• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Khaw's nightmare

Great write-up of Brampton Khaw, the laughing stock of the cabinet.

http://www.theindependent.sg/mrt-khaw-boon-wans-nightmare/
MRT: Khaw Boon Wan’s nightmare
Sense And Nonsense - by Tan Bah Bah

July 30, 201710566

Singaporeans are beginning to have a love-hate relationship with their mass rapid system otherwise known as MRT and also Khaw Boon Wan’s nightmare.

But first, a bit of story-telling about the origin of the MRT. Never been told, I promise. So you are the first to know about it.

Years ago, I was at an American think tank in California and having lunch with one of its very senior inhouse consultants. He asked me whether I knew Lee Kuan Yew or Dr Goh Keng Swee. Of course, I said No. How I wished. But we were not in the same social circle, really.

Then he came straight to the point. He told me he might have been partly responsible for Singapore’s MRT. I was surprised because I had never heard of him and I could not see how he was connected with it.

He told me a number of other interesting things which I would skip over here since today’s subject is just the MRT.

This is his MRT story: “I got to know Dr Goh because I had helped him in a number of small projects over the years. Then one morning, I got a call from him. He asked me whether I know anything about mass rapid transit systems and public transport. I said not quite because I did not specialise in these areas.

“Anyway, he asked me to get two sets of experts for a public debate on having the feasibility of having an MRT in Singapore, whether to commit to such a system or carry on with a truly comprehensive bus network. I told him I could do that.

“I knew some Harvard people and also some private sector consultants. I gave the list a week later to Dr Goh and I believe he chose some of these experts and held a public debate on whether Singapore, a small island, should even have an MRT. The rest is history, Tan.”

Yes, the rest was history. I want to be accurate, so I quote verbatim from the Infopedia:

“Despite the findings of mass transit studies, the government was still hesitant to commit to the MRT system. A team of foreign consultants (also known as the Harvard team) led by team leader Kenneth Hansen was engaged to review the previous mass transit and other transportation studies.

“In their report, the Hansen team argued that the earlier studies were based on incorrect assumptions and thus failed to consider other approaches to solve Singapore’s transport problems. Rather than a MRT system, the Hansen team recommended a high performance all-bus system coupled with feeder routes and motorcar restraint. Even if Singapore were to develop a MRT system, the team suggested that only one line be built as they believed that this would be sufficient to relieve traffic congestion and allow the bus system to function.

“The Hansen report resulted in much public attention on the MRT issue. It was widely publicised in the local media and a forum debate between the opposing consultants was televised. In May 1982, the government finally made the decision to build and completely finance the proposed S$5-billion MRT system.”

The important point I wish to make is this: Our earlier leaders were very careful, very hardheaded about everything they did. By and large also, they did not open their mouths unnecessarily and say inane things.

Can you imagine? They were unsure whether to have an MRT. Perfectly normal for leaders who have had to commit public money and resources to an initially disruptive project (when the system was being constructed). They actually had a live public TV debate to rope in the whole population in the decision-making.

What Dr Goh – and later Ong Teng Cheong because I was told he was very keen on having an MRT – bequeathed, I am just sad our subsequent leaders have somehow messed up.

What happened during the Yeo Cheow Tong, Raymond Lim era? How did we ever end up with that CEO who seemed more interested in the retail than rail business? I am not putting any major blame on Lui Tuck Yew because I believe he did his best trying to cope with a system which could not cope with a sudden surge of users brought in by the massive import of foreigners.

So we now have Khaw Boon Wan supervising an overhaul which seems to be quagmired in an unending chain of fault exposures and a litany of strange explanations and excuses.

Meme of KBW on social media. Anon
One day, it is signalling. Next, it is defective doors. And we have just witnessed the ultimate Ownself Praise Ownself delusion. He said the MRT is three times more reliable than in 2015 and conveniently excluded the delays in the North-South Line due to the resignalling works on the North-South Line because these incidents “happen once in every 30 years”.

And he is unhappy with the media for playing up news on the problems.

Khaw said: “They think it is so easy … just like holding a pen and writing a few articles, and you get the signalling done. I wish it was so simple…If it was so simple, they don’t need us. We can ask the reporters to run the train system.”

The cheapshot answer to his remarks would be: But reporters are not paid millions. A fairer reply to him would be: Just do your job and stop giving excuses.

We want to have an MRT system which we enjoy riding on and not regard as unreliable – and our collective daily nightmare.

Sense And Nonsense is a weekly series. Tan Bah Bah is a former senior leader writer with The Straits Times. He was also managing editor of a local magazine publishing company.[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

Patriot

20375729_1369333906518027_3190705353616694545_n.jpg

The late Venerable Hong Choon is proven right once again. Sad.

Penang Cow will then sing:

The faces turned white on MRT tonight, not a beep sound to be heard.
A kingdom of isolation, and it looks like I'm the nerd
The wheels are stalling like my fidget spinner right
Couldn't keep the spin; Heaven knows I've tried

Don't let them in, don't let them see
Be the good boy I've always have to be
Conceal, don't feel, don't let them know
Well now they know

Let it go, let it go, can't hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go, turn away and slam the door
I don't care what they're going to say
Let the storm rage on. The stall never bothered me anyway

It's funny how some distance makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me can't get to me at all
It's time to see what I can do; to test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me, I'm free!

Let it go, let it go, I am one with the wheel and spin
Let it go, let it go, You'll never see me grin
Here I stand, and here I'll stay
Let the storm rage on

My power flurries through the air into the ground
My spinner is spiraling in frozen fractals all around
And one thought crystallizes like an icy blast
I'm never going back, the past is in the past

Let it go, let it go, and I'll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go, that perfect boy is gone
Here I stand in the light of day
Let the storm rage on. The stall never bothered me anyway!

Rubbish. If we had an all bus system, where are we going to get all the bus drivers when sinkies shun such jobs? MRT is definitely better. More construction means more opaque costing and more public moneys out to private hands. More breakdowns mean more upgrades needed to prevent breakdowns. This is how you make friends.

CoffeeAhSoh

The late Venerable Hong Choon is proven right once again. Sad.

It is said that when Singapore was building the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) in the mid-eighties, the then-Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew consulted the highly respectable Venerable Hong Chuan about the plan. The latter warned that the tunnelings would severely damage the excellent fengshui of the island, and the only solution was to ensure all Singaporeans carry a bagua (octagon diagram) with them.

But this was impossible among the different races and religions, so PM Lee thought of an excellent idea: to design the new $1 coin with the shape of a bagua, so that it would be carried by all Singaporeans.

This urban legend was made believable due to the coincidence of the timings: The new $1 coin was launched in September 1987, just two months before MRT began its first operation. A further addition to the rumour was the road tax label, also in the shape of an octagon, which means every car on the roads of Singapore would be carrying a bagua too

Noticed that vehicles need not displace that road tax label on their windscreens since February this year?

1st, tis scumburger 1 day said he taoist, nax day said he buddhist ...

nax, tis scumburger craims his hart operation cost $8 n purposely wifheld info on insurans craims ...

now, tis scumburger blatantly omit data from his stats 2 craim achiefmen in improving mrt servis ...

tiz ze lowest scum of a burger ...

but ah loon likes tis type ... ah loon tinks dat having ze ability 2 sneakily twist himself or sumting bad 2 rook gud @ any cost is ingenous ... bcoz hes oso lidat ...

fupikee

1st, tis scumburger 1 day said he taoist, nax day said he buddhist ...

nax, tis scumburger craims his hart operation cost $8 n purposely wifheld info on insurans craims ...

now, tis scumburger blatantly omit data from his stats 2 craim achiefmen in improving mrt servis ...

tiz ze lowest scum of a burger ...

but ah loon likes tis type ... ah loon tinks dat having ze ability 2 sneakily twist himself or sumting bad 2 rook gud @ any cost is ingenous ... bcoz hes oso lidat ...

TS, why should it be his nightmare?

This Scum basstard of the highest degree....got $8 heart bypass operation and other goodies, aka 6 to 12 bonus payments, know how to go and enjoy...but when got problems and rotated to him, he does not know how to work......just say, wait, wait, one two more years for me to solve the problems.....by then ge coming and he already multi millionaire. Whether 'natural aristocrat' file him for reelection does not matter....he can retire oreedi anytime and bring his fucking millions back to jiu hu to enjoy three times the benefits.....plus, every now and then wayang down to Singapore to receive his 'director fees' from so many GLCs that make him member of the board.... fucking useless jiu hu thrash....:(

We can bet our last dollar, this scum basstard already had his children registered somewhere and got pr or citizenship of some ang mo cuntry, aussie, Canada or newzie, uarse A ...another rat hole to run to in case any troubles start in Singapore or jiu hu....

......freaking unreal shit that is shitting on us Singaporeans....:eek:

Khaw is not perfect, but he's already committed hara-kiri for his past mistakes. It's our good fortunate that he survived. Let's move on.

Khaw-Boon-Haw.jpg

creampie

Khaw is not perfect, but he's already committed hara-kiri for his past mistakes. It's our good fortunate that he survived. Let's move on.

Khaw-Boon-Haw.jpg

Khaw is not perfect but our ministars tout themselves as elite administrators deserving of their multimillion dollar salaries. Khaw like his predecessors and fellow ministar colleagues aka vivian bala, teo chee bye and chan kee chiu have not proven their ability to manage crisis and implement plans for the benefit of sinkies. They are just collecting their rents and fucking up the politics of the country by keeping out talenet individuals.

bobby

Khaw said: “They think it is so easy … just like holding a pen and writing a few articles, and you get the signalling done. I wish it was so simple…If it was so simple, they don’t need us. We can ask the reporters to run the train system.”

No one ever said that it was easy...but it is them who claimed our MRT "world class".

Semaj2357

No one ever said that it was easy...but it is them who claimed our MRT "world class".
motherhood statements and replies like this and josephine teo's "difficult to cope if everyone takes the mrt at the same" to address peak / rush hours just cannot cut it to justify their high salaries and lack of eq :(

numero uno

Alll the farking reporters are stupid and ballless. The reporter should have stood up and tell him off " I think your ministerial job is easy....just like holding a pen and writing a few articles and getting the million dollar salary. So we don't need you and why don't you resign and let us run the show like you said?"

ckmpd

Alll the farking reporters are stupid and ballless. The reporter should have stood up and tell him off " I think your ministerial job is easy....just like holding a pen and writing a few articles and getting the million dollar salary. So we don't need you and why don't you resign and let us run the show like you said?"

A Minister chairs a mtg and listens to his ministry staff present their papers. What is so difficult abt a Minister's job?

fupikee

Khaw-Boon-Haw.jpg

The purpose of hara-kiri is to make the whole bloody face, body and self disappear forever from the particular society or at the least the feudal castles. So to ensure that hara-kiri was successful in its objective, ancient jappies appoint secondary executioners to chop off the bloody head if the hara-kiri knife did not do the job or the person did not die fast enough.

Bloody cow's hara-kiri was done by a group of doctors who just did a skin surface job for wayang, and that costs the cow only $8.

Thus bloody cow ought to do the proper hara-kiri in the rightful, traditional way. We are certain, given his record of public performances, there will be no lack of people who will willingly volunteer to be the secondary executioners to finish the job on this bloody cow. Afterwards, take the bloody head and hang it on the city walls like the ancient jappie practice.....the jappies will be astonished and delighted by our imitation of their ancient art.....:smile: