• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Great analysis of the Lee saga.

Fair point. I guess I live in hope. When this PM announced that there will be an independent inquiry and the then Dir of ISD offered his resignation, I sensed change.

When members of the commission was announced, WKS and MHA which would face the inquiry turned turtle immediately. They had appointed the DS of MHA as a member. She obviously depends on WKS for her rating, bonus and promotion. It was a lost cause.

When they announced Selvam and Tee plus a complete unknown and an NTUC lapdog for the Little India debacle I was quite confident that the first 2 would carry the day. The first week was brilliant as Tee and Selvam began crucifying the idiots. The next week the proceedings took a massive U-turn and the report when it came exonerated every person and entity except the evil thing called alcohol. It was laughable and sad to see two men who had distinguished careers reduced to malleable digits.

Who would you propose to be part of an independent committee? Who can you rely on to meet the lofty standards of impartiality can be relied upon acceptable to both sides? I would really like to know because given what happened post-Little India riots and how the scathing inquisition became somewhat meek drivel by some of the sharpest and respected minds locally the whole concept itself would be ultimately a lamentable exercise.

The ongoing frustration with the EP is another case. One would think that it is genuinely shocking that we are part of a country that has no shame in scrubbing historical facts* in front of our eyes to suit themselves. But you hear instead a citizenry saying that we have a wonderful corruption free system (look our roads so clean) and that people champion grumblers (foreigners appreciate what we have more than we do). This is a government that has no sense of hesitancy to do whatever it takes to suit their agenda at any given point in time - and the general citizenry accept it unquestioningly whatsoever.

We are truly the laughing stock of the democratic world.

https://publichouse.sg/tan-cheng-bock-challenge-fails-govts-edit-spores-history-affirmed/

Tan Cheng Bock challenge fails, Govt’s edit of S’pore’s history affirmed

The High Court on Friday affirmed the Government’s position that the first Elected President of Singapore is indeed Wee Kim Wee, and not Ong Teng Cheong.

The decision by Justice Quentin Loh effectively means that the Government’s edit of Singapore’s political history is now law.

President Ong, who was head of state from 1993 to 1999, was widely recognised as the nation’s first Elected President following the introduction of the scheme in 1991.

He had contested in the first such elections in 1993, winning with a majority vote of 58.69 per cent.

President Ong succeeded President Wee Kim Wee who was a ceremonial president for two 4-year terms from 1985 to 1993.

He had exercised the powers of the Elected President after the scheme came into effect in 1991.

Prior to the introduction of the Elected President scheme, presidents in Singapore were nominated by the Prime Minister and elected by Parliament which, in a one-party legislature, was mostly just a formal endorsement.

Friday’s decision by Justice Loh followed the constitutional challenge by ex-PAP MP, Dr Tan Cheng Bock, a presidential candidate in the 2011 elections.

Parliament had approved changes to the Elected President scheme earlier this year, to allow for a Reserved Election. Such an election will be held if there has not been a president from the minority races for 5 terms, or 30 years.

The Government had decided that the count of 5 terms would start from Singapore’s first Elected President which it deemed to be President Wee.

Dr Tan filed his case with the courts to contest this, arguing that the count should be from President Ong instead, since he was the first president to have gone through an actual open election and endorsed by the people of Singapore.

Dr Tan’s argument was dismissed by the judge.

Justice Loh agreed with the argument by Deputy Attorney General Hri Kumar who, incidentally, is also an ex-PAP MP.

“The recent constitutional amendments reflect a re-emphasis on the president’s unifying role and the conviction that, in order for the president to fulfil that role, that office must reflect the multiracial character of our country,” Justice Loh said.

He added, “From the perspective of ensuring multi-racial representation in the presidency…it makes no difference whether the president was elected by the electorate or by Parliament.”

He said that ultimately it was Parliament that had decided on the reserved elections with the knowledge that it allows Mr Wee’s term to be counted. And Parliament had the authority to do so.

While one is inclined to allow and defer to experts to debate the legal merits of Justice Loh’s decision, what perhaps would interest Singaporeans more is the recognition in the last 17 years since President Ong’s passing, that he is Singapore’s first Elected President.

While the letters of the law matters, so too does the spirit of things.

And in this case, it is self-evident, and patently so, that virtually all Singaporeans had recognised President Ong as the nation’s first Elected President.

As many have pointed out online, including this writer, the Government itself, and former Prime Minister Goh Goh Tong, the government’s own ministers and publications, news reports, history annals, and ordinary citizens have all accepted and recognised President Ong’s status.

What is regrettable, for example, is how former Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, in his letter of condolence to President Ong’s eldest son, had described President Ong as “Singapore’s first Elected President”, but now the Government has made a u-turn on this.

PM Goh’s letter was sent from the Istana and in his official capacity as the leader of the nation. As such, PM Goh was expressing the views of the Government of the day, on behalf of all Singaporeans.

Now, 17 years later, the same Government, where PM Goh is now Emeritus Senior Minister, is arguing in the courts that in fact President Ong is not our first Elected President.

One wonders what Mr Goh would say to President Ong’s family now.

The records of things like this are important, for they tell of the spirit of things – in this case, that President Ong was honoured with that distinguished title after having paved the way by offering himself in service of his country and took part in the first Elected President elections.

Despite the court’s decision on Friday, one suspects that in the hearts of many Singaporeans – whatever their race or cultural background – President Ong was always and will always remain our nation’s first Elected President.

It is indeed a sad day for all of us that the Government has chosen to edit this part of our political history. And sadder still that the courts have endorsed such a mistake.

KKN, this line should have been picked up by LTK during the Parliamentary session :

"Even your father - and I emphasize, is your father, as my colleague has clarified, not our father - cannot trust you with his estate, can Singaporeans trust you with their CPF money ?"

Hahahaa! You expects Low to bite his paymasters?

If AH Bock is serious about serving the Singkies,.he should prepare to contest back his old constituency and be an MP again...he can KPKB even more and make the Pappies more accountable,,and this EP stunt has made the Pappies more desperate,...but there is nothing he can do now to be President,. The next best thing is to be MP again.

Any reasonably minded person would know such serious allegations requires independent investigation and an inquiry from the word go. An innocent person facing such allegation would want to clear his or her name.

Look at the various headlines from the local press after the parliament sessions.

The PM and members of the secret committee failed to sue to clear their names using the sibling excuse. Evasive?

Nothing has changed. LTK's comment about the pants though comedic was profound and seriously damaging. And note there was no comeback even by his minders in the press.

On a less important note, citing LTK 6 times and then Png hoping for some sort of endorsement turned out to be poor strategy and it backfired spectacularly. I suppose they were hoping a repeat of the Mas Selamat / WKS gaffe by LTK.

The only thing this incident highlighted was the number of blind and blinkered sycophants that we have.

You have not been paying attention sir. Not good for family to sue here sure there. Is Tang Liang Hong a brother to ESM Goh? Of course not! So that time sue Tang is ok. Loong sue Alex Au ok. Sue Roy Ngerng also boleh.

if no govt agencies can be sued then how can PMO sue? if he sue in personal cap then it is misuse of his secretary. regardless of whether she is also dotter of L KYGel.