• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Khaw: I Will Improve MRT Reliability From C+ To 'A' In 2 Years! PAP! PAP!

SM27-SHI-001-00.jpg

SINGAPORE — Rail operators have loftier rail reliability standards to live up to by 2020, with Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan setting a new target for rail reliability in 2020 to improve seven times from 2015’s standards.

The new 2020 target is 1 million train-km, measured as mean kilometres between failure (MKBF) or average distance trains can travel before hitting delays of more than five minutes.

Speaking at the Fourth Joint Forum on Infrastructure Maintenance on Thursday (July 27), Mr Khaw, who is also the Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure, noted that overall train frequency between delays of more than five minutes have risen from 133,000km in 2015 to nearly 400,000km as of the first half of this year, based on preliminary data which exclude the delays due to testing of the new signalling system. That is an improvement of nearly three times.

Rail operators have also exceeded this year’s target of 300,000 train-km, and are on track to meet the 400,000 train-km target next year and 800,000 train-km by 2020. In addition, the number of major delays has also gone down from 10 in the first half of 2016 to three over the same period this year.

While this is a “satisfactory outcome”, the minister said: “This is not yet the steady state we are hoping for, but versus what we had inherited two years ago, I think this is maybe C+. Next year we should go for B. The following year, certainly before election, must be an A.”

But he also said the initial target of 800,000 train-km by 2020 was set last year, before Taipei Metro, regarded as the world’s best rail system, “upped the game” to achieve 1 million train-km last year. So referencing the “best in class performance”, he decided to increase Singapore’s 2020 rail reliability target as well.

Touching on the re-signalling project on the North-South Line (NSL), Mr Khaw implored commuters to be patient as train delays are bound to occur as engineers sort out the teething problems that will surface due to the re-signalling work that is being carried out.

While several delays and congestion did emerge as expected, he said this allowed engineers to fix the glitches before the new system is properly launched.

“Overall, the experience has actually been less traumatic than what we had feared,” he added.

The only exception, he pointed out, was the major disruption on June 28, which was due to a mistake made by the engineering team from Thales – the system supplier. An incompatible radio was connected to the system, which caused a sudden congestion on the network, resulting in all trains on the NSL and Tuas West Extension to lose radio communications.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/rail-reliability-has-improved-khaw-sets-new-higher-standards

Why must we wait 2 years? Those whose job was to run the system was paid $$$....$.

If it is going to take 2 years then I think it is only fair that those who didn't do their job properly must give back their $$$...$$. I think it is called a claw back.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Maybe during GE Khaw should dangle carrots.

"If you vote for PAP, the MRT line that go through your estate will have 'upgrading' to A+, if vote opposition sorry C+"

Steady lah!

He seems to be implying that what he inherited 2 years ago was an F, or at best a D. :rolleyes::biggrin:

While this is a “satisfactory outcome”, the minister said: “This is not yet the steady state we are hoping for, but versus what we had inherited two years ago, I think this is maybe C+. Next year we should go for B. The following year, certainly before election, must be an A.”

Ownself give Ownself C+ grade. Everyone else in the country give F grade. I suppose, when you are at the very rock bottom, you can only go up in grade.

bobby

I thought they always rated themselves as "world class" transport?

If it is only C+ now, like in any meritocracy, their respective salaries should also be adjusted to C+.

Seee3

Why must we wait 2 years? Those whose job was to run the system was paid $$$....$.

If it is going to take 2 years then I think it is only fair that those who didn't do their job properly must give back their $$$...$$. I think it is called a claw back.

Must wait 2 years because many new lines will be completed and commissioned by then. This will add many additional km to the overall operation. So the old lines can continue to breakdown but the performance of no. of breakdowns per xx km will improve to A

What would they achieve?
If they are already having problems with the current smaller system, can imagine more problems when they expand the system.

Sure they can claim fewer problems per XX km but with the MRT system tied together, a failure in one part would have a ripple affect impacting the whole system.

fupikee

Cow should shut his mouth and do his job. He is still hung up on his PSLE results?

Looks like bloody cow is firing the election gun early.....

As usual, the pappy promise before the next elections in two year's time....after elections....the usual pappy...you die your own business, we still collect our millions dollar salaries, sitting on our fat arses.....:eek:

In practically every ministry he went to, he left behind a record and legacy of problems....long term ones, that will eventually impact negatively upon the lives of Singaporeans.....rising costs, growing frustrations, seemingly unsolvable day to day problems......from health, housing and now transport....

The solution is simple, if the 70% dares...get rid of such money minded jiu hu kias by voting them out.....

Satyr

Does the PAP show any mercy ? Why should commuters listen to pleas for patience from highly paid ministers and executives. Will heads roll if they do not achieve targets ? I doubt it. They have all kinds of ways of declaring victory. Be raucous and impatient. Commuters have a right. They elected the PAP on their promises to give results. Lowly paid people in other countries are doing better .

The only decent thing to do is nationalise the entire MRT. Taxpayers are burdened with the infrastructure and the maintenance of it while the operators are reporting profits without fail. To hide the profits and still delivering substandard service, Temasek delisted SMRT. It is the only Singapore public funded enterprise that was listed in SGX that was delisted. SIA, DBS, ST and a whole slew of GLC were never delisted.

Singaporeans have no idea what the fuck is going on. They will turn for the Meet the MP session and ask for the same few things - can they extend their maids permit, can the son be posted to office job for NS, can they change their HDB flat allotment from lower floor to higher floor, can school allow the son to have long hair. etc.

the solution is very simple: just pass a mandate that ALL SMRT EMPLOYEES have to take Mrt to work. services will improve immediately

maxxi

There are 93 first-generation MTR trains, made by Metro-Cammell in England, still in operation today. Most of them started operating in 1979 while 15 began services in 1989

Amazing HK MTR eh? carriage still operational after 35 years!.

And they got concrete [not wood] sleepers from day one.

I think we got punked.

kkbutterfly

they didn't understand our stations are too close already.
this cause a lot of wear and tears to the whole system.
just light urban driving in SG52. every few hundreds meters you will encounter one red light. this really wear down the vehicles as well as the road.
if you skip AYE and try driving from clementi to Tiong bahru, you will have to battles with 22 traffic lights

now if you talk about Taipei high speed rail each station is many km apart.

Pek Kim Lui

smrt under PAP all the time, so what shit is he toking? oso it was an F............ from F to E is 100% improvement n datz belly good