• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat NUS in real trouble

YellowDuck

NTU overtakes NUS in latest QS university rankings

SINGAPORE: Nanyang Technological University (NTU) was on Thursday (Jun 8) named Asia's top university in the 2018 Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings, surpassing the National University of Singapore (NUS) in the process.

NTU is ranked 11th in the world, above other notable institutions such as Princeton University, Cornell University and Yale University, and two positions above its previous 13th spot.

“To climb up to the 11th spot, just one place shy of the Top 10, is remarkable progress. Even though NTU is now the highest ranked Singapore university, I maintain what I have always said – Singaporeans should be very proud that a small nation like Singapore has two world-class universities," said NTU President Professor Bertil Anderson.

NTU has climbed 63 places on the QS world rankings since 2010.

“The fact that an institution of NTU’s youth and profile finds itself on the brink of the world’s top 10 is a remarkable achievement and a testament to a concentrated, selective funding model, strong and consistent leadership, sticking with an ambitious tactical plan and a radical approach to international partnerships and collaboration,” said research director at QS Ben Sowter.

NUS came in at 15th place in the latest rankings, dropping three spots from 12th.

NUS president Tan Chorh Chuan said: “NUS has continued its strategic focus on nurturing future-ready graduates, developing lifelong education, conducting world-class research and contributing to economic and societal advancement through research translation, entrepreneurship and service.

"While NUS is placed 15th this year in the QS World University Rankings 2018, we are pleased to note that the university continues to be very highly rated for Academic as well as Employer Reputation.”

Singapore Management University (SMU) was placed in the 441 to 450 category.

In determining rankings, QS assesses universities in four areas: Research, teaching, employability and internationalisation. More than 950 universities from more than 80 countries were ranked in this year's list.

Globally, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) came up tops, while Stanford University and Harvard University were second and third, respectively.

The Australian National University and Tsinghua University were the other two institutions in the Asia Pacific region to make it to the top 25 in this year's rankings.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...-nus-in-latest-qs-university-rankings-8927306

Cottonmouth

Isn't Delhi University or Tagalog Uni the best since Fag Loong keep importing pests from there and sideline NUS and NTU degrees?

They should rank the universities by employer demand.im pretty sure they rank at the bottom

THE_CHANSTER

NTU is ranked 11th in the world, above other notable institutions such as Princeton University, Cornell University and Yale University, and two positions above its previous 13th spot.

WTF! You're seriously telling me that NTU and NUS are above these Ivy League schools?

11th n 15th in world rankings so wat? ...

beating other notable unis, so wat? ...

cant even get premium pay from employers ...

coys had in no uncertain terms specified dey wan grads from usa or ahheh universities ...

dose uni prez n dat 154th shud stop kidding demselves n misleading peasants ...

Truly amazing. No NUS or NTU alumnus has achieved anything global in terms of awards, inventions or achievement. Not just Nobel Prize, but things like Booker prize, etc. Closet thing that the world remembers is the sound blaster, caning and Old Man. Lets look at in the words of Old Man, the "white trash of Asia". The penal rejects have garnered 15 Nobel laureates,and 5 since 2000. 5 Booker Prizes since 1969.

So why are NUS and NTU on the top? Like our top students, did we game the system.

borom

2 world class universities but what have they contributed to society in general-in terms of new inventions/discoveries, medicine, quality of life ect2

For example trains keep on breaking down, more and more lifts are malfunctioning, housing are unaffordable, hospitals waiting periods get longer, students study longer hours and have more tuition -basically life gets more miserable as the quality of life goes down.
Is that their contribution?-making life miserable for locals while foreigners and new citizens and PR's are living it up?

None of these professors are able to rescue NOL and looks like none are able to turn SIA around-so what do these business/economics /marketing professors teach?.

Good questions and deserve answers.

2 world class universities but what have they contributed to society in general-in terms of new inventions/discoveries, medicine, quality of life ect2

For example trains keep on breaking down, more and more lifts are malfunctioning, housing are unaffordable, hospitals waiting periods get longer, students study longer hours and have more tuition -basically life gets more miserable as the quality of life goes down.
Is that their contribution?-making life miserable for locals while foreigners and new citizens and PR's are living it up?

WTF! You're seriously telling me that NTU and NUS are above these Ivy League schools?

those are jew universities especially cornell.NUS and NTU practises diversity like star wars the farce engorges and star trek movies and pro cis gender and intersectionality and in creating a safe space for all and not just the chink priviledge to participate in.

and for that NTU ranks highly for being far ahead of its time.

nayr69sg

Staff member
for data center type of jaga must have technical qualifications. best is from southern pacific or western atlantic.

Oh data center jaga. So you like watch for hacking and protect data systems? Wah got any story to share ? NK try to attack and you hero ward them off?

You got watch City Hunter K-drama? You machiam like Lee Min Ho's character work at Blue House?

Oh data center jaga. So you like watch for hacking and protect data systems? Wah got any story to share ? NK try to attack and you hero ward them off?

You got watch City Hunter K-drama? You machiam like Lee Min Ho's character work at Blue House?

majority of downtime is from human error. like bt technician configured power inputs wrongly on upgrade and surge during cutover took down everything. or amazon failover during botched upgrade and fallback did not fail over with georedundancy not properly configured and implemented. then there are hack attacks - with anyeong haseo signatures followed by cum sam hamida thank you notes. :biggrin:

nayr69sg

Staff member
majority of downtime is from human error. like bt technician configured power inputs wrongly on upgrade and surge during cutover took down everything. or amazon failover during botched upgrade and fallback did not fail over with georedundancy not properly configured and implemented. then there are hack attacks - with anyeong haseo signatures followed by cum sam hamida thank you notes. :biggrin:

then need data center jaga with technical skills for what?

to ensure firewalls are running ok and new signatures are detected which will require white hat team to develop counter. no end in sight. for example, fb has global security center to monitor 24 by 7 and they employ jagas. pay is good but cannot buy house in sillycon valley. so must sleep and shit in data center.

nayr69sg

Staff member
to ensure firewalls are running ok and new signatures are detected which will require white hat team to develop counter. no end in sight. for example, fb has global security center to monitor 24 by 7 and they employ jagas. pay is good but cannot buy house in sillycon valley. so must sleep and shit in data center.

ok lah sounds a bit like doctor working in ICU got to monitor patients. Also sleep and shit in the ward. Also have to eat where you shit also. Even pak jiu cheng also same place.

i sympathize. it's a thankless job, especially when dealing with demanding tiongs and sinkies.