• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

Chitchat Insensitive feedback at NUS: Please be considerate of professors' feelings

chittychitty

Alfrescian
Loyal
I'm actually an assistant professor, and I've been with NUS over 3 years. This is my first university after I obtained my PhD, and so far things are good - especially the university's focus on research. Besides research, new faculty are expected to teach foundation courses. Honestly I'm not a very good lecturer; so are some of my newer colleagues, but we try our best. When I first arrived, I took students' feedback seriously. There was some improvement in my evaluation score over the new few semesters. However, in every course I teach, there is a significant minority of students who gave comments which are neither constructive nor civilized. I've learnt to ignore them, as my more senior colleagues have advised me.

However, I decided to post here because a breaking point has been reached. I knew a colleague who cried after reading students' comments about her - and some of them are very nasty and even xenophobic. "Can't understand your accent - pls go back to ****** (country); "Wear heels so you can look taller"; "For the sake of your health, lose some weight".