• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Race Is Important in SG

yellowarse

Do you realize that whether you classify race by liguistic group, geography, physiology, biological phenotype, the parameters are always arbitrary to a greater or lesser extent and subject to shifting socio-cultural and even political pressures?

That's why evolutionary biologists and social anthropologists alike do not recognize race — as the world defines it — as a biological construct. And modern genomic studies bear this out.

Do you realize that whether you classify race by liguistic group, geography, physiology, biological phenotype, the parameters are always arbitrary to a greater or lesser extent and subject to shifting socio-cultural and political pressures?

That's why evolutionary biologists and social anthropologists alike do not recognize race — as the world defines it — as a biological construct. And modern genomic studies bear this out.

If you go according to genomic studies we are 99.9999% similar.

However there is no mistaking the obvious biological differences between a Caucasian and a Negroid even though the differences may be only skin deep.

In 200 years time I agree that the term "race" will be meaningless because we have all been put in a blender.

yellowarse

If you go according to genomic studies we are 99.9999% similar.

Hence 'clines'. If you move east across the Eurasian landmass, you'd find biological gradations, both phenotypic and genotypic in the peoples you come across, independent of language or culture, and you may group them in smaller clusters called 'clines'. But how you group them, and how fine these clusters are, are also arbitrary to some degree since it's a continuum.

However there is no mistaking the obvious biological differences between a Caucasian and a Negroid even though the differences may be only skin deep.

Historically in the US, the 'one-drop' rule states that one African ancestor, even 10 generations back, makes you a Negro. Later the definition was restricted to 1/8 ('Octaroon') or more black ancestry. So a guy who's 87.5% European and 12.5% west African is considered 'black'. So much for biology.

Today, in a more liberal clime, for census purposes the social criteria of 'exhibiting cultural traits associated with the black people' is added.

By the way, recent genetic studies of native-born Americans have shown that the average black man has 25% European genomic make-up and up to 4% of white people have African ancestry.

In 200 years time I agree that the term "race" will be meaningless because we have all been put in a blender.

The 'browning' of the world is already taking place at rapid pace, in part due to globalization and immigration. 'Race' may be obsolete sooner than you think, though there will always be an arch-conservative segment of society clinging on to archaic notions of race.

before that it was based on 3 races: negroid, mongoloid, and caucasoid. it morphed into 5 races in the 90s to be more politically correct with the spread of neo liberalism. negroid is a no-no as it's derived from the negro or nigger word; mongoloid is synonymous with down syndrome and is also a no-no in official documents; caucasoid or caucasian is still used today by cops, news, media, etc. to further differentiate american natives from a combo of mongoloid and caucasoid, the american indian or alaskan native race was created. hawaiians, samoans, tahitians, and other polynesians petitioned for their own race as pacific islanders as they felt out of place in either the negroid or mongoloid racial categories. ironically pinoys were kept out of this group as pinoys were considered asians, although they could have been considered polynesians like folks from guam, tinian, saipan, etc. (islands that have seen military action and bloodshed in ww2).

also considered in the asian race in the 1997 official standard were indians from the sub-continent, although by biological classification ah nehs were more caucasoid than mongoloid. thus, asian includes all 3 (negroid, mongoloid, caucasoid): malays, pinoys, new guineans, timorese as part of negroids; chinese, japs, koreans, mongols as part of mongoloids, and south indians, pakis, afghans, iraqis, iranians, syrians, jordanians, etc., as part of caucasoids. jews and israelis, who are semitic and closer to armenians and arabs than they are to east asians are not considered west asians but white. some armenians, arabs and azerbaijanese are considered white if they have fair skin, blue or green eyes and blond hair, while those with dark skin, black hair, black or brown eyes are considered asian like ah nehs. one of the most difficult to classify is egyptian: neither african/black nor negroid and neither asian nor mongoloid. if an egyptian checks the "white" box, nobody will question him or her.

the most complexed and perplexing are 2 race/ethnicity combos: white with hispanic ethnicity and black with hispanic ethnicity. no where else in the world uses "hispanic" for ethnic classification. the u.s. have such a confusing blend of migrants from the caribbean, latin america, and west indies that a special ethnic category is created. but it is so wide ranging that it creates controversy of its own. for example, rihanna can be both black and hispanic but she prefers the black label without the hispanic ethnic sub-label. pablo sandoval the baseball player would be both black and hispanic. ricky martin, jennifer lopez, selena gomez would be considered white and hispanic. eva longoria is considered white and hispanic but she is 70% european (spaniard), 27% native american and 3% african. and last but not least, jah jamban the jamaican jumble would be considered black nigger and not hispanic but chink.

before that it was based on 3 races: negroid, mongoloid, and caucasoid. it morphed into 5 races in the 90s to be more politically correct with the spread of neo liberalism.

The Dems love this the more categories the better. It enables them to pander to the specific needs of the so called "communities". black community, hispanic community etc.

It's hardly new. It's simply a rehash of the "divide and rule" strategy of the colonial era.

Trump won because he had a simple message for all communities black, blue, yellow or brown. MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN!!!!

The Dems love this the more categories the better. It enables them to pander to the specific needs of the so called "communities". black community, hispanic community etc.

It's hardly new. It's simply a rehash of the "divide and rule" strategy of the colonial era.

Trump won because he had a simple message for all communities black, blue, yellow or brown. MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN!!!!

and now in sf, alameda county, san mateo county and santa clara county (super liberal bastions), we have 7 languages printed in every official county literature and notices: english, spanish, mandarin, vietnamese, tagalog, hindi, and another south indian language (need to take a pic and post later). they want to hug trees yet they're killing more trees to get more pages sent out by snail mail.

fupikee

Dear bros, talk so much in this forum and presumably others as well. But is anyone daring enough to put in an application in the High Court to challenge the pappy interpretation of Malay classification, such that halisma, an obvious indian can be considered as Malay? Chances are dim such a thing will happen....unless we can see another gung ho roy ngerng challenging the pappy dialogue. :(

BTW, everyone would have noticed that although halisma's pe candidacy has been bandied around since months ago, she is yet to put in her actual application. Waiting for what? Maybe till official last minute so that there is no last ditch effort to challenge her kerling reclassification to malay.

What you say?

Dear bros, talk so much in this forum and presumably others as well. But is anyone daring enough to put in an application in the High Court to challenge the pappy interpretation of Malay classification, such that halisma, an obvious indian can be considered as Malay? Chances are dim such a thing will happen....unless we can see another gung ho roy ngerng challenging the pappy dialogue. :(

The pappies pay judges very well.

Kpkb also no use.
If the heat on this prez race is too hot...
Pappies can just change the law again and say only Indian mozlem can stand. All will be lppl.

Kpkb also no use.
If the heat on this prez race is too hot...
Pappies can just change the law again and say only Indian mozlem can stand. All will be lppl.

70% voted for it...so I wonder why they kpkb....n next Erection will be a chup Cheng erection..than after that reserved for aliens

ckmpd

The Singaporean convention is to follow the father. So the answer to your question is 'Indian'.

Of course, in a matrilear society, there's no reason why one can't follow the mum.

Ultimately, race and ethnicity are social constructions, but that's another topic altogether.

Yes, In SG the race of a child is same as the father.

A child who has an Indian father is an Indian.

A child who has a Malay father is a Malay.

An Indian child cant be a Malay. Dont let the pap twist and turn an Indian child into a Malay child.

Like wise, SG cant allow the pap to turn Halimah , an Indian, into a Malay

BTW, everyone would have noticed that although halisma's pe candidacy has been bandied around since months ago, she is yet to put in her actual application. Waiting for what? Maybe till official last minute so that there is no last ditch effort to challenge her kerling reclassification to malay.

What you say?

U hit the nail on the head...this point can be used by TCB to challenge the gahmen..they real ones who can make a difference is WP MPs..but too bad they don't support the EP..so they no sight n no sound m this is damaging the opposition cause.. n damaging the country as a whole

ckmpd

Race is of course an important part of the social sphere in Singapore....even when you want to sell your HDB, it must be to a certain race.

Yes, we must not allow the pap to manipulate the law to suit pap's purposes

ckmpd

if Halimah Yacob's NRIC stated that she is an Indian, why was she the PAP's minority candidate for Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC which requires a Malay candidate ? PAP just make up the rules to suit themselves ?

An Indian or a Malay or a Sikh can be a minority candidate in a GRC Team

Yes, In SG the race of a child is same as the father.

A child who has an Indian father is an Indian.

A child who has a Malay father is a Malay.

An Indian child cant be a Malay. Dont let the pap twist and turn an Indian child into a Malay child.

Like wise, SG cant allow the pap to turn Halimah , an Indian, into a Malay

It's pretty obvious the pappies never thought this reserved erection through

ckmpd

Consistency is the operative word. If the state chooses to define race in a particular way for policy making and demographic purposes, then it has to abide by it in all situations.

I agree with you. That's why we must consider whether we can sue the pap if it insists on decalring Halimah as a Malay for this EP

ckmpd

If you can remember on the basis of the formation of GRCs (after Potong Pair won by Chiam), you will now better appreciate why the sudden need for a reserved race EP election this time round.

It is simple , to prevent LHL having to stand up when TCB enters the room