• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Lee Wei Ling & Lee Hsien Yang condemns Lee Hsien Loong

JHolmesJr

I would not want to be sitting across a poker table from this man, trying to guess his cards. He's a master strategist….in one fell swoop, he manages to not only say
what he wants, but also conveys to the actors on 3 July to be careful which horse they're backing…in case more revelations are posted that prove their judgement
to be flawed….they must be shitting themselves now.

We have serious concerns with Lee Hsien Loong’s attempt to cover-up and whitewash himself in Parliament on 3 July 2017. We have begun to show evidence of his misuse of his position and influence to drive his personal agenda. This is yet another example.

This Parliamentary session is a forum that again places Hsien Loong before his subordinates. They lack both sufficient background and evidence of the numerous instances of abuse and conflicts of interest, many yet to be raised. Even before the session, many of them appear to have felt obliged to give him cover. Many MPs will fear career repercussions if they speak out against their superior. Historically, few PAP MPs have dared to dissent even when the party whip was lifted.

There will be no opportunity or adequate time for evidence to be properly drawn together, placed before Parliament, and considered. Nor will there be any opportunity for an examining body to properly probe explanations or excuses. A Parliamentary session is not the correct forum for investigations of this nature.

We have no confidence that a fair, transparent or complete account of events will be told: only his side of the story will air, with no promise of truthfulness due to parliamentary privilege. Indeed, it could also be an opportunity to continue to mislead or insinuate under this privilege.

We believe that key issues such as his abuse of power will be simply swept under the carpet. The accused controls both process and outcome in this forum.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Re: Lee Wei Ling delivers uppercut to moron brother with new FB post, GO LING!!!

I think Janadas is very believable here. He is as much a neutral as can be expected in the singapore govt. He lives in Texas, teaches there and moonlights as the chief of communications. He has US PR and makes a good living there. PAP cannot touch him or bankrupt him or sue him in US. Not to mention he is still viewed with some suspicions b y the establishment due to his last name and the fact he will not move to zikapore permanently, he is not as big a porlumpar as others and hence as impartial as you can find. Coupled with the fact that he met Old Fart and discussed this topic of Oxley demolition in detail, basically saying in this email that he heard it from the horse's mouth.

The other damning part of the email is his reference to small minded people who do not want to grant old fart his last wish. I wonder who he is referring to? Gay Loong maybe? If so, he has just indirectly called his PeeM small minded. not the kind of leader zikapore should have. But then, we already know he was small minded.

Hold your horses for a bit. That email from Janadas is dated 28 July 2011! It is not done recently.

Unless this whole topic on demolish or not demolish had been something the whole family had been fighting all the way back then!

Should find out the context in which he talked about small minded persons.

JHolmesJr

Re: Lee Wei Ling delivers uppercut to moron brother with new FB post, GO LING!!!

Hold your horses for a bit. That email from Janadas is dated 28 July 2011! It is not done recently.

Unless this whole topic on demolish or not demolish had been something the whole family had been fighting all the way back then!

Should find out the context in which he talked about small minded persons.

do you even understand the context of female lee's post…..what she is comparing here…..you're obviously a moron…..its scary to think you're a doctor who people follow blindly.

yellowarse

Hold your horses for a bit. That email from Janadas is dated 28 July 2011! It is not done recently..

No matter. It proves that LHL lied in his statutory declaration 7 days earlier, an offence punishable under the penal code.

This is apart from all the other serious issues raised in the allegations, e.g. the appointment of an ill-qualified overaged AG, abuse of state resources for private gain, HC's direct interference in state affairs, etc

Agree on the social conservatives and their continued support of the establishment or any manifestation of an establishment. Mainly because we evolved as such over the 50 years under the Lees.

However life without the Lees will be different as no single individual has been able to form a power base. Factions formed in the party are limited to the Chinese Language lot primarily made of teachers and journalists and the Malays led by AMP but these are merely to protect their interest and not to challenge for power. GCT came close but those aligned to him were around his constituency levels but not at the upper levels of politics or government.

A vacuum will prevail for a long while with officer bearers holding to an imaginary old man as mentor and guiding light. The fastest area to move would be key business leaders along old clan, banking and trading lines this time to protect their investments. OCBC, Hong Leongs, UOBs, etc. They are the likely re-group to push forward a new leader or provide political support and backing to the new PM and help him grow in his place and re-structure his cabinet to their liking.

Contrary to what Thum said, the Lee Dynasty did not grow influentially across the society. Fear was the single factor behind their hold. Even into the business or even in the political sphere their real is limited. Dennis Lee's son has been aligned with a number of Indonesian business identities based here such as Sukamto Sia, Low Tuck Kwong, Oei Hong Long but he has not been as good as his father. Freddy's have gone more Western, etc. The Pernakan power base of the Lee, Gohs, Tans and the Kwas have also dissipated.

Looking at Old Man's grandsons, 2 passionate, 1 destined for academia, one in private equity and his lifestyle completely precludes him from politics, and the reminder lot have never ventured into the public life. I won't be surprised if the majority end up in the US.

Slow painful death. The social conservatives in Singapore are too large in number. They will always support the establishment and there will never be sufficient political will for any kind of significant revolt within the Lee network. The progressives and liberals are never united, just like in the U.S., always focussed on their identity politics and racism and xenophobia and LGBTs and never about the key issues that affect ordinary working class Singaporeans. The establishment has a firm grasp on this and knows the game as it is played.

In fact, the Lee family saga itself shows how quickly the general population loses interest AND fails to recognize the key issues namely abuse of power, political sleight of hand, etc. You will be amazed how many Singaporeans think its just a petty family squabble and does not think it wise for LHY and LWL to "wash dirty linen in public".

SG will die slowly and very painfully. Next 10 years still ok as sufficient capital to keep asset prices afloat. After that, you will see fireworks to the downside.

nayr69sg

Staff member

No matter. It proves that LHL lied in his statutory declaration 7 days earlier, an offence punishable under the penal code.

This is apart from all the other serious issues raised in the allegations, e.g. the appointment of an ill-qualified overaged AG, abuse of state resources for private gain, HC's direct interference in state affairs, etc

Not if LHL can produce a later email (after 28 July 2011) from Janadas saying that LKY DID come to accept the decision to demolish.

Look I am anti PAP and anti LHL but these are just snippets of a story. You guys are just jumping all over the place like little kids when shown short clips of the next Spider-Man movie.

chucky

It is political sleight of hand, but they have been doing it since the father's time, nothing has changed. What you should try to understand is that if you give too much credibility to this matter including the outcome of the house, you will give credibility to the notion that great people lived in that house. Just realise that they are simply politicians looking after their own interests. And that includes the siblings too.

Slow painful death. The social conservatives in Singapore are too large in number. They will always support the establishment and there will never be sufficient political will for any kind of significant revolt within the Lee network. The progressives and liberals are never united, just like in the U.S., always focussed on their identity politics and racism and xenophobia and LGBTs and never about the key issues that affect ordinary working class Singaporeans. The establishment has a firm grasp on this and knows the game as it is played.

In fact, the Lee family saga itself shows how quickly the general population loses interest AND fails to recognize the key issues namely abuse of power, political sleight of hand, etc. You will be amazed how many Singaporeans think its just a petty family squabble and does not think it wise for LHY and LWL to "wash dirty linen in public".

SG will die slowly and very painfully. Next 10 years still ok as sufficient capital to keep asset prices afloat. After that, you will see fireworks to the downside.

aurvandil

I don't expect fireworks of any sort. Rather I expect more of the slow steady decline which we have been experiencing. With his New Citizen vote bank, LHL will be able to comfortably win elections for at least 20 years. That more than capital will ensure that the decline will be orderly.

Reddog

Now that lhl has been proven to lie in his statutory declaration, what's the penalty?

chucky

It will take a very very long time, because the mentality and traits have been ingrained, inherited and inculcated for a very very long time. It would be more productive to get a popcorn and soda and watch, rather than to keep moaning about abuse of power, which has been going on for a very very long time.

As Dr Thum said, there is an entire network of Lee related people within the political system and the offices of power in Singapore. Even if you bring one man down eg LHL, eg PAP lose power there will be his supporters with power in the courts, in the civil service. Unless all those Lee related families become disloyal and turn against the Lee family then you can have change. Even if change comes about it will take a long time.

I do agree about the crackdowns and chaos that might ensue. I disagree that Singapore will have a good outcome afterwards.

It is either more of the same and a slow painful death of Singapore or a sudden disintegration and utter collapse.

It will take a very very long time, because the mentality and traits have been ingrained, inherited and inculcated for a very very long time. It would be more productive to get a popcorn and soda and watch, rather than to keep moaning about abuse of power, which has been going on for a very very long time.

This time a bit different - first is got caught redhanded and second is the accuser is from the own family whom many people still respect.

Thick Face Black Heart

Contrary to what Thum said, the Lee Dynasty did not grow influentially across the society. Fear was the single factor behind their hold. Even into the business or even in the political sphere their real is limited. Dennis Lee's son has been aligned with a number of Indonesian business identities based here such as Sukamto Sia, Low Tuck Kwong, Oei Hong Long but he has not been as good as his father. Freddy's have gone more Western, etc. The Pernakan power base of the Lee, Gohs, Tans and the Kwas have also dissipated.

Economically, it has always been the GLCs that have been the stranglehold on the country. The GLCs also provided a playground to recruit and maintain PAP loyalists, besides the military. Agree on the fear factor. In recent years, also a sense of complacency and indifference with regards to what's been happening.

Good point of note on the Peranakan base of power. I remember the good old days when they were far more influential, and subtly so.

Thick Face Black Heart

What you should try to understand is that if you give too much credibility to this matter including the outcome of the house, you will give credibility to the notion that great people lived in that house. Just realise that they are simply politicians looking after their own interests. And that includes the siblings too.

Absolutely agree on this.

Goldcheekon

Not if LHL can produce a later email (after 28 July 2011) from Janadas saying that LKY DID come to accept the decision to demolish.

Look I am anti PAP and anti LHL but these are just snippets of a story. You guys are just jumping all over the place like little kids when shown short clips of the next Spider-Man movie.
Fake an LKy email is simple. Call in IT, tinker the system and it's done.

aurvandil

That is what will happen to the majority of our children. When the job opportunities here dry up, our children will be forced to go overseas. NUS, NTU, SMU etc will cease to become the dream outcome of Singapore parents. Instead everyone will be doing what they can to send their children to US, UK etc for a quality education and migration of the family after graduation. You will be surprised how clued in Singapore parents are in this respect.

Looking at Old Man's grandsons, 2 passionate, 1 destined for academia, one in private equity and his lifestyle completely precludes him from politics, and the reminder lot have never ventured into the public life. I won't be surprised if the majority end up in the US.

dogsbody

I tend to be a bit more optimistic about Singapore's future, but I agree things will get much worse before it gets better as the elites and oligarchs break up into factions.

Apathetic average Singaporeans and the upper middle class (who may be socially progressive but yearn for stability) need a rude shock to their systems, to eventually learn to take charge of their futures instead of blindly relying on the decisions of the elites. If not they will just be like frogs being killed in slow boiling water.

I feel bad for the grandson destined for academia, having met him a few times when he was a child and my children are around his age. Very different man from his grandfather yet every bit his grandson, the only one who inherited his oratorical skills, albeit in a hybrid accent. I always felt he was quite representative of the elite kids of his generation since he wrote that letter to the ST forum about how we should teach literature in Singapore. But the boy is extremely smart, and his life in Worlds debating and academia seem to have made him more humble. The interesting thing about this fella even took a financial journalism internship with The Economist during his PPE degree, the very magazine that had to apologise to his uncle and pay 127k pounds for allegations of nepotism in Singapore under his grandfather and uncle. His views are quite liberal but he is a trained economist so I would assume he is fiscally conservative. A pity he would not be back in Singapore by the looks of it, but I agree with him that Singapore is better off without all these 2nd/3rd gen political royalty.

chucky

The thing we should all remember is that none of the family deserves any special kind of respect since they are all individual politicians looking after their own interests. And that includes the siblings and those who have passed on. Although this saga is fun to watch, somehow we keep forgetting (or in some cases never knew) that they have been like that for years. It's only now that the domineering figure is gone and there is material stuff to be obtained that suddenly it is in the open. However, this should come as no surprise to those who understand their true nature and character.

This time a bit different - first is got caught redhanded and second is the accuser is from the own family whom many people still respect.

yellowarse

Later email? What are you smokin'?

21 Jul 2011 (SD): LKY accepted cabinet's position, i.e. preserve the house

28 Jul 2011 (Janadas email): LKY wants to demolish house.

How can a post-28 Jul 2011 email from Janadas (if it even exists) validate that there was a (highly implausible) change of mind on LKY's part in the 7 days between 21 Jul & 28 Jul?

Really, you should get your brain examined - you're a disgrace to the medical profession.

The thing we should all remember is that none of the family deserves any special kind of respect since they are all individual politicians looking after their own interests. And that includes the siblings and those who have passed on. Although this saga is fun to watch, somehow we keep forgetting (or in some cases never knew) that they have been like that for years. It's only now that the domineering figure is gone and there is material stuff to be obtained that suddenly it is in the open. However, this should come as no surprise to those who understand their true nature and character.

Agree, somehow the line between mortal and immortals had been blurred as far as this famiLEE is concern, sinkies had also forgotten the word "public servants".