• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Good PM Lee Delivers SG52 Message To All Sinkies From Gardens By The Bay! Listen!

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Tuesday (Aug 8) highlighted three longer-term issues for Singapore, even as the country grapples with present challenges such as terrorism and international trade becoming more insular.

In his National Day message this year, Mr Lee said 52 years on, Singapore continues to be preoccupied with urgent issues, both domestically and externally.

“Terrorism is a major threat, with frequent attacks around the world and closer to home. International trade, a key engine of our growth, is at risk from protectionism,” he said. “We are busy upgrading our economy. Our students and workers are mastering new skills and staying up to date with technology.”

However, as the country deals with these challenges, it must also look beyond the horizon and prepare for the future, and Mr Lee highlighted three such issues: Pre-school, the war on diabetes and the goal of making Singapore a Smart Nation.

PREPARE YOUNG SINGAPOREANS FOR NEW WORLD

For pre-school, the Prime Minister said there is a need to prepare young Singaporeans for the new world, and for every child “to have a good start in life and a bright future”. To this end, he said there have been investments in pre-schools because the “early childhood years make a big difference to children not just academically, but for life”.

He said the Government will create more pre-school places, raise the quality of these schools and upgrade the profession of pre-school teachers.

“More and better pre-schools will also take a major load off parents. Parents will have peace of mind when they are working, knowing that their kids are in good hands,” Mr Lee said in the message. “We want to support them and encourage them to start a family.”

MUST GO ALL OUT TO FIGHT DIABETES

As for the second area of fighting diabetes, the Prime Minister said he wants Singaporeans to live long and stay healthy. While there are good doctors and hospitals here, it is better for people to stay healthy and not go to one at all, he said.
But he pointed out that the elderly here experience an average of eight years of poor health at the end of their lives.

Mr Lee said a “big reason” for ill health in old age is diabetes, with almost a third of those over 60 having the disease. “At first, diabetes is an invisible disease. But over time, its consequences are severe – blindness, heart disease, kidney failure, amputated limbs.”

This is why the country must “go all out” to fight diabetes, he said, adding that it depends crucially on personal choices and lifestyles to prevent it in the first place.

“Each one of us must take responsibility for our own health. Each one of us must make the effort to watch our lifestyle and diet, to exercise regularly, to drink plain water instead of soft drinks. And this must start from young,” Mr Lee said.
“That is the way to reduce the risk of diabetes, stay healthy and live well.”

SMART NATION AIM: “WE NEED TO DO MUCH BETTER”

The Prime Minister’s third point is on the country’s Smart Nation ambitions, as it looks to make full use of IT to create opportunities and jobs here and make Singapore an “outstanding place to live, work and play”.

He pointed out that the country has a natural advantage: It is a highly connected and digitally literate society. “We even have more smartphones than people,” Mr Lee said, but added that it must do much better.

Other countries are using electronic payments to go cashless, building sensor networks to enhance public security and analysing big data to improve public services, he said.
“We must learn from them, catch up and get ahead,” Mr Lee said.

“By using IT for practical applications, big and small, we can improve our lives, and make this a fun and happening place.”

He added that he will speak more on the three issues at the National Day Rally.

The Prime Minister was delivering his message at Bay East Garden at Gardens by the Bay, and he took the opportunity to confirm that the Government has accepted the recommendation for the Founders’ Memorial to be sited there.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...m-lee-highlights-3-longer-term-issues-9103714

my recommendation for solutions to the 3 issues:

1. pre-school. go pre-pre. preempt pre-school by introducing advanced stem classes (not stem cell and no pun intended) for sinkie women who are pregnant and teaching their fetuses, while they can hear from their moms' wombs scowling and growling while their moms wait for a seat on an mrt train or chope a table at a food court.

2. diabetes. ban all sodas and doughnuts and tell sinkies to refrain from opening anymore cake, confectionery and bakery joints. too many such joints i tell you. worst is at basement of bugis junction. can die walking in there just from the sugary vapor alone.

3. smart nation. please loong bro tell your yang bro to make changi airport great again by offering free pubic wi-fi to travellers and passengers with no hassles such as the requirement to sign on with mobile number and wait forever for a passcode to be sent via messaging through a data connection. in the first place how to get messaging to work without a data connection via wi-fi? if traveller switches to (paid) data on cellular mode, why need wi-fi in the first place? it's because pubic wi-fi is expected to be free. moreover, sms on cellular voice and text mode only is different from today's messaging apps, inluding messaging apps on android and ios. get it? got it? go do it.

The 3 things that Singaporeans are concerned for themselves and their families are

1. Employment for the long term and career opportunity similar to the 70s, 80s, 90s for themselves and future generation

2. A country they can be proud like the 70s, 80s, 90s.

3. A iron clad state pension plan that they can contribute to that will give them financial independence, dignity and sense of security in their twilight years

Satyr

The 3 things that Singaporeans are concerned for themselves and their families are

1. Employment for the long term and career opportunity similar to the 70s, 80s, 90s for themselves and future generation

3. A iron clad state pension plan that they can contribute to that will give them financial independence, dignity and sense of security in their twilight years

Exactly. Something to do. Something to be proud of. Something to look forward to.

It's that easy since this is not an entire continent and we should have had enough money by now.

What a ninny he is.

Bigfuck

Joint seppukku and return of all confiscated funds for retraining, pension and old age employment. Replace the shit management in the public service and ensure that transportation, food and construction follow real worldclass standards. :smile:

my recommendation for solutions to the 3 issues:

3. smart nation. please loong bro tell your yang bro to make changi airport great again by offering free pubic wi-fi to travellers and passengers with no hassles such as the requirement to sign on with mobile number and wait forever for a passcode to be sent via messaging through a data connection. in the first place how to get messaging to work without a data connection via wi-fi? if traveller switches to (paid) data on cellular mode, why need wi-fi in the first place? it's because pubic wi-fi is expected to be free. moreover, sms on cellular voice and text mode only is different from today's messaging apps, inluding messaging apps on android and ios. get it? got it? go do it.

Free wifi here is a joke especially the ones touted by the PAP government...the Changi Airport free wifi...I discovered eons ago that, it was all hype & damn user unfriendly... I read free wifi, I said " wow, ok!"...I used my iPad with cellular & connected....ask me for a mobile number to send me passcode to log in.....so, I ended having to use my mobile phone mobile data...to use the internet.

It is user unfriendly...unlike some other airports for FREE WIFI....under the PAP...things that said to free..AREN'T! HAVEN'T WE LEARNT?

Replying to the thread...

All AssLoon need to do is at Parliament sitting, look around him & COUNT, how many overweights are there?...starting with the jaga's daughter wannabe PRESIDENT....then start talking about reducing diabetes....one already had a stroke....start 'cleaning' up his own house first, before telling other....& can extend that to the civil service...it is full of overweight "fat cats"...they all are overpaid & underwork....a DIABETIC NATION...they make up the bulk of the 70%...that voted for him.

indig10

I'll put the same 3 things that Singaporeans should really be concerned with:

1. The acceptance and psyche that the world is moving at an extremely rapid pace, and the old mentality of expecting long-term employment and career opportunities are no longer viable. Instead, a serious opening up of debate about adaptation and career switching where possible, and a serious preparation of the future generation for jobs that do not yet exist i.e. a complete overhaul of the education system mirroring Fachhochschulen in Germany.

2. The dismantling of facile pride in shallow nationalism, and a true embrace of what global citizenry rooted in Singapore really means.

3. The acceptance that the Old Guard did well initially for the state pension plan inherited from the British, but it is now a failure and to rely on themselves by demanding accountability through their electoral vote.

Ban smoking
Ban gambling
Ban FTs

And you realise the three problems go away.

Go, do some research on how much money they are making from all the three you are talking about...easy money, without working up a sweat..only to those who have to work to pay those, fees & taxes.

Smoking...a goldmine in taxes....they make a show, banning smoking here & there...you remove their 'golden goose"...no way, man!
gambling...another goldmine
FT's - another...MOM will have to sit on $5 chairs...

remove the problems in these...you got to kidding!...remove...you "know what"..& that is when the problems will start to decrease..not necessary go away....the pain gets lesser!:rolleyes:

no ideas…just a bunch of ridiculous goals…..diabetes…for fucks sake….

Diabetes is a big thing, especially amongst the m&ds and the pioneer sinkies. I bet many oppies are diabetic too. The average oppie tends to be fat and underachieving.

I'll put the same 3 things that Singaporeans should really be concerned with:

1. The acceptance and psyche that the world is moving at an extremely rapid pace, and the old mentality of expecting long-term employment and career opportunities are no longer viable. Instead, a serious opening up of debate about adaptation and career switching where possible, and a serious preparation of the future generation for jobs that do not yet exist i.e. a complete overhaul of the education system mirroring Fachhochschulen in Germany.

2. The dismantling of facile pride in shallow nationalism, and a true embrace of what global citizenry rooted in Singapore really means.

3. The acceptance that the Old Guard did well initially for the state pension plan inherited from the British, but it is now a failure and to rely on themselves by demanding accountability through their electoral vote.

Does this mean we are no longer citizens but mercenaries,birds of migratory?I don't need to serve NS anymore?since protecting a country's sovereignty requires a sacrifice greater than just a fond liking and indulging in as u call "shallow" nationalism.or are u saying we can achieve one humanity without borders one nation on Earth kumbaya my Lord before we even achieve true socialism and communism?why don't u share ur job and wealth with me too?

Look at this jiao lang Hsien loong,do u honestly think he worries about terrorism if that is even a remote possiblity because of sinkies dieing?or he is afraid his precious ft pets might run off to Melbourne or sanfrancisco?should terror ever strike Singapore,u can be sure Sinkies will be called upon and the drums of nationalism beaten to protect his ft pets.when that time comes,I will be a true patroit by first shooting my

Pek Kim Lui

only 2 issues.

1 Sack LHL
2 Improve productivity by having 2 minster per ministry; no PMO, no DPM...... noi jiak leow bees

JHolmesJr

Diabetes is a big thing, especially amongst the m&ds and the pioneer sinkies. I bet many oppies are diabetic too. The average oppie tends to be fat and underachieving.

Have you hd your diabetes prick….sucking establishment cock puts you in the high risk bracket.

borom

The main issue is poor quality leadership that keeps on bringing in poor quality immigrants to mask the symptoms without solving the cause.
Unless we have a change of leadership-things will not improve.

dr.wailing

Maslow's hierarchy of needs.