• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Future bodes ill for Singapore (next 20 years painful to watch)

toothpick

we have more than one sovereign wealth fund,temasek,GIC and CPF. some estimate our total reserves to be 700 billion,to as high as 1.3 trillion.

technically our sovereign funds are large enough to give us all swiss standards of living but apparently that is not happening.

Those funds are for www.casino.com and not for us.

Einfield

If it take 30 years for the musical chair to stop, The 70%'s children will suffer the fate of their parents stupidity.

When the music stops in this musical chair, the ones paying sky high property prices (esp leasehold) with no stable jobs will be the first to get it-and these are the very ones voting for them hoping that prices will forever be artificially propped up. Of course they can stop building (to reduce supply) or keep on importing foreigners (to increase demand) but the social cost on locals is very high -eg longer wait for HDB in the first instance and no jobs for locals in the second.

Either way the 70% need to be taught a painful lesson and they deserve it. There is really no cure for stupidity and as the theory of evolution shows,the weak (or in this case, the meek and weak with no balls to vote out an incompetent lot) will be eliminated and you only need to go to any children's playground to see that-foreigners overwhelm locals there.
The legacy of LHL is not the OR38 fiasco but the elimination of many of the very people who voted for him-what an irony!

Reddog

In all Ponzi schemes, those who bail out early will survive and remain ahead of the game. You folks want to stay ...?

decent02

For the good of sinkapore, this is my view on the type of government to have.
1) con artist: dun get me wrong. Not to con their own people. Con foreigners to invest in sg. They have to be street smart. Think with their right brain type of leader. I see none today.
2) encourage mistakes: if government rules with instiling fear, citizens will all be yes man. Fear will dictate their thinking and actions. Creativity will be gone. Do you see Many Singapore entrepreneurs at the world stage today. Free up the economy in sg to citizens first before encouraging them to explore trade outside Singapore aka 7 hours flight mentality. Encourage freedom of speech.
3) humble leader: acknowledged sg is small. We have nothing but educated workforce. Don't go and snubbed big boys like China. Donno whether to cry or laugh on the invitation card issue with China one belt. Before usa election results, don't go and lick Hilary ass and talk bad about trump. Use your brain lah. If you think China can influence Singapore economy, appoint a Chinese foreign minister. Common sense. Perception is important. Looking at your face we can tell that you are a egotistical.
4) transparency and accountability: last time as a student, we don't do evaluations on lecturer. Now this is the norm in poly n uni. This is safe guard against abusing of power. But don't NATO. What you do the civil service will follow. Monkey sees monkey do. The top needs to set good example.
5) safeguarding Singapore interest: can you ensure the strength of sg currency against the likes of US dollar, Yen forever. I don't care about the interest rates in cpf. I don't care about your million dollar salary. All these are trivial. I do not want to see Singapore becoming the next Angola. Toilet papers worth more than the currency. Negate my fear by opening up the books of GIC and Temasek. Would it be fair to hold on cpf money and prolong withdrawal when you cannot guarantee the strength of sg dollar vs other currencies? Hello I need to plan for my retirement...

In all Ponzi schemes, those who bail out early will survive and remain ahead of the game. You folks want to stay ...?

when a ponzi scheme is sanctioned and run by the state it will last indefinitely or until hostile revolution turns it upside down. the u.s. have been running the largest ponzi scheme in the world by the name of social security since fdr and it's not going to go away with either pubs or dems in charge of all 3 branches. of course, private ponzi schemes are being frowned upon by the state. there's an end game to that. sinkies can stay in their comfort cocoons that official soixante neuf ponzi schemes will remain relevant and solvent for generations. no fear and no panic.

nayr69sg

Staff member
when a ponzi scheme is sanctioned and run by the state it will last indefinitely or until hostile revolution turns it upside down. the u.s. have been running the largest ponzi scheme in the world by the name of social security since fdr and it's not going to go away with either pubs or dems in charge of all 3 branches. of course, private ponzi schemes are being frowned upon by the state. there's an end game to that. sinkies can stay in their comfort cocoons that official soixante neuf ponzi schemes will remain relevant and solvent for generations. no fear and no panic.

Yup until they are dumb enough to vote out PAP then Ponzi revealed. LOL!

decent02

Knn encourage citizens to be hawkers, grab/uber drivers. Gone case liao Singapore. This way to churn GDP is not correct

nayr69sg

Staff member
Knn encourage citizens to be hawkers, grab/uber drivers. Gone case liao Singapore. This way to churn GDP is not correct

Singapore is done. No change in leadership will turn things around. The product is no longer relevant in this day and age. It is like when Nokia tried to change. Or Kodak. Blackberry.

Sell. Dun be fooled by LHY ok? He is the smartest of the Lee children. He is divesting. Maybe this is all a ruse from him so that he can have excuse to migrate without hurting his brother's political career.

Imagine if there is no quarrel and we found out LHY migrated it will look bad on LHL.

Dun be fooled ok?

Too many sinkies are so obsessed with seeing some kind of strife within PAP and immediately get their hopes up about how sinkies will vote opposition next election. Nuts.

decent02

Singapore is done. No change in leadership will turn things around. The product is no longer relevant in this day and age. It is like when Nokia tried to change. Or Kodak. Blackberry.

Sell. Dun be fooled by LHY ok? He is the smartest of the Lee children. He is divesting. Maybe this is all a ruse from him so that he can have excuse to migrate without hurting his brother's political career.

Imagine if there is no quarrel and we found out LHY migrated it will look bad on LHL.

Dun be fooled ok?

Too many sinkies are so obsessed with seeing some kind of strife within PAP and immediately get their hopes up about how sinkies will vote opposition next election. Nuts.
LHY is no angel too.
Could be that piece of land.
Already talk Swee swee with major property developers. Something to do with the building height limitations in surrounding area.

social security is not a ponzi,only the rich complains about it.social security is great actually considering the terms and payouts.way way way better than cpf.besides if america stops wasting money on pointless stuff,they will actually have money for things that matter like healthcare,education and social security.

decent02

Once you see listed companies in Singapore trying to delist and get out as private companies or re-listing elsewhere. Then we should be alert. Mostly they are afraid of future depreciation of sg currency.

aurvandil

Singapore will obviously still be around in 20 years...much like Liverpool, Venice, Detroit, Atlantic City etc are still around. The Singapore 20 years from now will however be a husk of the Singapore that once was. If things remain the same in 30 to 40 years, we will probably see a depopulated Singapore with a population density resembling that of Singapore in the 1980s.

if singapore doesnt work with cheaper better faster talentos i dont see how it could ever work with just sinkies alone.i predict singapore population will be fine 20,30 years later,probably even bigger.the core population on the other hand will see a shrinkage to 1980s levels.after all have u ever seen a country go from first world to third what more a small tiny country like Singapore?its not singapore is too hard to manage or keep afloat,its just we are trying too hard to be something we are not,or punch above our weight like some called it.u want a tiny country of 3.5 million population with a sane GDP per cap of 30,000 which is still rich and first world is perfectly doable......70,000 is just asking too much.

we will probably see a new breed of singaporeans emerge 20 years later,a new smorgasbord of patois from the intermingling of chao ni ma,putang ina mo and high caste shitskins.what new language will emerge no one knows.sinkies on the other hand will become a dieing species,the last of the samurai.we will become the native minorities like australia aboriginals or native indians or worse the m&ds,doomed forever to live off welfare of the state and special reparations status.

koKSia

The future of Singapore is till with a PAP govt. Vote opposition in and you get a confederacy of dunces. But it is a disgrace they have allowed yes-men to fill up every nook and canary of the party and civil service. Yes, it might just be slow ride down in the next two decades.