• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Suing your own nephew--the lowest of the low

steffychun

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/new/...li-shengwu-for-contempt-of-court-over-9094174

SINGAPORE: The Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC) filed an application in the High Court on Friday (Aug 4), to start committal proceedings against Mr Li Shengwu for contempt of court.

This was after Mr Li failed to take down a Facebook post which he put up on Jul 15, criticising the Singapore court system as “pliant”.

“The Singapore government is very litigious and has a pliant court system. This constrains what the international media can usually report,” said the post by Mr Li, who is the nephew of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and eldest son of Mr Lee Hsien Yang.

The post, which was set to “friends only” in Facebook’s privacy settings, also included a link to a 2010 editorial published by the New York Times, titled “Censored in Singapore.”

This prompted the AGC to issue a warning letter to Mr Li on Jul 21, asking him to “purge the contempt” by deleting the post from his Facebook page and other online platforms.

He was also asked to “issue and post prominently” on his Facebook page, a written apology and undertaking in the terms stated in AGC’s letter.

Advertisement

According to the AGC, it had given Mr Li until 5pm on Jul 28 to do this. But he wrote back a day before the deadline to request an extension until 5pm on Aug 4, to which the AGC said it agreed.

“As Mr Li has failed to purge the contempt and to apologise by the extended deadline, an application for leave to commence committal proceedings for contempt against him will today be filed in the High Court,” said the AGC in its statement on Friday.

Mr Li, an academic at Harvard University, had earlier said on Friday said it was not his intention to attack the Singapore judiciary or to undermine public confidence in the administration of justice.

“If my private post is read in context, it is evident that I did not attack the Singapore judiciary,” Mr Li wrote in a public post. “Any criticism I made is of the Singapore government’s litigious nature, and its use of legal rules and actions to stifle the free press.”

“However, to avoid any misunderstanding of my original private post, I have amended the post so as to clarify my meaning,” he added. The setting on that Facebook post remains private, meaning it cannot be viewed publicly.

Trump should really impose sanctions now!

nayr69sg

Staff member
It is good that LHL is suing his nephew. You gotta show them who is boss!

Anyway suing a Li is different from suing a Lee. Lee Hsien Yang and Lee Wei Ling are true Lees. The offspring are not Lee they are Li.

Go figure.

To avoid another embarrasment and siblings quarrel Singapore may see a fresh legl approach follow UK Can suan leow thanks to 3-li generation version 1.1.

Ah Wu kia 有种 sibei ho fight.

It is good that LHL is suing his nephew. You gotta show them who is boss!

Anyway suing a Li is different from suing a Lee. Lee Hsien Yang and Lee Wei Ling are true Lees. The offspring are not Lee they are Li.

Go figure.

Its sounds likea brahmin indian malay is more malay than buniputra malay

nayr69sg

Staff member
Suing your own nephew is not lowest of the low lah.

I think if you let your dog screw your backside maybe can be considered almost lowest of the low?

gatehousethetinkertailor

ScreenShot2017-08-05at11.00.00AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at11.00.11AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at11.00.24AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.11AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.20AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.27AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.38AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.48AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.51.57AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.52.05AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.52.12AM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-05at10.52.27AM.png

borom

Waiting for the day when Lucien & Hri will go to the US to ask the US Courts for "enforcement" of the decisions and see how they will argue the case on how a private posting can be used as evidence and who provided the "evidence " in the first place.
Any legal mind can opine as to whether there is a case of Breach of confidence?

Even more interesting will be how they will argue that there is contempt when the "defendant" was not disrespectful to legal authorities in the courtroom and had NOT wilfully failed to obey a court order

Lux et Veritas Yale/NUS?

Wunderfool

Dare NOT sue the father , but dare to sue the son.

What logic is this ?

Tell you what it is .... someone got to pay for the father's sins.

steffychun

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-pms-nephew-says-not-return-home-face-004321041--business.html

By Sam Holmes

SINGAPORE (Reuters) - Li Shengwu, the nephew of Singapore's prime minister, who will face contempt of court proceedings for comments he made suggesting the city-state's courts were not independent, said on Saturday he would not be returning to Singapore.

The office of Singapore's attorney general said on Friday it will seek to begin contempt of court proceedings against Li, a U.S.-based academic, over Facebook posts he made on July 15. The legal move is the latest twist in a family feud over the fate of late Singapore founding father Lee Kwan Yew's house that gripped the nation last month.

In his post, Li, nephew of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and a son of Lee's brother, Lee Hsien Yang, described the Singapore government as "litigious" and the courts as "pliant".

Li, 32, is currently a junior fellow at Harvard University and told Reuters he expected to commence an assistant professor position with the university in the fall of 2018.

He said he would seek to defend himself through legal representation in Singapore but would not be returning to the country.

"I have no intention of going back to Singapore. I have a happy life and a fulfilling job in the U.S.," he told Reuters in an interview.

In a statement on Friday, the attorney general's chambers said it had previously instructed Li to remove the post and issue a letter of apology acknowledging that his comments about the judiciary were baseless.

It said Li had failed to meet those requirements by the stipulated deadline of 0900 GMT, Friday, which had been pushed back from July 28 at Li's request.

"As Mr Li has failed to purge the contempt and to apologise by the extended deadline, an application for leave to commence committal proceedings for contempt against him will today be filed in the High Court," the statement said.

Earlier on Friday, Li said on Facebook he had amended his original July 15 post to clarify any misunderstandings. However, he said he did not believe the post was in contempt of court.

Li's July 15 post was shared on a privacy setting that allows content to only be viewed by his Facebook friends. He said on Friday the intent of that post was to convey the "international media were restricted in their ability to report" on a recent feud between Prime Minister Lee and his siblings "due to the litigious nature" of the government.

"It is not my intent to attack the Singapore judiciary or to undermine public confidence in the administration of justice," he said.

The public spat between the Lee siblings, children of Lee Kuan Yew, flared in June over the future of the family home and raised questions about governance in the city-state.

Lee Hsien Yang and sister Lee Wei Ling accused their elder brother of abusing his powers, prompting the prime minister to call an extraordinary special sitting of parliament in July to "clear the air" over an issue that some people say has tarnished Singapore's image.

Yes stay in the US as an assistant professor. PAP ban Huang Jing, Trump keeps Shengwu. Even trade!!!