• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Cursed Sinkie Singleton Wants To Sell His Unfranchiseable Paper-Wrapped Chicken

fa-chicken-07081.jpg

SINGAPORE - Union Farm Eating House, the old-school eatery at 435A Clementi Road famous for its paper-wrapped chicken, will be closing in early September.

Its second-generation owner Chia Kar Wing, 55, is looking to sell the brand as well as the recipe for the chicken dish.

Contrary to a Shin Min Daily News report of an asking price of at least $2 million, Mr Chia said he has not quoted a price and is open to discussions.

He said in a mix of Mandarin and English: "I'm not sure how much my recipe is worth. If eventually we have no buyer, then it's heaven's will. We'll have to see how it goes."

Mr Chia, who is single, said he has no next generation to pass the business to and his family members are ageing.

Regardless of whether a sale is made, the eatery will have to go because the landlord is selling the land, said Mr Chia. He had been given a deadline to move out by October and had planned to stop operations at the end of August. But he decided to continue until early September to cater to his loyal customers

He said that any potential buyer must be interested in running a food and beverage business, and retain the tradition and taste of its moist paper-wrapped chicken.

Union Farm Eating House opened in 1953 as a chicken farm. It started serving its signature paper-wrapped chicken - a recipe developed by Mr Chia's late father - in the 1960s, and became a full-fledged restaurant in the 1970s when the farm closed.

The restaurant had closed in February 2012 when the neighbouring Singapore Institute of Management asked for its part of the land back to expand its campus. Seven months later, Union Farm Eating House re-opened with a smaller kitchen and menu. It still retained its signature paper-wrapped chicken.

Mr Chia said: "Many customers bring their third or fourth generation to dine with us. We are grateful for all their support. Hopefully, someone will continue the tradition of our paper-wrapped chicken."

http://www.straitstimes.com/lifesty...september-hopes-to-sell-paper-wrapped-chicken

Pek Kim Lui

HOPE IS FREE
not difficult to reverse engrg the recipe,,,,,,, fresh chick, good marinate soaked overnite n correct heat resist paper plus correct cook temp n time........KFC, fugg off

Haha fuck this delusional bastard. All these so called receipes are nothing.

It's all about the hype. U think the chicken rice seller with a Michelin star sells the best chicken rice in Singapore? Dream on la! I will rather buy the hype and get recipe from a Michelin star establishment.

numero uno

Haha fuck this delusional bastard. All these so called receipes are nothing.

It's all about the hype. U think the chicken rice seller with a Michelin star sells the best chicken rice in Singapore? Dream on la! I will rather buy the hype and get recipe from a Michelin star establishment.

hahahha how right you are. all these farking bastards are delusional. they don't realised their food and recipes are crap . if the food is any good they would be crying for help isn't it??? all started by that stupid roast meat stall . the roast meat is nothing great compared to HK road sides one. you can easily go to HK and pay them a few hundred and learn their recipes. now you even have some crap char kway teow man who think his food is heaven gift but actually crap standard. Go to penang or JB and any road side stall would beat his hands down and far cheaper. typical local boastful nature who thinks their food or recipes are special. bullshit.

fupikee

hahahha how right you are. all these farking bastards are delusional. they don't realised their food and recipes are crap . if the food is any good they would be crying for help isn't it??? all started by that stupid roast meat stall . the roast meat is nothing great compared to HK road sides one. you can easily go to HK and pay them a few hundred and learn their recipes. now you even have some crap char kway teow man who think his food is heaven gift but actually crap standard. Go to penang or JB and any road side stall would beat his hands down and far cheaper. typical local boastful nature who thinks their food or recipes are special. bullshit.

I can bet you, many of these million dollar dreamers hail form jiu hu, only now oredi got pr or Singapore citizenship.

Their dream is to do a last con job and hope some sampat take over the so called recipe and these jiu hu kias take their million dollars over to mudland to enjoy three times the currency.

Some fool will always fall for these con jobs....:eek:

I'm surprised Union can't find a buyer.
It used to be THE place for paper wrapped chicken.
Ordinary folks like us only get to dine there on special occasions. Remembered the kampung feel of the place. There's a raised pond where you can catch fish/tadpoles and bring them home.
But people dun seemed to eat paper wrapped chicken anymore....another old dish that lost popularity is salted baked chicken.

maxsanic

If I recall correctly, the selling price for the roast meat 'recipe' includes the transfer of ownership of a valuable piece of real estate which is the eatery stall itself. I'm not sure how much of the purchase price left is actually for the recipe. Copycats who are hoping to sell their recipes for millions of dollars without any accompanying real estate are dreaming.

HOPE IS FREE
not difficult to reverse engrg the recipe,,,,,,, fresh chick, good marinate soaked overnite n correct heat resist paper plus correct cook temp n time........KFC, fugg off

u sure dont have old aunty to dip into special sauce between the legs first?