• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Lee Wei Ling & Lee Hsien Yang condemns Lee Hsien Loong

JHolmesJr

https://www.facebook.com/weiling.lee.980

Lee Wei Ling
34 mins ·

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.
Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

Martin Niemoller (1892-1984)

I was waiting for this one to be pulled out.

LOL.

The dark clouds came over from Punggol side. Skies were darkened by 5.20ish. I suspect these pictures were taken yesterday instead.

flatearther

• rain18june2017sunday5pm.jpg
    rain18june2017sunday5pm.jpg
    129.9 KB · Views: 1,195
  • rain18june2017sunday5pm2.jpg
    rain18june2017sunday5pm2.jpg
    104.7 KB · Views: 159

Old man did indicate that the presence of his house led to 2 story height restriction and demolishing the house will allow development expansion for the area.

Stock taking at this stage reveals who we can trust and who has serious credibility issues. It's good to know that Tharman and HSK and their faction not being involved do offer a ray of hope.

The 2 biggest black mark from all this imo is the appointment of AG who is the least qualified and we now know the reason behind it. The other is the complete silence from Ho Ching despite the serious allegation levelled against her. Again a questionable appointment from day 1. Both appointments can be traced to one man and both are personally linked.

At the end of the day, the 2 siblings are 2 bit actors in the political scheme of things. It's now up to the political players and the wider population to address this.

The first course is surely the complete removal of the Minister of Law who was caught red handed playing both sides and despite his legal background and his self stated 22 years of practice seems to think that
a conflict of interest only arises when it involves a client. His fervent words on the appointment of AG is worthy of note for the wrong reasons.

Any settlement at this stage will largely be cosmetic and a pint of blood will surely be extracted from the both sides. For the foreseeable future the country will continued to be saddled with the dowager pulling the strings behind the scans without a whimper to be heard.

Bonut

So is Shan saying that there was no conflict of interest because he was already a cabinet minister when he advised LKY on his Will?

Does that mean Shan was advising LKY in his capacity as Law Minister?

Which country's Law Minister goes around advising on Will, in his own words, "at the behest" of a civilian? I also want him to advise me on my last Will leh.

JHolmesJr

If I had 2 siblings and my pops was mulling over a million dollar inheritance, I'd forbid my mrs to canvass on behalf of anyone
no matter how passionately she feels about it. Straight up dope, yo.

nayr69sg

Staff member
So is Shan saying that there was no conflict of interest because he was already a cabinet minister when he advised LKY on his Will?

Does that mean Shan was advising LKY in his capacity as Law Minister?

Which country's Law Minister goes around advising on Will, in his own words, "at the behest" of a civilian? I also want him to advise me on my last Will leh.

I think Shan is referring to the LEGAL definition of conflict of interest which only applies to professionals. So what he does as a Law Minister or politician ie not professional capacity excludes him from the ethics of conflict of interest.

Lawyers.

Alex Waipang Au
on Saturday

There are a lot of confusing details in Singapore's ongoing palace struggle, but gradually what is emerging as the key points may be these:
Lee Kuan Yew's will left the house at 38 Oxley to Lee Hsien Loong (his eldest son and the prime minister) -- though see my question below -- and in a "settlement" last year, younger brother Lee Hsien Yang bought over the house at full market value +50% more. LHY might have thought that the money was well spent since with control, he could ensure that the house would be demolished according to his father's wishes. (it is becoming apparent that LHL did not want the house demolished).

After the sale, LHY and sister Lee Wei Ling were aghast to learn that a secret cabinet committee had been set up to consider the future of the house. The secrecy was such that even the members of the committee were not identified. It is only natural that when process and key players are deliberately hidden from view, outside parties would be highly suspicious about motives. LHY and LWL might well have feared that the aim of the committee was to frustrate their intentions to demolish the house, and they might feel themselves very unjustly treated in being made to pay market value+50% in the first place only to be robbed of their freedom of action. It would leave a very, very sour taste, and would account for the intensity of their attacks on LHL.
One confusing detail remains: Some articles have mentioned that Lee Kuan Yew left his estate in three equal shares to his children.... if so, how did the entire house to go LHL? Or are those reports wrong? Maybe only a one-third share of the house?

No such thing as a legal definition for conflict of interest. Professional and trade bodies prohibit members from a series of practices and activities that falls within this unacceptable form of conduct. One example is having relationship with your patient or your client or your supplier or your service provider. Shanmugam threw a smoke grenade and some thought there is indeed technical legal definition. Even organisations that do not spell these within their code of conduct have dismissed employees on these grounds.

Example: My employer have never specified that I should not punch my colleague and I did. I will probably be sacked and for good reason.

I think Shan is referring to the LEGAL definition of conflict of interest which only applies to professionals. So what he does as a Law Minister or politician ie not professional capacity excludes him from the ethics of conflict of interest.

Lawyers.

flatearther

The battle lines were drawn when old man death anniversary became a PAP event contrary to the wishes of the old man. It certainly set off the daughter big time.
I suspect that she's simply a superstitious Chinese Sinkie old woman, who believes in some kind of:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Afterlife
and she very much wants to meet her parents again after she dies; but at the same time, she's also afraid that she might "lose face" when she meets them, just because she ended up being a "bad" daughter for failing to demolish LKY's house! :*: :rolleyes:

Maybe this is why she's still living in his house and wants to "live a long life", according to LHY:
cna.asia/2rsKy1L
because:

1. she's afraid to die so soon in the near future, with the thought that she failed to demolish his house and that she's going to "lose face" when she meets her parents in the afterlife.

2. she wants to continue living at least until she receives "approval" from the government to finally demolish his house.