients meant when they talked about TCM principles like heaty cooling kidney deficiency liver worries etc. I also did a fellowship in clinical applied nutrition so I could talk about all those alternative therapies also. End of the day I realized sinkies don't want answers. They want FEEL that they know more than the doctor that they are SMARTER and more knowledgeable than the doctor. That's what they like. So after a while I learned that there is no point in giving true answers. Just give answers they want. Even easier just agree with the patient.

Just 1 rule. Don't agree and recommend something that will harm them. You wanna eat fresh organic whatever yeah good you are so smart you got the answer I didn't know that.

You got liver cancer but want to go for Gerson Therapy? Errr better go see gastroenterologist. I cannot recommend Gerson in isolation. It has been shown to work but don't rely on it alone.

Sometimes patients want the educate you. So just nod and smile and say wah al this I really never knew (even if I already know) it makes the patient feel good. Happy. Elated.

No harm right?

You will be surprised how many patients love the doctor that they feel knows less than them and often go in to educate the doctor.

I guess it is a form of therapy when in real life one is a loser and they can go into a consult room and feel they are better than the doctor. So shiok.

There is little respect for GPs in Singapore because honestly they have no real power in Singapore health care system.

In Canada it is a different story. A good GP can get you in for prompt relevant treatment fast or he can dilly dally and delay. And the only way to see a specialist in Canada is if you get a referral from the GP.

Patients in Canada are more respectful of doctors than in Singapore because I believe they don't have to pay out of pocket directly.

In singapore because of the payment system they view GPs along with the masseuse.

Sounds like the symptoms for gluten sensitivity. It affects 1 in a hundred people and you could be lucky (like me)

Actually I suffer from type 2 diabetes :(
The diabetes also caused my heart attack.

Was talking to someone who had 2 heart attacks. This person has faith in his medical doctor & refuse to take anything not approved by his doctor. He's fortunate that he is now an Australian citizen & is covered by medical insurance. When he was in Spore & ran low on his medications he rushed back to Australia to get his medications because he didn't trust the pharmacies here:smile:

I am a Sporean & have an incentive to avoid doctors here because they are very, very,.. expensive. I've been doing fine relying on changing my diet & lifestyle and taking supplements. It's been 10 years since the cardiologist told me I had 80% blockage. Back then he suggested I have open heart surgery :eek:

I think people who put too much trust in their doctors are dumb. They don't realise that many of these doctors are in the business to make $.

This is where the Singapore government deserve to be shot to be prices. Despite serving NS, contributing to the country, people just cannot afford basic medical care like all 1st world countries except for the US. Its just shocking how this government values its people who put them in power.

Actually I suffer from type 2 diabetes :(
The diabetes also caused my heart attack.

Was talking to someone who had 2 heart attacks. This person has faith in his medical doctor & refuse to take anything not approved by his doctor. He's fortunate that he is now an Australian citizen & is covered by medical insurance. When he was in Spore & ran low on his medications he rushed back to Australia to get his medications because he didn't trust the pharmacies here:smile:

I am a Sporean & have an incentive to avoid doctors here because they are very, very,.. expensive. I've been doing fine relying on changing my diet & lifestyle and taking supplements. It's been 10 years since the cardiologist told me I had 80% blockage. Back then he suggested I have open heart surgery :eek:

I think people who put too much trust in their doctors are dumb. They don't realise that many of these doctors are in the business to make $.

creampie

The charges for regular diagnostic services is outrageous. It is common for subsidised patients to have a 2 month wait to see specialists in public hospitals. For those with serious conditions, private health insurance is a must in order to get immediate treatment from private specialists.

suddenly every sinkie becums an oncology expert. truly sbf and truly sinkies sucking own cocks like in soixante neuf.

The charges for regular diagnostic services is outrageous. It is common for subsidised patients to have a 2 month wait to see specialists in public hospitals. For those with serious conditions, private health insurance is a must in order to get immediate treatment from private specialists.

I was looking at private health insurance by AIA & found out that there is no true health insurance. The closest for someone my age was a package that would cost $18,000/year. Coverage would be limited to $600k.

They do have packages which supplement the PAP's medical coverage. However he told me that the PAP is constantly tweaking the cost upwards.

You dumb nuts! Whether you get cancer is mostly random. Very little to do with food exercise etc.

It is exactly these know it alls who are so confident that they live and eat so healthy when they kena cancer they get so depressed they end up commit suicide.

The bigger you are the harder you fall.

I wish those guys a painful death no matter what the cause is. Arrogant Assholes.

We all gotta die lah. The success stories and patients saved from cancer etc nobody reports or talks about. All the bad stories make the news. Singapore is full of shit: sinkies believe and swear by shit times.

Salma Khalik love to sensationalize and whack the medical profession and the sinkies lap it up.

hey doc, nothing is purely random. there's cause and effect - a scientific premise that has remained reliable and unshakable. "mostly" random is not proof as there's no current data to support that. what's "mostly"? 69% of cancer population? cells mutate due to various reasons. some mutate malignantly and some have time or critical mass triggers. the environment (air you breathe), water you drink, and food you ingest all play a role. heck, even messing of the dna plays a role. every case can be traced back to a root cause, just that we don't have the knowledge and data yet to pinpoint root causes as they can be any of the above or combo of it. right now we have labs quietly doing research to "repair" dna in order to allow pristine dna material from stem cells to replace "damaged" or mutated dna. in future, the person can be made "whole" again, just like the bible says. it's successful with lab mice but human experiments have not begun yet, although the list of ready volunteers are already lining up. in about 6.9 years you'll hear sexciting and earth shattering news about the breakthroughs. those in the labs are thinking more like 6.9 months. so far the greatest contributor to cancer cases is still smoking. that's not random, that's self-induced destruction. the one modern factor that remains elusive and inconclusive is powerful radio emission. i personally know of several patients who have to have their tumors removed from their heads because they talk too much with phone to ear over 6.9 years.

nayr69sg

Staff member
It is a whole different thing talking about healthy diets for cardiovascular health and healthy diets for reducing the risk for cancer.

The former is well studied and well known.

The latter is not and has little or no evidence whatsoever.

However, people tend to put the two together. Doctors not having studied the latter don't know what to say. But they feel there is no problem in agreeing with the patient, going with the flow and suggesting they take the diet for the former as a means to reduce cancer risk as well. No harm right? But it is not evidence based.

I will give you an example. Oils. Cooking oils. Which oil is the best to cook with, expose to heat for cardiovascular health and which is best for cancer prevention? Does the one that is good for cardiovascular health if cooked and exposed to heat possibly increase the risk of cancer? And for the oil that is good to not cause cancer, is it good for the heart? Debatable for the latter.

I did those courses initially because I thought patients wanted me to give them information on this sort of thing. While some are, some just want to educate me. After studying, I learned some of these "educator type" patients were wrong and knew little. But having studied, I had a clear conscience when agreeing with their thoughts and views. I certainly did NOT want to agree to something they wanted to do which would harm them.

Most doctors would say I dunno. I really dunno. You decide.

Frankly in Canada I say that as well. I dunno. I never studied TCM. I never studied clinical nutrition or alternative medicine. Simply because I am not paid to give such types of advice and neither am I certified to do so.

In Singapore there is no regulation. So you will have some of these doctors doing weird stuff. I worked with them before. They serve the rich and famous and their treatments are "exclusive" and illegal. But it is precisely because they are of that nature that the rich go for it because the regular patient cannot have access to it. But it doesn't make it "better".

Scroobal, you know what I am talking about. Same with teachers. Same with religious clergy also. Frankly all those "vocations" are subject to this crap. Vocations have lost all respect from society because they are no longer free and charitable services. Once you have to pay for it, you view it differently.

So maybe this is why North Koreans have such respect for their leader. he takes care of them? Health care free? transport free? I dunno.

If PAP really wants support very easy, just throw a few things free. That is how easy it is with Asians.

nayr69sg

Staff member
hey doc, nothing is purely random. there's cause and effect - a scientific premise that has remained reliable and unshakable. "mostly" random is not proof as there's no current data to support that. what's "mostly"? 69% of cancer population? cells mutate due to various reasons. some mutate malignantly and some have time or critical mass triggers. the environment (air you breathe), water you drink, and food you ingest all play a role. heck, even messing of the dna plays a role. every case can be traced back to a root cause, just that we don't have the knowledge and data yet to pinpoint root causes as they can be any of the above or combo of it. right now we have labs quietly doing research to "repair" dna in order to allow pristine dna material from stem cells to replace "damaged" or mutated dna. in future, the person can be made "whole" again, just like the bible says. it's successful with lab mice but human experiments have not begun yet, although the list of ready volunteers are already lining up. in about 6.9 years you'll hear sexciting and earth shattering news about the breakthroughs. those in the labs are thinking more like 6.9 months. so far the greatest contributor to cancer cases is still smoking. that's not random, that's self-induced destruction. the one modern factor that remains elusive and inconclusive is powerful radio emission. i personally know of several patients who have to have their tumors removed from their heads because they talk too much with phone to ear over 6.9 years.

As a layman one can say anything. But when you are a learned person with a certification and licence to practice you cannot suka suka say things.

This is why most doctors if you ask them about something they dunno, they tell you don't take it. Not safe. Actually they mean safer you don't take cos I dunno if it is safe. because if the doctor said take take....and turned out to be arsenic and then patient die then go to SMC disciplinary tribunal and they ask the doctor why you ask patient to take? You know it is arsenic? Doctor say actually I dunno what the hell it was. And you told patient to take? Cos patient want to take I want to make patient happy so I say take. Cannot lah.

But you go ask a MLM distributor. And he say yeah take take. Then die. Then you ask MLM distributor why you say take? MLM distributor says "I dunno. I not doctor mah."

See the difference? Doctor study so long do training as dog then throw it all away for a bunch of fools? No lah. better be safe.

But then patients say doctor so stupid he dunno all these "basic nutrition and health". Doctor don't study health they study illnesses and how to diagnose and treat them.

Totally different fields. When is the last time anyone went to consult a nutritionist on good health in Singapore? People don't pay to get advice to stay good and healthy.

But they would pay when they are suffering and want the suffering to go away and be made better.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Scroobal, in Canada teachers are treated with much much more respect than in Singapore. Private Tuition is practically unheard of.

there are private schools that cater to the rich and problem kids.

Same with doctors, they are respected a lot more.

It has little to do with the quality of doctors (Singapore trained vs Canada trained). it is purely because of the payment systems.

Don't you think it is ridiculous? In the end, it does cost a lot to study medicine both money wise and effort and time. There should be fair compensation for that investment.

In Canada, doctors are paid fairly and paid well. Hence there is no need to resort to funny self advertising and niche market segregation etc to make a good living. Just be a good doctor.

In Singapore doctors have to compete like crazy for the patient's out of pocket dollar. All kinds of shenanigans.

And you have sinkies say that they do not respect doctors in Singapore because they are too expensive and are in it to make money.

What you want? Doctors study medicine and work for free? You go see what quality of doctors you will get.

Or doctors who study medicine and don't need the money because they are so rich and all they want is the title of "Dr"? Yeah meet the doctors from India. Come from rich families sent to med school, never study pass and get title of Dr but are really crappy Drs. My preceptor in Canada said she spent time working in India as a student in a reputable Med School and was shocked what she saw. The med students just partied all the time, drove flashy cars, rich as hell, never study and know nothing. So she agreed with the rigorous process of screening foreign graduates before they enter the Canadian system. If you just go by degree from reputable university you are going to get crap doctors from India.

But sinkies will never respect doctors in Singapore because they have to pay them out of pocket. Nothing to do with quality or anything. Just money.

Sinkieland is ruled by money. Some will be jealous because others have more money than them. On the other hand the same sinkie will say he should have more respect because he has more money than the one who has less money.

Rubbish shit society. I am so glad I left that shit place and shit people behind. I am sure sinkies are also damn happy that I left.

It is a whole different thing talking about healthy diets for cardiovascular health and healthy diets for reducing the risk for cancer......

I don't agree that the diet is different for heart & cancer problems. A healthy body is essential no matter what medical problems you have.

Just google "Gerson Therapy". Max Gerson was a German doctor & he successfully treated many chronic ailments including cancer. He used his medical background & observation skills to observed what treatments worked.

His daughter Charlotte Gerson runs the Gerson Institute & they treat problems like cancer, diabetes, heart disease, arthritis, auto immune disorders, ...etc using what her father learned throughout his medical career. https://gerson.org/gerpress/about-us/

Bro, you are comparing a 1st World country to Singapore. Only in the old man's mind he brought us to the 1st world. Remember despite 52 years we don't even have a minimum wage law.

It not just Canada, I see the same thing in OZ, NZ, UK and the Scandinavia.

Even today I hear Singaporeans tell me that OZ is white trash, lazy and racist. Thats because our Leaders and our state controlled press has painted such a bad impression.

I blame the system.

Its only recently the Singaporeans have realised that the Govt has sold us out for cheaper Indians, PRC, Filipinos etc etc.

Why you think I have asked Singaporeans not to aim for short term gains but to invest in the future of their kids by migrating.

Scroobal, in Canada teachers are treated with much much more respect than in Singapore. Private Tuition is practically unheard of.

there are private schools that cater to the rich and problem kids.

Same with doctors, they are respected a lot more.

It has little to do with the quality of doctors (Singapore trained vs Canada trained). it is purely because of the payment systems.

Don't you think it is ridiculous? In the end, it does cost a lot to study medicine both money wise and effort and time. There should be fair compensation for that investment.

In Canada, doctors are paid fairly and paid well. Hence there is no need to resort to funny self advertising and niche market segregation etc to make a good living. Just be a good doctor.

In Singapore doctors have to compete like crazy for the patient's out of pocket dollar. All kinds of shenanigans.

And you have sinkies say that they do not respect doctors in Singapore because they are too expensive and are in it to make money.

What you want? Doctors study medicine and work for free? You go see what quality of doctors you will get.

Or doctors who study medicine and don't need the money because they are so rich and all they want is the title of "Dr"? Yeah meet the doctors from India. Come from rich families sent to med school, never study pass and get title of Dr but are really crappy Drs. My preceptor in Canada said she spent time working in India as a student in a reputable Med School and was shocked what she saw. The med students just partied all the time, drove flashy cars, rich as hell, never study and know nothing. So she agreed with the rigorous process of screening foreign graduates before they enter the Canadian system. If you just go by degree from reputable university you are going to get crap doctors from India.

But sinkies will never respect doctors in Singapore because they have to pay them out of pocket. Nothing to do with quality or anything. Just money.

Sinkieland is ruled by money. Some will be jealous because others have more money than them. On the other hand the same sinkie will say he should have more respect because he has more money than the one who has less money.

Rubbish shit society. I am so glad I left that shit place and shit people behind. I am sure sinkies are also damn happy that I left.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I don't agree that the diet is different for heart & cancer problems. A healthy body is essential no matter what medical problems you have.

To you as a layman it may seem common sense that a good diet with proven evidence to reduce heart disease and stroke would equate to reduced risk for cancer.

But scientifically there is no evidence to back that up. Layman can say whatever they want but you never ever ever see anyone making claims that cooking with Olive oil will reduce XYZ cancer. because there is no evidence.

That is not to say that people shouldn't take diets that reduce the risk of heart disease. By all means do it. It is beneficial. but to make a qualified statement that this diet will reduce cancer risk.....that is baseless.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Why you think I have asked Singaporeans not to aim for short term gains but to invest in the future of their kids by migrating.
actually I haven't seen you tell sinkies here to migrate for a while now.

it is all about trying to bring down the PAP regime and what not. When I suggest the migration bit, I get all these excuses about WHY they have to leave their OWN country and what not. Oh well.

It is also hard to sell something that you don't subscribe to.

Rule number one for any salesman is that he must use the product he sells. Otherwise there is no conviction in his/her pitch.

I try to respond when there is a query on the emigration folder. People are more aware and the much of the myth of migrating have also disappeared. There is also more information on migration now than before. I now spend more time encouraging people that I meet.

As for bashing PAP , that has not stopped since day 1 of coming here.

By the way don't assume me that I am not covered. I have mentioned in the past that I treat the world as my oyster and I meant it literally.

actually I haven't seen you tell sinkies here to migrate for a while now.

it is all about trying to bring down the PAP regime and what not. When I suggest the migration bit, I get all these excuses about WHY they have to leave their OWN country and what not. Oh well.

It is also hard to sell something that you don't subscribe to.

Rule number one for any salesman is that he must use the product he sells. Otherwise there is no conviction in his/her pitch.